We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest property to the ocean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Mahana at Kaanapali to your Saves list
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Arvada, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Closest property to the ocean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have stayed at many of the Kaanapali hotels, and other hotels,and condo's. This hotel has the closest to the ocean views I have seen. Most properties angle away from the beach.This property is close and parallel to the beach. Awesome for whale watching on the deck. Rooms are nice, pool is nice, close to Duke's restaurant, daily coffee, and adequate maid service. The price for the deluxe efficiency is equal or better than Kaanapali hotels and you get more. The immediate ocean access behind is not great for swimming, but there is a nice beach plus a lawn. All in all a great buy for the view.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to post your comments here at Trip Advisor. You are correct in that the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali is unique in the fact that every single unit here has the same spectacular oceanfront views due to our proximity to the ocean and the fact that both our towers run parallel to the beach.
We also believe we provide a great value as in addition to the spectacular views our units all meet very high standards providing comfort to our guests with full kitchens and washer/dryer in the units. You add to that the full service and Aloha Spirit shown by the entire staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali including a 24 hour front desk, daily housekeeping and on-site maintenance so that we can meet the needs of all of our guests.
Our pool/jacuzzi area with complimentary gas grills and the lawn area also are a great place for our guests to check out the views and relax.

We very much hope you can return real soon to the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    373
    65
    41
    8
See reviews for
297
790
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, Arkansas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Mahana is not actually a hotel. It does not have a restuarant, an amazing pool, or breathtaking grounds, but what you get in your condo is priceless. Floor to ceiling windows look straight out to the most beautiful ocean you could ever dream off.

We paid for an upgraded unit and are glad we did. It was very well appointed and felt like a place anyone would love.

There are hotels in Maui with prettier grounds, but this place has great views and great prices.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade. The units are individually owned and some are not very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your great comments on our million dollar views, same thoughts as the last guest to comment. You are correct that we are not your traditional hotel type property with restaurants, spread out grounds and huge swimming pools however here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali what we offer is the same great service with 24 hour front desk, daily housekeeping and on-site maintenance all to make sure our guests are comfortable and taken care of. Also, every unit here in the Aston rental program, whether studio, one bedroom or two bedroom, all meet the same minimum high standards, have fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer in the unit. As well, our very comfortable and relaxing pool/jacuzzi deck area has complimentary gas grills and tables where our guests can enjoy their meals if they choose.
As you found out the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali we provide great service to our guests who can relax in their units or at the pool and lawn area, save some money by cooking some meals in our deluxe kitchens in the room, and be treated to world class oceanfront views from any unit or anywhere on the property.

We thank you for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your recent stay and hope you can return again real soon.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Thanks to the owner, Jennifer, our vacation of two weeks was wonderful! Whale watching from the living room everyday was spectacular ! Restaurants and the beach within walking distance, a beautiful gourmet kitchen allowing us the choice to cook in and watch the sunset from Mahana 301. Every detail including having the condo cleaned twice during our two week stay providing fresh clean towels continued to allow us to enjoy vacation!
Just look at the pictures and video of the this place! It is real! Thanks Jennifer and Jeff for opening what feels like your home, and sharing a little piece of paradise with us!!
Kathy M

Room Tip: Mahana 301 is a corner Suite with an outdoor Lanai. Best of both worlds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your comments on your recent stay in unit 301 here at the Mahana. Although this particular unit is not in the Aston rental program we're thrilled to hear that you had such a great time and know that the owner's of that unit take pride in keeping their unit up to date.
In the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali rental program we feature 130 units, studio, one bedroom and as with unit 301, two bedroom two bath suites as well. Every unit here at the Mahana has the same spectacular oceanfront views as well as private lanai, fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer.
We also agree that our location on the quieter northern end of Kaanapali beach is very convenient both by walking or a short car ride to many quality dining and shopping options.

The only difference would be for guests staying in one of the units here managed by Aston they receive the full service of a 24 hour front desk for check-in, assistance during their stay and complimentary pool towels. We also have on-site daily housekeeping service to keep the units clean during your stay and replace your amenities such as the towels, linens, shower supplies, coffee, and laundry soap as well as maintenance who are there in case there is ever any issue.

We wholeheartedly agree that the Mahana is a one of a kind property unique in that every single unit here has the same million dollar oceanfront views.

Mahalo and hope you can return again real soon.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

After reading all the amazing reviews on Trip Advisor, my husband and I decided to stay at the Mahana. This was our first trip to Maui in 20 years, and we were not disappointed. The Mahana is a great place to stay; it had all the amenities we required. If you are looking for a quiet resort on the smaller side, with an amazing view, friendly staff, and great location, this is the place to stay.

You cannot beat the fabulous view, the whale watching and sunsets from your lanai. We didn't know if the rooms next to us were occupied, as the only sounds we heard were the palm trees rustling in the breeze and the waves hitting the shore.

We can't wait to return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to add one more amazing review about the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali here on Trip Advisor. We're thrilled to hear you had such a great time and enjoyed the service of our friendly staff.
We agree that the location of the Mahana here on the quieter end of Kaanapali Beach can't be beat and the views from every unit here with private lanai and floor to ceiling windows are spectacular of various marine life, rainbows and the sunsets appearing right between the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
We also hope you were able to relax and enjoy the comforts inside your unit as all of the units here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali feature full kitchens and washer/dryer.
We look forward to your next visit and hope that you don't wait another 20 years to come back.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I'll start with all the positives: the staff at the Mahana are fantastic. They are always willing to help, always available for a question, and ready with a beach towel. Second to none!

