We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lahaina Shores Beach Resort to your Saves list
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed views and close too great restaurants in Lahaina. Had problem with ac and maintenance were quick to respond but never did fix. Parking is cramped but convenient. Saw Hawiian monk seals on morning beach walks, awesome.

Helpful?
1 Thank Randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We absolutely loved this condo. It is right on the water, and walking distance to so many places. We stayed for a week, and enjoyed every minute of it. We did have a murphy bed, but were aware of that when we booked it. Everyone was friendly at the information desk. We are planning on coming again soon, and will stay in this condo again. We spent a couple evenings on the beach right outside the condo unit lounging and talking to other travelers. There are so many restaurants and shops nearby. The location is very ideal!

Room Tip: The mountain view was wonderful as well-we had a view of that rather then the ocean this time, and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aemm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Lahaina Shores is definitely not a place for people who want to be pampered and catered to. It is an older building with no amenities other than a small pool and lobby. It is however, the perfect spot for people who want quiet and relaxation. It is very well located, right on the beach and a few blocks from the center of Lahaina town. There are under 200 units, so it is not crowded. Each unit is individually owned, so the decor is very different from unit to unit. If you book through the front desk, you will pay more and it is a crapshoot as to what your room will look like. Instead, book through VRBO.COM, where you can pick your room, see the pictures and reviews for the specific room, and pay a lower rate. Each room has a kitchen stocked with dishes and cookware. Most units either have an oven or they have a dishwasher, but only a few have both. Some units have washers and dryers (make sure to check the details for your specific unit). There are also coin-op laundry facilities in each floor. There are two barbecues onsite. The pool is small but the water is cooled and the grounds are well maintained. My only complaint is that although there is a state law against smoking on the property along with a $250 fine for doing so, some people had no respect. They would smoke right outside of the gate to the beach, so that the rest of us had to walk through a cloud of smoke to get to and from the beach. It would have been nice if they would have been considerate enough to just walk out a few more steps. Also, I was appalled that they would come to such a beautiful, magical place and defile it by tossing their cigarette butts all over the paths and beach. Such a complete lack of respect and so disgusting! The building is literally on the beach, so the oceanfront rooms have spectacular views. At low tide, you can snorkel right in front of the complex. If you walk down the beach to the south, you can even walk out in waist-deep water that is so clear that you can see all of the fish. A short walk up the beach to the north, and you will find a gentle surf where you can take surfing lessons. If you walk out on the jetty at the harbor, you can watch or join the more advanced surfers. Sunsets are fantastic on this beach! And at night, you can see the glitter-dome of stars from your room or even better, from the beach.

Room Tip: Book through VRBO.COM so that you can pick your room. Some are VERY dated and still have murphy bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hcm723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Let me preface this review by saying that this is the first time we ever stayed in a condo and not a hotel, so didn’t know what to expect. These particular condos are advertised as being run as a hotel, but they are not. Also, if one desires to stay for a prolonged period of time in the Lahaina area, like a month – these accommodations might work (coin-opt laundry onsite, full kitchens). If you are staying just for a few days or a week… well… find another place. We wanted to stay in Lahaina itself but now looking back, we should have gotten to Napili Point (there are some gorgeous ocean front hotels and condos in that area with outstanding snorkeling).
These condos advertise being the only beachfront hotel in Lahaina. That’s the reason why we went for it. Not the smartest idea. You can’t swim at that beach – too close to harbor, dirty water, rocky shore. There is a gate that separates the hotel area from the beach. The lock didn’t work properly, so the key wouldn’t open it. We had to flag down another quest to try their locks because the front desk wasn’t helpful.
Hotel amenities: The pool is not heated. The hot tub didn’t work when we were there.
Front Desk: They will not let you get into your room even 5 min before the check-in time. We showed up a couple of hours earlier, dropped our luggage and left to explore. In spite of the fact that they knew that the guests have arrived, no attempt was made to finish the cleaning earlier. We actually had to wait another 20 minutes after the check-in time for them to be ready. The coffee is rationed – 1 caffeinated and 1 de-caf per day. No exceptions. Front desk did give us 1 extra package grudgingly. The cleaning crew will not wash the dishes or clean the coffee pot.
Room: Do NOT select the Mountain View rooms. You get the views of the parking lot and the main street leading to the downtown. It’s very loud in the early morning. The room itself felt very outdated, the bed was not comfortable, the bathroom – tiny, old yellowed space.
The only two good things I can say about this hotel – walking distance to the downtown, literally 5 minutes, and the little market located next door for any last minute goodies. Oh, and all the awesome hotel guests whom we’ve met there!!! But in the end, we were so glad when we got out of there! Yikes…

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TripTraveljourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We got an unrenovated ocean front room through the hotel website (Room 431). The bathroom and kitchen were modern enough and quite big for a studio unit. The room was exceptionally clean, and the view from the balcony was sensational. Unfortunately we had a murphy bed, which was old and lumpy and gave us aching backs and very little sleep. I will never risk the possibility of getting a murphy bed in any hotel again. The airconditioner was so loud we had to turn it off at night (or to have a conversation). The forrest of plastic plants throughout the unit was a little disturbing.

The location of the hotel was very good for exploring Lahaina, and the shops and restaurants next door were very high quality. The beach in front of the hotel was good for paddling but too rocky for swimming.

For a better Maui experience, my advice would be to stay in a nice resort on Ka'anapali Beach and just do a day trip in to Lahaina Town.

Room Tip: Nothing less than ocean front and renovated. Don't accept a murphy bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grhingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had an ocean front one bedroom condo. It was updated with a full kitchen and a gorgeous view of the ocean with a wall to wall sliding door onto a lovely patio where we eat most of our meals. The cruise ship parked nearby and the beach was lovely to walk on although not the best for swimming. We loved that there were restaurants and shops right next door and Front Street was a short walk away. We went for a stroll every night along Front Street and enjoyed the shops and restaurants there too. The pool was a little cool but the lawn chairs were nice and plentiful. There were washers/dryers available too. There is a concierge available to schedule tours for you. All you could want for a great price. We will come here again.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view. It is worth the extra price. That's why you come to Hawaii so enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFbythebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Beautiful view and location,,,,,,,it's old school, and that's the charm. Stay on the ocean front if you choose to stay, it's worth it! Spectacular ocean view and amazing sunset watching. Close to town and an easy stroll. Our unit had a kitchen which allowed us to pack our own lunches for our daily excursions. I would recommend this beautiful property as a quiet Hawaiian experience.

Room Tip: Choose ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollies48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
5.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
4.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,140 reviews
9.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
4.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#21 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lahaina Shores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Address: 475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lahaina Shores Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to oceanfront living right in the heart of Lahaina Town. Lahaina Shores Beach Resort is a landmark in historic Lahaina town. This ocean front condo resort features spacious studio, one bedroom and one bedroom penthouse condos with full kitchens and oversized lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Lahaina Shores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Shores Beach Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Shores Maui
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing