We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let me give you some pointers...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Mahana at Kaanapali to your Saves list
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
London, Canada
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Let me give you some pointers...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I'll start with all the positives: the staff at the Mahana are fantastic. They are always willing to help, always available for a question, and ready with a beach towel. Second to none!

My husband and I recently stayed at the Mahana for a 'delayed honeymoon' during the week of March 9 - 16. We booked our stay through a travel agent, and were assigned room 303.

The room was very quaint, and had very helpful amenities - kitchen (no stove), washer dryer, and daily room service. The view from our lanai was spectacular - if anything, stay at the Mahana to whale watch in the winter.

The quality of rooms at the Mahana vary widely. Due to the fact that I booked through a travel agent, I noticed that I was participating in the 'Aston Rental Program' (which includes a daily amenity fee), and paying approximately $337/night (taxes incl.) + $15/day for a Premium Studio/1 Bath.

A quick search on VRBO revealed that I could have rented a nicer/larger unit in the same area, with the same amenities -- for less.

Of course, you only learn something immediately after you needed to know it - but, such is life. :)

Allow me to get you to Maui for less money by learning from my experience:

a) Book a rental condo through VRBO. Be vigilant, and ask for recent photos and reviews.

b) Book your own flight, and if you don't have any 'nonstop options', then include one regional airline to save money.

c) When you arrive, go to the grocery store across the road and load up on supplies. Yes, it's more expensive than the mainland -- but still cheaper than the so-so quality, yet overpriced restaurant food in Ka'anapali. Save your $ for other things.

d) Leave more days for the beach than activities - yes: go to a Luau, and go snorkeling. But enjoy the sun and surf. It's why you're here!

e) The 'Road Trip to Hana' is a waste of time and money. Rent a car for the week, and do short sightseeing tours to wherever you please.

It might be awhile before we return to the Mahana, since we'll have to save up for our trip. No regrets, though -- it was an excellent first trip to Maui.

Aloha, and safe travels to all.

Room Tip: Avoid the rental program - save money by renting from the owners directly. Higher floors have bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for all of your advice for someone considering a trip to Maui. First of all we're thrilled to hear that you found the staff at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali to be fantastic and second to none.
I did notice your comments regarding VRBO and renting directly through an owner. This is a viable option for any guest however you had mentioned that you receive the same amenities doing this, with a larger room and for less money. This is not the case necessarily.

All the units here at the Mahana at Kaanapali in the Aston rental program all need to meet the high standards set by our owner's group and Aston that all of our guests have come to expect. We also have all of the unit types, studio, one bedroom, and two bedrooms for whatever our guest's needs may be. The biggest difference however then is the above mentioned second to none full service and amenities all of the Aston guests receive. We have a 24 hour front desk for assistance anytime our guests need it, plus the complimentary pool towels, and daily housekeeping and maintenance as well to keep our guests clean, comfortable and relaxed as they know they'll receive service right away should the need arise.
All Aston guests also receive daily coffee, newspaper and laundry soap plus the safe in the unit and the use of the DVD Now kiosk in the lobby.

We very much agree that the spectacular views are available from any unit here at the Mahana with our beautiful oceanfront location however if your goal is to receive fantastic service and amenities where you don't need to worry about anything then staying with the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali is your best bet.

