We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Research paid off” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lahaina Shores Beach Resort to your Saves list
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free in 2015!
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
A TripAdvisor Member
“Research paid off”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2005

Vist from -07 - 21 Feb 05. My wife and I have just returned from our honeymoon to Maui and Oahu. We booked our trip through a travel agent here in Winnipeg after checking out many of the hotels in Maui on the internet. I have travelled extensively with my work (over 35 countries on five different continents) and I know what I like in a hotel and what I can just accept. We wanted a place that was close to the action but not right in the middle of it. The Lahaina Shores was all of that and was exactly what we were looking for. It is located at the end of Front St (the main drag in Old Lahaina) and was an excellent choice. As there is no private beach front available in Hawaii at all, the hotel was located as well as possible, with direct access to the beach right out front of the hotel. We got an end unit with mountain view and it was certainly adequate. If we wanted to see the beach we got out of the hotel and went and sat on it, no point looking at it through a window. The hotel was very quiet as it is located away from the main tourist area by about six blocks. There is no restaurant directly at the hotel but since there are a myriad of restaurants to choose from right on Front St. The restaurants directly next door to the hotel were convenient but a bit pricey so we would walk down the four blocks and then we had the worlds selections of restaurants. Everything from coffee and bagels at Sunrise Cafe (highly recommended) to hamburgers and fries at Cheeseburger in Paradise to Seafood (Bubba Gump Shrimp factory) and Prime Rib and Hula Pie (Kimos). The one restaurant I would not recommend was the Lahaina Fish Co as the service was not great and the meal was below average for the area and quite expensive. If you want a high end meal try Kimo's or Longhi's. Of course there is the standard Mcdonald's, Hard Rock Cafe and Starbucks but be adventurous and try the local cusine, you will not be dissapointed. The first day we arrived they suggested we do a one hour presentation from Expedia.Fun as to what there is to do on the island. I was a bit suspicious at first but it was not anything to wory about. The gentleman who gave us the breifing had lived there for 25 years and was very knowlegable about many things around Maui. He suggested that there were cheaper ways to do things but they weren't worth it. For example, we went whale watching (highly recommended during this time of year) but he suggested we pay a little extra and go out on the bigger, more stable boat, with a bathroom(important for the fairer sex), vice the smaller Zodiak boats. Also recommended was the chauffered drive around the Road to Hana as it it is not something to be done with a rental car. A little known fact is they call it the Divorce Highway if you try to drive it yourself. I am very independent on vacation and I was glad at the end of the day I had a local driver, familiar with the road and area, to drive us around it. The breakfast and lunch included in the price was quite tasty and adequately sized as well. Overall service at the hotel was friendly, towels were replaced when requested (to save on water and prevent stuff getting into the local water table), and the room was clean and did not smell. We did take a cab up to the Hyatt further north on the island and based on the number of high end stores in the lobby and Mercedes Benz in the parking lot we were glad we stayed where we did. We got a great taste of Maui and will definitely be looking at staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    311
    85
    30
    18
See reviews for
107
466
39
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2005

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lahaina Shores Beach Resort (2/12-2/18). The location of the resort cannot be beat, it's within walking distance of all the restaurants and shops on Front St. and the Lahaina Harbor. The rooms are very clean and spacious, and the views are spectacular. We stayed at an Ocean Front Studio and WHAT A VIEW! (see photos) The beach in front of the hotel is very nice and the water could not be any clearer...perfect for snorkeling or just to relax. This is an older, smaller hotel, so don't expect all the buzz and luxuries of a huge Resort...that is exactly what we liked about it. The hotel is nice and quiet, the pool and patio are perfect for a realxing afternoon or for drinks at night. We will definitely come back to the Lahaina Shores. We would not stay anywhere else in Maui.

Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2005

My father and I stayed here and had an amazing time. The room was great and the employes where helpful and kind. The view of the mountain and the beach where incredeble. If you stay in Lahina stay at the Lahina shores.

Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2005

We just got back from Maui yesterday 1/31/05. Our stay at Lahaina Shores Resort was wonderful. We had requested 4th floor or higher but we could only be accommodated on the 3rd floor which we were still very pleased with. We did have ocean front. The view was fantastic. Our room was nicely done in neutral colors, nothing fancy, but very, very clean and that was important to us. This resort is ideal for "baby boomers" or actually any age if you want a place where it is peaceful, quiet and very relaxing without hundreds and hundreds of people all over the place like you find in your big, lavish hotels/resorts. The grounds at LSR are meticulous. There is beach in front, although small, is large enough to relax on for sunning, walking along etc. The staff at LSR was very friendly and helpful.

Would we go back to Lahaina Shores Resorts, yes we would and will.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2005

My husband and I have been staying at Lahaina Shores since 1996. We feel it is the BEST value in the islands. I see a few reviews that are not favorable. Guests need to know that the units are individually owned and are decorated and up-dated by the individual owners. Thus the reason for the differences in the rooms. Some owners have had their units damaged by guests and will not put a lot of money in maintenance or decor. This is true of any condo. Also, the mountain view rooms will face the street and parking lot and are not as desireable as the ocean front rooms, but they are less expensive. The oceanfront penthouses, on the 7th floor, are a fantastic value and very comfortable. As for bugs... you are in the islands, they are a part of life, although we have never had a bug problem. The management is currently updating the public areas of the facility, but it takes time. We have no financial interest in Lahaina Shores so I have nothing to gain from offering this info. Our only interest is in giving praise where it is due. Our most recent visit was for 10 days in Nov.'04 and are now planning our next stay. As for food... there are 3 restaurants next door at 505 (a small shopping center), Hecocks (great breakfast), I'O and Pacific O (fantastic seafood). We consider Lahaina Shores #1 on Maui.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2005

A friend and I stayed in Lahaina for a few days after Christmas and loved Lahaina Shores! It is the only hotel on the beach in Lahaina and was worth the money we spent and saved. Although it is a short walk to most of the attractions on Front Street, we always found something to do. I recommend a massage on the beach from Lei Spa (right next to the hotel at 505 Front) and hanging out at Moose McGillicuddy's on Tuesday nights (take a cab back though, parts of Front Street are not very will lit). Also, spring for an ocean view room on the 4th floor or above, the views are spectacular. The only problem we had was with the beds....they were horrible! But a little back pain aside, I would definately stay at Lahaina Shores again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2005

We just came back from Lahaina last night.
We loved spending our honeymoon at Lahaina shores beach resort
People were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were big and very clean. We would/will recommend the resort to all our friends and family.
The location is just great, for one dollar you can take a shuttle from Lahaina to the number one beach on Maui.
We will come back as soon as possible

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lahaina Shores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Address: 475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lahaina Shores Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to oceanfront living right in the heart of Lahaina Town. Lahaina Shores Beach Resort is a landmark in historic Lahaina town. This ocean front condo resort features spacious studio, one bedroom and one bedroom penthouse condos with full kitchens and oversized lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lahaina Shores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Shores Beach Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Shores Maui
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lahaina Shores Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.