We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lahaina Shores Beach Resort to your Saves list
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free in 2015!
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I spent the second week of our honeymoon in Maui. My father gifted us his time share, and Lahaina Beach Shores was what was available for the week we were there (6/28/14-7/5/14).

When we checked in, we were greeted warmly and kindly. The gentleman at the desk was very pleasant and went over everything about the facility with is. My husband parked the car and I went up to the room. I was shocked when I opened the door, for it looked like the Golden Girls house in the late 70s, it smelled horrible (although it was very clean...the smell may have been the old carpet) and I did not want to stay. I was very upset. My husband went downstairs and immediately upgraded us to a premier ocean front room. The gentleman and female manager were SUPER accommodating and moved us. Our new room was updated and beautiful, much more suitable for our honeymoon excursion.

PROS:
1.) the staff and maid service was impeccable!

2.) the view is fabulous! You have a perfect view of the sunset every night.

3.) very short walk to downtown Lahaina. Always something to do!

4.) it has a pool and hot tub (open 7am-10pm), grills and is beach front. There is an activity concierge who can assist you in booking any excursions.

CONS:
1.) no fitness center or spa or dining in the facility

2.) old, dated laundry services on each floor

3.) the ocean is rocky; we'd recommend water shoes

4.) you can't bring the lounge chairs from the pool area out the gate to the beach. If you're a beach bum like me, I'd bring or purchase a chair if you plan on spending any long amounts of time directly on the beach.

5.) each unit is individually owned and updated, so no two rooms look alike. Our first was horrible with a double bed, our second was much more modern and beautiful with a queen. Of recommend calling ahead to make sure you're in a premier room. It's worth the extra money!

6.) it does have parking, but only the premier rooms get to park in front. Other rooms can park in the parking garage next door, but it's validated by the hotel via orange placard they give you for your dash.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    311
    85
    30
    18
See reviews for
106
464
39
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I recently spent a week at the Lahaina Shores Beach Resort on Maui. We were on the first floor, #113. You can't beat the location. It's located on Front St., the main street in Lahaina, a quick(4-5 block) walk to the restaurants, bars, etc. On the other hand, there are two great restaurants and bars located right next door. The condo itself is great, large with a full kitchen, stocked with everything you need. We had coffee/breakfast every morning on the lawn right outside our door, directly adjacent to the beach. The reception staff couldn't have been nicer, and the owner is very responsive to any questions/issues. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Get a one bedroom on the first floor. Pool, spa, and beach are located directly outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed in June, booked thru an American Airlines vacation. I don't remember what our rate was, but it was totally worth it. The room itself had very high end finishes and amenities. Lovely granite in kitchen and bath, stainless appliances. Very comfortable bed. The view - OMG! - ocean front room was amazing! No matter what time of day or night, it was breathtaking. Even though the hotel itself has no restaurant, there were several choices right next door. I mean, it was no further a walk than if they had been in the hotel itself. The ability to walk into old Lahaina is the best thing. Maybe a 7-8 minute stroll with plenty to look at along the way. Could also walk to town along the beach, although when tide is in, part of the beach is very narrow. Still do-able! Staff was always super friendly and helpful, and housekeeper even washed any dishes we left. Always serviced the room early. The beach itself outside of the hotel is small during high tide and a bit rocky. In the morning more beach area and very calm surf. Saw many paddleboarders. The hotel's swimming pool area is lovely and quiet. Only a few small children during our stay but mostly adults only. I would stay here again anytime! Might even consider buying one of the units, but probably out of my price range. A truly wonderful Hawaiian experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

It's all about the location at Lahaina Shores Resort. The hotel is right on the beach and the view from the ocean rooms is amazing and here come the buts !!! The beds are very small in the rooms and not the most comfortable and the balcony is very small no room to sit in the sun as they are far to small. During the afternoon the tide comes right in so no more beach !!!!! you just have to sit in the sea or go back in the hotel and sit on the grass area. Not what we wanted to do at 2pm in the afternoon as we booked it as a beach holiday. Sometimes the tide would last but most days it came right in and the sea bed is very stony to walk on if you want to swim. The town is easy to walk to and very safe at night. I thought it was expensive for what it was I think you just pay for the beach location when you can actually sit on the beach without getting soaked every 5 minutes. It was an ok hotel but it looks far better than it is so don't be fooled by the word BEACH

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We spent a week on the fourth floor in a mountain-view condo booked through VRBO and could not have had a better place. It was an easy walk to downtown Lahaina, we visited many stores and ate a number of different places there. We had friends staying on the ocean side as well. Both sides offer great views of either a morning sunrise or an evening sunset. The resort is right on the beach and we enjoyed every sunset while we there. It also is easy to get to other places on the island because of the ease of access to highway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Spent a week in a 3rd floor ocean-view condo booked thru VRBO and couldn't be happier. You're within an easy walk to Lahaina town and Betty's is right next door when you don't want to cook. Since the units are individually owned, the condition of a particular unit depends on whether the owner has upgraded the unit from the original 80's configuration and the quality of the upgrade. The unit we stayed in (#313) was immaculate with quality upgrades throughout. All necessary appliances and kitchen items were provided as well as a basic stock of spices and condiments. The walkable beach, which is a few steps from the pool/spa/lawn area, is protected from the open Pacific by a natural shallow breakwater but surf is accessible 100-200 yards off shore. If driving, an adjacent underground garage is available for ~$4/day which in Hawaii is quite reasonable. If you are expecting large resort amenities (restaurants/fitness center/etc.) you will be disappointed but the Lahaina Shores location and affinity to Lahaina town makes up for any shortcomings. All in all our stay at Lahaina Shores was outstanding and we will be back when the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: If booking through management company as a hotel, your choice and condition of rooms is chancy. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Lahaina Shores Beach Resort good location, nice rooms but vary considerably. We were originally given a room on the 2nd floor, a room with very basic décor and only a double bed. When I stressed that I had requested 2 beds with the reservation, we were told none of those rooms were available and given a room on a higher floor with a king-sized bed and slightly better décor. The beach was pleasant. This is a great hotel for those who do not need a fancy resort with a bar, restaurant, and golf course.

The only negative aspect of our time at Lahaina Shores was the shortage of parking spaces. Many of the cars in the lot never moved while we were there. I wondered if people had rented cars for a week, primarily to reach the hotel from the airport, and rarely used them otherwise. We rented a car for two days in order to visit Haleakala. The other days, we traveled around Maui on the public Maui Bus system. There are several routes, but not enough to be confusing. One route has a stop not far from the hotel; buses on the other routes can be taken from the shopping center in the middle of Lahaina. We saw many tourists staying in the resorts north of Lahaina taking the public buses, but few taking it from Lahaina. Maybe people are not aware that it is available. (Be aware that large suitcases are NOT allowed on these public buses.)

Lahaina is now my favorite town in Hawaii, surpassing Hilo; both are classic towns evocative of the Old Hawaii. Though Lahaina and the Lahaina Shores Beach Resort are very nice, I doubt that I will return because the high prices are not justifiable to me – even given the distance and cost for shipping food and materials. One less tourist in Hawaii, and more room for those of you who love it, and can afford it. Enjoy!

Room Tip: from our experience, the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lahaina Shores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Address: 475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lahaina Shores Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to oceanfront living right in the heart of Lahaina Town. Lahaina Shores Beach Resort is a landmark in historic Lahaina town. This ocean front condo resort features spacious studio, one bedroom and one bedroom penthouse condos with full kitchens and oversized lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lahaina Shores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Shores Beach Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Shores Maui
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lahaina Shores Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.