We very much hope you can join us again in the near future and hope you'll make the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali your choice again.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    368
    65
    41
    8
See reviews for
296
784
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I just spent 12 days in a 1 bedroom premium condo at the Aston Mahana. We were fortunate to be given unit 1214, a top floor condo with the most incredible view from all rooms. Floor to ceiling windows in the family room and bedroom provide an unbelievable view of the Pacific. We spent hours on our balcony enjoying and photographing the hump back whales. The hotels facilities are fantastic. Even though the building was 95% occupied the pool and hot tub were never busy. They provide 6 bbq's for cooking and somehow the staff keeps them looking like they are brand new. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful and the hotel provides a concierge who can book activities or reservations for you any where on the island. Special thanks to Rose for putting us in unit 1214. This hotel more than fulfilled all of our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to express your comments here at Trip Advisor for all to see. We're thrilled that Rose and the rest of the staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali were friendly, helpful and helped you to have an unforgettable vacation.
Every unit here at the Mahana has the same floor to ceiling windows and private lanais where our guests are treated to spectacular oceanfront views of various marine life (whales from December thru April), rainbows and beautiful sunsets that disappear between the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
All of our units also have fully equipped kitchens and should you desire more of the outdoor cooking style as you mentioned our comfortable pool/jacuzzi area has the six complimentary gas grills.
We very much hope you can return to the amazing condominiums real soon that we feature here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali where our staff awaits to show you the Aloha Spirit again.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Although I am vary of sharing information about this excellent property (want to keep this gem to myself), I have stayed at the Aston Mahana three times over the past few years.
The rooms are comfortable and of course the view is spectacular. There are many local restaurants and shopping within walking distance.
The Aston Mahana is my "go-to" Hawaiian destination.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for getting over your wariness and posting your great comments on your recent third stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We are thrilled that you keep coming back and hope that you will return for a fouth visit very soon.
We very much agree that the Mahana is a gem of a property with our truly oceanfront location and where every single unit provides spectacular oceanfront views of marine life, rainbows and the sunsets that appear between the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
All of the units here at the Mahana at Kaanapali are very comfortable with fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryers and while staying with Aston you receive the added convenience of daily housekeeping, maintenance on-site and a 24 hour front desk for all your needs.
Our location here on the quieter side of north Kaanapli beach is also very convenient to many different dining and shopping options or you can just fire up the complimentary gas grills at our pool/jacuzzi area.

We thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments and look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Mahana is fantastic. Impeccibly maintained, great and friendly staff, great pool area, nice beach walking, and a view to die for. We will be back again as soon as we can. Restaurants in the immediate area and great take away as well. Food shopping right across the street.

Room Tip: The higher up you are the better the views and the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your great comments, we're extremely proud to hear what you had to say regarding the great and friendly staff. Here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali that is our number one goal. The Aloha Spirit showed by our staff to everyone we encounter combined with the unforgettable views provided from all of our studio, one bedroom and two bedroom oceanfront units creates lasting memories for our guests.
The location here at the Mahana at Kaanapali is on the quieter Northern side of Kaanapali beach however as you mentioned there is a grocery store just across from our entrance plus many other dining and shopping options within a short walk or drive away.
All of our units also have fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryers for our guest's comfort plus at the comfortable pool/jacuzzi area there are complimentary gas grills as well.

We very much hope you can return again real soon and mahalo for taking the time to share your comments for all to see.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We absolutey LOVE the Mahana! We have been coming here for 15 years from Alaska for our annual 3 week vacation. Been here every season, and like the spring months the best. All of the units in the Mahana are right on the ocean / sand. Unbelieveable ocean views, and in February/March, views of whales from your very private outdoor deck.

Love that the walls, floors, and ceilings are constructed of cement - no noise! Very rarely see kids here, which we prefer. Duke's Restaurant is literally next door.

Although we rent directly from the owners, the staff from the managing company, Aston Resorts, has always been friendly and professional.

Would we recommend the Mahana to family & friends? Already have :-)

Aloha!

Room Tip: Go with the one bedroom / one bath for stays over 3 days. GIves a couple extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to post your comments and for coming back to the Mahana 15 years in a row. Although you haven't stayed with Aston we're thrilled to hear that our staff has been both friendly and professional when you've come into contact with them.
We very much hope when you come for year 16 you'll give us at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali the chance to host you and really show you the Aloha Spirit and high level of service all of our guests have come to expect.
While every unit here enjoys the unbelievable views you mentioned, the Aston guests receive the comfort and assurance that comes with a 24 hour front desk for any assistance they may need, plus complimentary pool towels, daily housekeeping and on-site maintenance as well so if there is an issue our guests don't need to wait for assistance.
We wholeheartedly agree that the Mahana is a special place with a fantastic oceanfront location, second to none views and a convenient location which provides a relaxing environment however is close to many dining and shopping options.

