We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best possible view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Mahana at Kaanapali to your Saves list
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Take 15% Off Your Stay
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best possible view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed in an Aston on Big Island before, and I liked their apartment style comfort (kitchen, washer, spacious), but it wasn't right at the water. The Aston Mahana tops this by providing a breathtaking view of the ocean - we could literally see a sea turtle swim in the water, it's so close. The location is excellent as well - hotels to the south are very crowded (whalers village area ), and while in walking distance, we definitely preferred the location of the Aston. It felt like renting your own little apartment at the water (+the cleaning service), which made it a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on your recent stay. We've very gratified to hear you had an even better experience than the very nice one you had previously at another Aston property on the Big Island of Hawaii.
Here at the Aston Mahana we also take pride in providing great service from the welcoming check-in, daily houskeeping service and also on-site maintenance and front desk to assist you with anything you might need during your stay.
We completely agree that our location here on the northern end of Kaanapali provides a tranquil setting and that the views from here of the neighboring islands of Lanai and Molokai with sunsets in between are absolutely breathtaking. We are within walking distance of many shopping and dining options as well as a short drive away from Whalers Village, Kapalua and the downtown Lahaina areas.
Of course, with full kitchens in every unit and complimentary gas grills on the property our guests also have the option of saving a few dollars by dining in.
Abundant marine life including the sea turtles you saw and seasonally the humpback whales, can be seen from all of the oceanfront units here at the Mahana.
Again, thank you very much for letting us know that you had a memorable experience as that is our goal for all of our guests. Hope to you can join us again at the Aston Mahana very soon.

Mahalo and a safe and happy holidays from all of us at the Aston Mahana.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    375
    66
    42
    8
See reviews for
299
794
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I had been here last week. We enjoyed our stay here. The best part was the view and the sound of the waves. All rooms face the ocean !!. Our room was on 5th floor and the higher you go the better it is as the palm trees are not in your way. But the ground units are awesome as well if you want to just hop on to the beach any time or relax on a shack.

We rented a premium studio which ensured high quality upgraded interiors. The kitchen was awesome. She service was great. There are stores nearby with a 5 min walk. Lahaina town is 5 mile drive. We felt the location was best. It is a bit of drive if you want to East i.e Hana or Halakela or Keihi but its worth it.

Room Tip: We were in 513. Its was a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Aloha and mahalo for both choosing the Aston Mahana for your time on the island of Maui and for taking the time to post your comments here.
We're thrilled to hear of your comments on the great service here at the Mahana, it is our goal to show both the Aloha Spirit and provide memorable experiences to every guest.
As you mentioned the views from every unit here at the Mahana are spectacular. Abundant marine life, surfers off shore and the sunsets between the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai provide the backdrop for some of the best views in the world in my humble opinion.
All of our units whether they be the studio, one bedroom or two bedrooms have full kitchens and are very comfortable for all of our guests. The complimentary barbecue grills at the pool/jacuzzi area are also very popular and provide a relaxing place for our guests to unwind.
The Aston Mahana's location in the Honokowai area of Lahaina is very convenient as well with plenty of dining and shopping options within walking distance or if you choose to drive the areas of Kapalua, Kaanapali and downtown Lahaina are all within 10 minutes.
We are very much looking forward to hosting you again very soon and thank you very much for all of your great comments.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Got problems sleeping at night? Let the Aston Mahana's surf lull you into a drunken stupor of joy and utter helplessness. After celebrating 30 years of being happily married (yes, there are still a few of us left...) at the Mahana, we have nothing but fond and beautiful memories. The azure blue color of the ocean from our balcony, the lush tropical jungle-like vegetation outside our front door, and the gorgeous mountain view will be forever. There are properties with richer, more lush grounds, but nary a one with the view that, upon staring down from the balcony, feels like an ocean voyage just outside one's sliding glass door.

As others have stated, everyting is within convenient walking distance, including Times Supermarket, a handful of eateries (Subway, Mexican, Soupnutz, Duke's...). The barbecue grills are conveniently located and there was no waiting time for us. Room decor was faux Hawaiian, but not tacky; very classy. The service was fine, but after arriving, there was little contact between the Mahana staff and us. Didn't need it; everything we wanted was ours to enjoy.

If I could change anything, I would have used the Mahana's travel service. We were going to drive the Hana Highway, but we didn't know how incredibly tricky it was until some of the locals told us that it was not for the faint of heart. Didn't make it because we wanted to avoid paying the $135 per person for the tour that the hotel's travel service provided. Many people make the drive, but this couple would like to see the highway without worrying about the next hairpin turn.

No problem...if you've been to Maui once, you're coming back!

Room Tip: Go oceanfront premium; well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Aloha and first of all congratulations on over 30 years of marriage !!! We really appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay and for choosing the Aston Mahana for your time on the beautiful island of Maui as we know you have many other choices.
We are very happy to see that you enjoyed the world class oceanfront views from our property as well as you mentioning the beautiful mountain views you see as you exit your front door.
We also agree that our oceanfront location in the Honokowai area of West Maui is very convenient to many shopping and dining options both on foot or by car. We are also glad to see you were able to take advantage of the complimentary gas grills on site plus the convenience of full kitchens in all of our tastefully decorated units.
We very much hope you'll return again real soon so we can show you the Aloha Spirit and provide more memorable experiences to you and your family.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

First time on Maui but I have been to other islands in the past. I have to say this is the closest I have ever been to the ocean and we always book ocean view. Every unit has floor to ceiling windows. While I was at the front desk someone actually complained the ocean was too loud!!! I would reccomend booking the premium room the are nicely up graded. This is a much more quiet area than black rock to the north so if you want hustle and bustle stay down there. A lot of people complained about the pool it's fine. It's heated and clean nothing fancy but.my kids managed to have fun there despite not having a water slide or cave. The ameneties ar..e so so and the front desk is always busy but it's a small price to pay for the awesome view and excellent price. Don't be afraid of the beach here either its fine gets a little windy in the pm though.

Room Tip: Book premium room floor 6 or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The property is exceptional. The location can't be beat... right on the beach. Staff was very customer oriented and the grounds were perfect. Condo's are oceanfront with incredible views. We had a two bedroom/two bath condo on the 6th floor and it was absolutely perfect. Fully furnished kitchen and washer/dryer. I agree with other reviews that it would be nice to have a bar/restaurant at the property, but Duke's is a very short walk down the private boardwalk. I will definitely be going back to this property and can't imagine a nicer place on Maui.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

You cannot go wrong staying here. The price is great, decor is fitting, quiet, is kept very clean and has a killer view. We sleep with the sliding glass door open and enjoy the sound of the waves throughout the night. This is not a full service resort, but offers an excellent place to stay while your running around Maui. Grocery store is a 7 minute walk away, and is perfect for taking advantage of the BBQ grills by the pool. Sunset is breathtaking!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I opted for the upgraded room on the 9th floor and stayed for 4 nights. We had the one bedroom with the two teens on the sofa bed and us in the quite spacious bedroom...all with floor to ceiling views of the ocean! From our room we saw beautiful sunsets over the neighboring islands, sea turtles swimming by, rainbows and were rocked to sleep each night as the waves hit the beach.

The staff was super friendly and very helpful, especially with tips for parking in Lahina...there is a trick to it. Even the parking lot is beautiful with shady trees keeping the car cool. Having a full kitchen was fantastic since there's a large grocery store within walking distance to the hotel.

Love this place and will stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the upgarded rooms, makes the place really feel like home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aston Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.