We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good (Location and View) Bad (Construction and Smoking Policy)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lahaina Shores Beach Resort to your Saves list
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free in 2015!
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good (Location and View) Bad (Construction and Smoking Policy)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

We just returned from 11 days at Lahaina Shores. If you want to stay close to Lahaina, this property is a great choice since it is walking distance (long walk) from the shops. The ocean front condos have great views.

Lahaina Shores is offering good rates right now because they are under construction to renovate the property. Their website states that construction is limited to Monday through Friday, but they also worked on both Saturday on the two weekends we were there. The hallways look like a construction zone. The hammering/drilling was very loud from our room.

The beach is not a very good swimming beach; no sandy bottom off shore and there is a creek/drainage ditch emptying into the ocean at the edge of the property. The swimming/snorkeling is MUCH better further North in the Kaanapali Beach area.

And finally, they have a extremely strict no smoking policy. There is no smoking allowed in any of the rooms or anywhere on the property except one unsafe, unlit designated area along Front Street. Guests who smoke must walk past the construction trailers in the dark to get to the only designated smoking area. Keep this fact in mind if you are a smoker.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    332
    86
    32
    19
See reviews for
111
501
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ventura, ca
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

I feel compelled to write a response regarding this hotel. It was our honeymoon and we felt we chose a great hotel as Lahaina Shores received great reviews. We knew there was construction going on and were fine with this aspect. However, once entering the room, we knew this isn't what we signed up for. We didn't want anything fancy btut a wanted a decent place. The lamp was broken (knob totally off), NO blankets to be found, and grease still ontop of the plates. As if this weren't enough, the shower's fiberglass was cracked about an inch wide and inside the cracks was mildew and on the curtain there was mold growing about a foot from the bottom of the curtain up =( So, we went downstairs asking if they can provide blankets for the night with the thought that we'd find another place to stay the following day (we just wanted to sleep after a long flight). We were told we could not be helped because this condo was privately owned. The owner never returned our call. It took 3 hours but we fianlly high tailed it out of there to stay Ka'annapalli Beach Hotel about 10 minutes away. We received a 100% refund the following day.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

This was a first time visit to this resort, and we were fully aware of the renovations going on, but that really wasn't the problem. On the plus side, smack dab in Lahaina, walk to good and reasonable restaurants, happy hours, etc. As far as the beach, I wouldn't swim in it, very silty, mud and sand, and who knows what because it's so close to the harbor. The room was so so, our queen bed was two twins pushed together. On our last day the bath tub stopped up, had to go to another room to shower. The staff was very nice, but we usually stay at the Maui kaanapali Villas, but we thought for a change we would try the Lahaina Shores. If you want a bed and a shower, this is the place, but remember, no restaurant on property or bar, and you have to drive to Kaanapali for a much better beach experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocoee, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

I was very concerned with the last review I read before going to Maui. It seemed like the hotel will be a dump because of the renovation. I'm so glad that our experience was completely different . The lobby is pretty and the staff were friendly and nice. The hotel was fully booked so when we found out that our room has only 1 queen bed (we requested 2 single beds), they were unable to move us. They sent a rollaway bed instead. They were only able to move us 2 nights after. In order to make it up to us, they waived the parking fee for our whole stay. The construction did not bother us. It was done during the day and we are usually out and about those times. The room was nice. Furniture is dated but pretty comfortable. We had a beautiful view of the mountain. Hotel is right on the beach and a few blocks away from Lahaina town. There are restaurants and mini-grocery right next door. Will definitely stay here again just for the location.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf bay area
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

My boyfriend and I went to Maui Hawaii for the first time back in Sept, and stayed at Lahaina Shores Beach Resort. A good friend of ours had recommended this hotel, and even though it was under construction at the time we went, it was still a great place to stay. The construction didn't affect our time there at all. (Most of it was happening when we were out during the day anyway). The pool was nice, and it is right on the beach! There were times when I was laying out, and no one else was around, which was amazing. The only bad thing is that the beach is not very big, and there is coral to be careful of. OVERALL GREAT LOCATION. very close to to restaurants, bars and night life. It was really cool because we walked just about everywhere!! It was a great way to take in the scenery and experience our trip. The hotel is right on Front street which is was really cool too!

