We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in Maui (October 7-17, 2012)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Save Saved
You added Aston Mahana at Kaanapali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Studio $229
Ranked #5 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in Maui (October 7-17, 2012)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I were in awe with Maui when we first arrived seeing the mountains, but the moment that we stepped into our suite/condo at the Aston Mahana, we were mesmerized by the extravagant view of the ocean right out of our floor to ceiling windows. It was PARADISE! We spent 10 glorious days walking the beach, swimming, snorkeling, taking in the sights with our rented Jeep (the way to go for sure) and the shopping is great. There is a Times grocery store across the street which makes it very easy to pick up anything you need. The staff at the Mahana was fantastic and answered any questions we had. You have to see the concierge for your adventure needs for sure - helicopter rides, cycling down the Haleakula volcano, the Road to Hana where you can swim in some of the sacred pools with waterfalls, the list is endless. We visited the Town of Old Lahaina at the waterfront where you can dine by the water, great restaurants and really tasty drinks like the Blue Hawaii. All in all, we had the greatest honeymoon and we look forward to returning to the Mahana on our 5th anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    883
    351
    66
    40
    9
See reviews for
283
741
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
torrance,ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I are very particular when it comes to where we stay and this place was nice enough. Why did I give it a 5 on all ratings? Beause it's in Paradise! The room was very nice, if your used to 5 Star this place may be more like 4 but location is everything. Unobstructed oceans views, coral reefs literally steps away that made me feel like I was swimming in a huge salt water aquarium with amazing tropical fish and a giant sea turtle so close I could've touched it! You can have the lavish pools with waterfalls for your kids, this place is for adults to enjoy. Who comes to Hawaii to swim in a pool? The ocean water is warm, the sun is hot, the sand is soft, the tradewinds and occassional cloud is very welcome. If you want an extremely romantic place without the screaming kids, this is it!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Aston Mahana is the best place to stay on Maui! I have travelled to Hawaii (multiple islands) over the past 12 years and this is the BEST place to stay! If you are interested in ocean front lodging with views of the whales this is the place for you! Additionally, the condo format allows you to park by yourself (no tipping involved) and the front desk staff is awesome. I love these condo's - wish I owned one myself and am looking into how to purchase one. You can't go wrong with staying here - grocery store across the street, pool, etc. FANTASTIC! I have stayed here 10 + times and will stay there again next week.

Room Tip: Go for the "deluxe" typically newly renovated - granite, great beds, etc!!! All are ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in a great room on one of the higher floors with a kitchen, dishwasher and clothes washer/dryer (very useful). We had a balcony with ocean front view. Moderate amount of space, wifi included, swimming pool, beach access, free parking etc. The best part of this place was it didn't feel crowded and had a great private feel to it.

This hotel has no restaurant, but you have easy access to Duke's Beach House or the Beach Club Restaurant at neighboring hotels. There is also a small shopping plaza with a pizza place and a Subway. Small snack bar near the pool to get drinks/snacks is convenient. The main Lahaina center is a short drive.

It's steps from the beach, but not the main Kaanapli beach area which is about 2 miles away. Nevertheless I could see sea turtles swimming in the ocean from my balcony! It's probably not hard to enjoy a stay in Maui, but I want to give credit to this place so I recommend the Mahana.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed for a week in a 1 bed condo on level 6. Excellent views out over the ocean and on to Lanaii. Didn't really use the facilities apart from the internet and DVD library. The block is right on beach edge and the warm waters are literally a minutes walk away - the sound of the waves breaking on the beach was very relaxing.
There is supermarket 5 minutes walk away and after 2 weeks touring around Oahu and the Big Island we enjoyed staying in and dining on our balcony as the sun set.
We saw turtles and seals swimming along the waters edge - even snorkelled with the turtles.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I returned this year for two weeks after an amazing vacation here in the winter of 2011. Again, we were blown away by the view and being so close to the ocean. The Mahana is right in the heart of things and convenient to everything, but it would be nice if it had its own restaurant on the property. The staff are gracious, helpful and very accommodating. The housekeeping staff was efficient and did a great job, as did the groundskeepers. The resort and grounds are very clean and well kept. My only complaint (and I mean ONLY) was that the family who stayed in the room above us were very inconsiderate and loud. Their room was obviously not carpeted and they began to stampede back and forth across the floor at 4:30 AM each morning, also allowing their children to do the same at that hour. We were up and out of the room by 7:00 AM each morning so didn't hear them during the daytime. However, each evening the stampeding continued from the time we returned to our room at 8:00 or 9:00 PM until well after midnight. It did not appear that they had any regard for their neighbors below or around them. We considered asking to have our room changed, but loved the room we were in and didn't want to move. And, we didn't complain to management since we were convinced that the stampeders would ignore any suggestion that they try to control their stampeding. It is unfortunate that some travelers feel that they are entitled to do whatever they want and act inappropriately on "their" vacation.

Room Tip: Every room overlooks the ocean, but being on the 6th floor or higher gives you a much better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Aloha and a big mahalo for taking the time to post your comments here on your recent stay at the Aston Mahana. We are sorry to hear of the inconvenience caused by your rather loud neighbors and wish we would have known about this while you were here as we do have 24 hour security here on property and also within the Aston rental program we have 129 other beautiful units to which we could have moved you.
However, we are very gratified to hear that you didn't want to move from the unit you stayed in due to liking it so much and also are extremely proud to hear of your feelings for how our staff treated you. It is our goal to show the Aloha Spirit to all of our guests.
I also very much agree with you that our location is very convenient to all of the shopping and dining options both within walking distance and also a short car ride away to Kapalua, Kaanapali or downtown Lahaina.
The views of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai, sunsets in between and various marine life (including surfers) from all of our units are some of the best in the world.
All of our units do feature full kitchens plus we also have complimentary gas grills on the property which gives our guests an economical way to eat here on the property as well.
We are happy as well that you enjoyed the pool with jacuzzi tub and the beautifully manicured grounds of the Mahana and very much hope that you can return very soon to see us again.

Mahalo again for your great comments.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I really thought from the photographs that going to an "upgraded" room would be more updated. Yes, the counters had granite, but the furnishings were worn and dated. The location was good, at the end of the boardwalk which is great. The view was wonderful, lots of surfers in the waves to watch. The pool area is nice and quiet, always a chaise lounge available. I don't like the "amenities" charge that the hotel charges, we don't drink coffee or read the newspaper.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Aloha and thank you very much for providing feedback on your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that you felt the furnishings were a bit dated. All of our owners take pride in decorating their units and meeting the standards set for this property and are confident that we provide a consistently clean and comfortable product to all of our guests. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and oceanfront views provided from all of our units. The views from the nice and quiet pool area with hot tub and complimentary barbecues are also spectacular looking right out at the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai and beautiful sunsets each evening.
We're sorry you were disappointed in the amenity fee however our property does not charge for neither parking nor the high speed wi-fi internet access in each unit. As well, we provide daily newspaper, coffee/tea, complimentary use of the safe in each unit and unlimited use of the DVD Now kiosk where guests can receive up to two movies/games at a time to play/watch in their units at no charge.
We very much hope that you will return again and give us a second chance to show you the Aloha Spirit of our staff. It is always our goal to provide a memorable experience to everyone we come in contact with.

Mahalo again for choosing the Aston Mahana.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.