We appreciate all of your great comments and hope to see you again next year.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

You can imagine from all of the reviews we were expecting a lot, unfortunately the property did not live up to the hype.
We booked an ocean front PREMIUM Studio. We requested a King bed, what we got was a Double Murphy pullout with threadbare bedding and a very hard mattress. The unit was really quite dated and was in need of an overhaul. We are not big fans of old carpet and unfortunately this unit had dirty brown shag carpet. The 6 foot sliding glass door did not seal very well so together, the prevailing winds and waves sounded like a small jet taking off, I don't know about you but thread bare bedding and a howling wind coupled with a small hard bed do not make for a great night's sleep.
As far as the pool and hot tub go both were small, dated and not particularly appealing. The "grounds" consist of a strip of grass approximately 15 feet wide with a hedge between the beach and the grounds where people were sunbathing right outside of your room, nothing special at all.
The service we received from the front desk was unfriendly with the exception of one front desk hostess who was very nice.
The best thing about this property is they let us check out early with no penalty. Thankfully the resort next door had a vacancy and we were able to enjoy the final week of our stay.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here, make sure you get an updated room. if available go for the 1 bedroom uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Aloha and we're very sorry to hear of your disappointment with the Mahana but happy that you were able to find somewhere to enjoy the rest of your stay. Here at the Aston Mahana we do not have any units with anything smaller than a queen size bed and all of our units need to meet the high standards all of our owners and guests expect. We also take great pride in providing exceptional service and showing the Aloha Spirit to all of the people we encounter.
As you see from the majority of guest comments they believe that we do provide a great experience and part of that is the cool Honokowai breezes, soothing ocean sounds and spectacular views of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai, abundant marine life and spectacular sunsets and rainbows with our hard to beat truly oceanfront location. We firmly believe as well that the grounds are immaculately maintained and that the pool/jacuzzi area with complimentary gas grills is the perfect place to relax. The lawn area is also immensely popular due to it's proximity to the ocean and of course second to none views.
We'll have to agree to disagree but hope you do decide to return and let the Aston Mahana staff show you the Aloha Spirit and stay in one of our home away from home units.

Mahalo for taking the time to express your comments.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We loved the view from this third floor unit from the moment we walked in! It was just as the very friendly owner had described. When he said right on the water, ne was not at all exaggerating, we have never stayed closer. We could see turtles swimming in the surf right off the lanai. My wife had to close the sliding glass door to the bedroom to sleep, but I loved the sound of the waves. The bed was verycomfortable. This owner rented unit was very well appointed and outfitted with everything we needed, even condiments. There are a number of grocery stores, a farmer's market and many resturants close by. There is a paved walkway that runs all the way down to Ka'anapali, a nice 30 minute stroll, which we too just before sunset to watch the cliff divers at Black Rock, but we walked along the waves for a good part of it, luxuriating in the soft, 'cushy' sand. After dinner we took the bus that leaves on the hour back to the Mahana, very convenient!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay. Although unit 308 is not in the Aston rental program we're very happy to hear you had a great time on Maui and at the Mahana. Your experience we firmly believe is enjoyed by all of the Aston Mahana guests as well as all the units here at the Mahana whether studio, one bedroom or two bedroom have the same prviate lanais and spectacular ocean views with whales seasonally, year round sea turtles and beautiful rainbows and sunsets appearing before the backdrop of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
All of the units here as well have all of the comforts of home with fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryers in the units.
The Mahana is also conveniently located as you mentioned to many different shopping and dining options whether by foot or by car.
The only difference for the guests staying with the Aston Mahana is we offer the services of a 24 hour front desk for check-in, questions during your stay and where we give out complimentary pool towels to our guests. We also have both on-site housekeeping and maintenance where we provide daily service of the rooms and have staff to assist our guests immediately should there be any issues with their units.
We completely agree with you though that the Mahana is a special place and here at Aston we are proud to be at this property and our staff is here to show the Aloha Spirit to everyone we encounter.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.