Our hotel room was nice, queen size bed and an amazing view. This is not a four star hotel by any means, but it's great if your on a budget!!

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

This was our third stay at the Lahaina Shores, and each time it has gotten better. We have always booked oceanfront accomodations, but be sure to specify what bedding type you want. We had twin murphy beds on our 1st trip, and I really was disappointed. Last year we requested a king bed, and got it, this year we had a queen bed. SO make sure you specify the bedding type you prefer. The studio oceanfront we had this year was so quaint. The owners did a great job of updating the decor. I felt very comfortable in this room. The construction was not an issue to us, as we were busy during the day, and it was done by the time we returned each evening. We enjoyed being on the beach and in the lawn area, so no pool during the construction was not a problem. Although there is no restaurant on site, there are several next door at the 505, and also a convenience store with snacks, souvenirs, and beverages. I have stayed in 5 star hotels that I had to walk further to the restaurants than I did to the restaurants that were not on this property! The proximity to Lahaina Town (4 blocks) is a real bonus for meals, shopping, water tours (snorkelling, dinner cruises, whale watching, etc). You are already parked at the Shores, so you can walk and not have to deal with the nightmare of finding parking in Lahaina. The front desk staff may have been having an off week, because they were not as friendly as they were the last time. Yes, the same front desk staff! If you are looking to book a luau while staying at the Lahaina Shores, book the Feast at Lele. It is right next door, so you can enjoy a few adult beverages, and not have to worry about driving. The down sides to the Lahaina Shores are no free internet access, no waher/dryer in room, and per night parking fees. We spent 5 nights at the Lahaina Shores, and then moved on to another property on Kaanapali Beach, and altho it was nice, we will spend our entire trip in Maui next year at the Lahaina Shores because of the proximity to Lahaina Town.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

We just got back from a trip to Maui and stayed here for one night and will NEVER return. We knew the hotel was under construction but after talking to the front desk when planning our trip, we were assured that only the pool would be closed and a few rooms on the opposite side of the hotel would be under construction and we really wouldn't be affected other than no pool, which we were ok with because it's right on the beach.

As soon as we drove up it was all downhill from there. The front entrance was walled off and there was scaffolding covering a good portion of the front of the hotel. The reception area was relatively nice and we were given keys (yes they still use regular old keys, not key cards, so if you happen to lose one they will charge you $25) to our room on the 5th floor. When we got out of the elevator the entire hallway carpet was covered in plastic and it was obviously an active construction zone, but the worst part was that it smelled like sewer throughout the entire hallway. Construction workers were walking around doing work in certain units as well.

It got worse when we got into our room, which we were told would have a queen bed, and it looked like a twin with a cardboard-rough excuse for a comforter. I'm not an emotional person and I wanted to cry. I immediately called the front desk and asked if we could have a room that was more updated on a floor that wasn't under construction and she told me that there were no more rooms available. I told her we had reserved a queen and we definitely did NOT have a queen bed and so she put me on hold and then came back and said we could look at a room on the 6th floor but didn't know if it was nicer. We did look at the room and the hallway situation was the same and smelled just as much like sewer as the 5th floor, but the bed was larger and so we decided to tough it out for one night since our flight left early the next day.

I would not recommend this hotel to ANYone - they need to down each floor while it is under construction if not the entire hotel. I wouldn't want to stay here even if it wasn't under construction because it was very outdated and the units definitely need to be updated, but we were told they only had plans to update the outside of the building.

In addition, I forgot a toothbrush and called down to the front desk to see if they had any (like I would expect a "resort" to have) and she said they no longer have them, and no apologies.

Don't be fooled by the pictures on Expedia and other travel sites - it's not what it looks like.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lahaina Shores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Address: 475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lahaina Shores Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to oceanfront living right in the heart of Lahaina Town. Lahaina Shores Beach Resort is a landmark in historic Lahaina town. This ocean front condo resort features spacious studio, one bedroom and one bedroom penthouse condos with full kitchens and oversized lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Lahaina Shores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Shores Beach Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Shores Maui
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lahaina Shores Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.