My husband and I recently stayed at the Mahana for a 'delayed honeymoon' during the week of March 9 - 16. We booked our stay through a travel agent, and were assigned room 303.

The room was very quaint, and had very helpful amenities - kitchen (no stove), washer dryer, and daily room service. The view from our lanai was spectacular - if anything, stay at the Mahana to whale watch in the winter.

The quality of rooms at the Mahana vary widely. Due to the fact that I booked through a travel agent, I noticed that I was participating in the 'Aston Rental Program' (which includes a daily amenity fee), and paying approximately $337/night (taxes incl.) + $15/day for a Premium Studio/1 Bath.

A quick search on VRBO revealed that I could have rented a nicer/larger unit in the same area, with the same amenities -- for less.

Of course, you only learn something immediately after you needed to know it - but, such is life. :)

Allow me to get you to Maui for less money by learning from my experience:

a) Book a rental condo through VRBO. Be vigilant, and ask for recent photos and reviews.

b) Book your own flight, and if you don't have any 'nonstop options', then include one regional airline to save money.

c) When you arrive, go to the grocery store across the road and load up on supplies. Yes, it's more expensive than the mainland -- but still cheaper than the so-so quality, yet overpriced restaurant food in Ka'anapali. Save your $ for other things.

d) Leave more days for the beach than activities - yes: go to a Luau, and go snorkeling. But enjoy the sun and surf. It's why you're here!

e) The 'Road Trip to Hana' is a waste of time and money. Rent a car for the week, and do short sightseeing tours to wherever you please.

It might be awhile before we return to the Mahana, since we'll have to save up for our trip. No regrets, though -- it was an excellent first trip to Maui.

Aloha, and safe travels to all.

Room Tip: Avoid the rental program - save money by renting from the owners directly. Higher floors have bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for all of your advice for someone considering a trip to Maui. First of all we're thrilled to hear that you found the staff at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali to be fantastic and second to none.
I did notice your comments regarding VRBO and renting directly through an owner. This is a viable option for any guest however you had mentioned that you receive the same amenities doing this, with a larger room and for less money. This is not the case necessarily.

All the units here at the Mahana at Kaanapali in the Aston rental program all need to meet the high standards set by our owner's group and Aston that all of our guests have come to expect. We also have all of the unit types, studio, one bedroom, and two bedrooms for whatever our guest's needs may be. The biggest difference however then is the above mentioned second to none full service and amenities all of the Aston guests receive. We have a 24 hour front desk for assistance anytime our guests need it, plus the complimentary pool towels, and daily housekeeping and maintenance as well to keep our guests clean, comfortable and relaxed as they know they'll receive service right away should the need arise.
All Aston guests also receive daily coffee, newspaper and laundry soap plus the safe in the unit and the use of the DVD Now kiosk in the lobby.

We very much agree that the spectacular views are available from any unit here at the Mahana with our beautiful oceanfront location however if your goal is to receive fantastic service and amenities where you don't need to worry about anything then staying with the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali is your best bet.

We very much hope you can join us again in the near future and hope you'll make the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali your choice again.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I just spent 12 days in a 1 bedroom premium condo at the Aston Mahana. We were fortunate to be given unit 1214, a top floor condo with the most incredible view from all rooms. Floor to ceiling windows in the family room and bedroom provide an unbelievable view of the Pacific. We spent hours on our balcony enjoying and photographing the hump back whales. The hotels facilities are fantastic. Even though the building was 95% occupied the pool and hot tub were never busy. They provide 6 bbq's for cooking and somehow the staff keeps them looking like they are brand new. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful and the hotel provides a concierge who can book activities or reservations for you any where on the island. Special thanks to Rose for putting us in unit 1214. This hotel more than fulfilled all of our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to express your comments here at Trip Advisor for all to see. We're thrilled that Rose and the rest of the staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali were friendly, helpful and helped you to have an unforgettable vacation.
Every unit here at the Mahana has the same floor to ceiling windows and private lanais where our guests are treated to spectacular oceanfront views of various marine life (whales from December thru April), rainbows and beautiful sunsets that disappear between the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
All of our units also have fully equipped kitchens and should you desire more of the outdoor cooking style as you mentioned our comfortable pool/jacuzzi area has the six complimentary gas grills.
We very much hope you can return to the amazing condominiums real soon that we feature here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali where our staff awaits to show you the Aloha Spirit again.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Although I am vary of sharing information about this excellent property (want to keep this gem to myself), I have stayed at the Aston Mahana three times over the past few years.
The rooms are comfortable and of course the view is spectacular. There are many local restaurants and shopping within walking distance.
The Aston Mahana is my "go-to" Hawaiian destination.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for getting over your wariness and posting your great comments on your recent third stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We are thrilled that you keep coming back and hope that you will return for a fouth visit very soon.
We very much agree that the Mahana is a gem of a property with our truly oceanfront location and where every single unit provides spectacular oceanfront views of marine life, rainbows and the sunsets that appear between the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
All of the units here at the Mahana at Kaanapali are very comfortable with fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryers and while staying with Aston you receive the added convenience of daily housekeeping, maintenance on-site and a 24 hour front desk for all your needs.
Our location here on the quieter side of north Kaanapli beach is also very convenient to many different dining and shopping options or you can just fire up the complimentary gas grills at our pool/jacuzzi area.

We thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments and look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.