We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value fantastic view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aston Mahana at Kaanapali to your Saves list
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF FALL TRAVEL
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
Moses Lake, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Value fantastic view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

First time on Maui but I have been to other islands in the past. I have to say this is the closest I have ever been to the ocean and we always book ocean view. Every unit has floor to ceiling windows. While I was at the front desk someone actually complained the ocean was too loud!!! I would reccomend booking the premium room the are nicely up graded. This is a much more quiet area than black rock to the north so if you want hustle and bustle stay down there. A lot of people complained about the pool it's fine. It's heated and clean nothing fancy but.my kids managed to have fun there despite not having a water slide or cave. The ameneties ar..e so so and the front desk is always busy but it's a small price to pay for the awesome view and excellent price. Don't be afraid of the beach here either its fine gets a little windy in the pm though.

Room Tip: Book premium room floor 6 or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    909
    362
    65
    40
    8
See reviews for
294
760
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The property is exceptional. The location can't be beat... right on the beach. Staff was very customer oriented and the grounds were perfect. Condo's are oceanfront with incredible views. We had a two bedroom/two bath condo on the 6th floor and it was absolutely perfect. Fully furnished kitchen and washer/dryer. I agree with other reviews that it would be nice to have a bar/restaurant at the property, but Duke's is a very short walk down the private boardwalk. I will definitely be going back to this property and can't imagine a nicer place on Maui.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

You cannot go wrong staying here. The price is great, decor is fitting, quiet, is kept very clean and has a killer view. We sleep with the sliding glass door open and enjoy the sound of the waves throughout the night. This is not a full service resort, but offers an excellent place to stay while your running around Maui. Grocery store is a 7 minute walk away, and is perfect for taking advantage of the BBQ grills by the pool. Sunset is breathtaking!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I opted for the upgraded room on the 9th floor and stayed for 4 nights. We had the one bedroom with the two teens on the sofa bed and us in the quite spacious bedroom...all with floor to ceiling views of the ocean! From our room we saw beautiful sunsets over the neighboring islands, sea turtles swimming by, rainbows and were rocked to sleep each night as the waves hit the beach.

The staff was super friendly and very helpful, especially with tips for parking in Lahina...there is a trick to it. Even the parking lot is beautiful with shady trees keeping the car cool. Having a full kitchen was fantastic since there's a large grocery store within walking distance to the hotel.

Love this place and will stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the upgarded rooms, makes the place really feel like home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I were in awe with Maui when we first arrived seeing the mountains, but the moment that we stepped into our suite/condo at the Aston Mahana, we were mesmerized by the extravagant view of the ocean right out of our floor to ceiling windows. It was PARADISE! We spent 10 glorious days walking the beach, swimming, snorkeling, taking in the sights with our rented Jeep (the way to go for sure) and the shopping is great. There is a Times grocery store across the street which makes it very easy to pick up anything you need. The staff at the Mahana was fantastic and answered any questions we had. You have to see the concierge for your adventure needs for sure - helicopter rides, cycling down the Haleakula volcano, the Road to Hana where you can swim in some of the sacred pools with waterfalls, the list is endless. We visited the Town of Old Lahaina at the waterfront where you can dine by the water, great restaurants and really tasty drinks like the Blue Hawaii. All in all, we had the greatest honeymoon and we look forward to returning to the Mahana on our 5th anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torrance,ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I are very particular when it comes to where we stay and this place was nice enough. Why did I give it a 5 on all ratings? Beause it's in Paradise! The room was very nice, if your used to 5 Star this place may be more like 4 but location is everything. Unobstructed oceans views, coral reefs literally steps away that made me feel like I was swimming in a huge salt water aquarium with amazing tropical fish and a giant sea turtle so close I could've touched it! You can have the lavish pools with waterfalls for your kids, this place is for adults to enjoy. Who comes to Hawaii to swim in a pool? The ocean water is warm, the sun is hot, the sand is soft, the tradewinds and occassional cloud is very welcome. If you want an extremely romantic place without the screaming kids, this is it!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Aston Mahana is the best place to stay on Maui! I have travelled to Hawaii (multiple islands) over the past 12 years and this is the BEST place to stay! If you are interested in ocean front lodging with views of the whales this is the place for you! Additionally, the condo format allows you to park by yourself (no tipping involved) and the front desk staff is awesome. I love these condo's - wish I owned one myself and am looking into how to purchase one. You can't go wrong with staying here - grocery store across the street, pool, etc. FANTASTIC! I have stayed here 10 + times and will stay there again next week.

Room Tip: Go for the "deluxe" typically newly renovated - granite, great beds, etc!!! All are ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.