We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“verrry good for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lahaina Shores Beach Resort to your Saves list
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Fall Special - $135/nt
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
nyc
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“verrry good for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

just came back from Maui, there's no bad time to go there -- the weather is always fantastic!
ok, the hotel -- we stayed in a studio on a sixth floor with an ocean view (last January we were looking at the mountain, ain't the same, trust me). I kept the balcony door open and would wake up to the trashing of the ocean at high tide; which was marvelous -- would make coffee and have it at the balcony watching the sun rise, I miss it already!
We had a full service -- cleaning, fresh sheets and towels etc. We had a full kitchen, with all the pots etc., no complaints. The bathroom is spacious, modern, lovely and we never had a problem with hot water. There's also a barbecue downstairs and you can snorkel or surf right there at the wall.
It's been really lovely, what can I say -- can't beat that price and the fact that I could spot whales from the balcony; I mean really, what else do you want for $200 a night?
Well, maybe a free parking which is not ($8 per day), pool tables or ping pong or something like that when the swimming pool or the hot tub is not an option. And the bed was on the soft side -- sheets were Egyptian cotton, fantastic. Radios on each night table, TV, dinning table inside and nice table to dine on the balcony. I would go there anytime but the trip is looooooooooooong and the jet lag hurts. Btw, the place was full of couples well over 50.

Room Tip: all rooms on the ocean side are quiet, not to worry. the ones on the ground floor -- well, you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    299
    81
    30
    18
See reviews for
100
436
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying here. We have been to Maui 3 times 1st time here at Lahania shores 2nd time at Hyatt regency in Kaanapali, 3rd time back at lahania shores. If we return it will be here, no doubt the best location on the island. We read that they were remodeling the rooms and you should stay in one of them. We didnt get one but our room was satisfactory. Honestly, if your room is where you are going to spend your vacation you should stay in Wailea. Our room was very clean and the maid service was excellent. There's a couple of nice places to eat right next door...Spankys bar and grill has great food at reasonable prices. There's a convenience store called the Whaler right next to your hotel if you need anything(beer,snacks,batteries,etc). You can rent surfboards , paddle boards and lessons next door. The snorkeling right out in front of the hotel is some of the best on the island if you're a novice.You're within 5 minutes walking distance from lahania which is fun shopping good restaurants and history. You can't ask for a better location for a hotel unless you'd rather have super posh, super exclusivity...and the prices to go with it. The only complaint we have is you have to have a room key to get OUT onto the beach, which was inconvenient. The place is clean, convenient, friendly and THE BEST!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view upper floor even though the mountain views are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

During our stay at Lahaina Shores in mid January, we experienced only excellent staff and wonderful concierge service provided by Expedia. Expedia booked our snorkel and horse back riding trips. Outstanding directions were very appreciated. However, our sleeping accommodations in #422 were less than adequate. It was reported to the Manager directly and he will correct the situation with the owners of #422 immediately. Do not book under any circumstances #422 unless Lahaina Shores can guarantee the hammock has been replaced with an actual bed!

Room Tip: receive a guarantee that #422 is not to be used ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in a mountain view studio on the 2nd floor with a full kitchen.

Positives:

1. Excellent location, on the edge of Lahaina, a waterfront town with numerous restaurants/bars/galleries. An easy, safe 2 block or so walk gets you into the center of town.

2. Beach front property. Beach is sandy. Water is shallow. Nice view of numerous boats from nearby marina. Excellent view of the island of Lana'i. Westernly view provides view of sunset.

3. View of whales during whale season, roughly December - mid April.

4. Easy drive to other West Maui beach and resort locations.

5. Property contains nice pool, hottub, and barbeque for use.

6. Self parking is available on site for an additional fee.

7. Affordable. We got a decent rate through Costco. Full kitchen provides ability to save big on meals. Costco is available right next to main island airport.

8. Excellent staff. Consistently helpful and friendly.

9. Property is well maintained and clean as a whistle. No bugs or odor of any sort.

Negatives:

1. No restaurant or bar on site. However restaurants and convenience store are located right next door.

2. No gym on site.

Bottom line:

We absolutely loved this place. The location, beachfront in the awesome town of Lahaina, can't be matched. Throw in an affordable price, kitchen, and a great staff and, well, next time we will be hard pressed to choose to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Mountain view is just fine if you want to save some $$, and don't plan on spending a ton of time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Literally one week in advance we booked a trip to Maui for a relaxing week. I was so worried about finding a nice place to stay at the last minute! Not just because we needed a place to lay our heads, but we enjoy the boutique, quiet, mature hotel experience and shy away from the larger crowded resorts at this point in our lives. Enter MostRomanticVacations.com and Lahaina Shores Beach Resort!

We had no expectations other than to come to terms with "Well, we booked it at the last minute, we'll be in Maui, there was nothing really else available, and how bad can it be based on the reviews?" Were we pleasantly surprised!!!

My husband and I stayed in a mountain view room on the 5th floor of this very friendly condo/resort. Weary from our flight, we were welcomed by very nice, casual and friendly staff. When we opened the door to our condo we were joyous. A happy little kitchen, bar, flat screen tv, couch, queen bed and a wall to wall sliding door with a beautiful view of the mountain/hillsides and a huge balcony. It was a perfect place to stay for a mellow week all about nothing.

The resort is extremely quiet, and seems to be populated with condo owners and many retirees. Even the younger crowd was quiet and respectful, and we enjoyed chatting with some very nice people we met. The resort sits along a nice stretch of beach where one can swim, walk, snorkel. Bring your swimming/water shoes though, as it is rocky in the water and tender footed people need to be mindful.

There is an open air, small (but welcoming) lobby, a small pool, jacuzzi and lots of lawn space and lounge chairs. Best of all, it is within walking distance to restaurants, the grocery store, convenience store, shopping, shaved ice shops, bars, movie theater, the harbor and wharf and anything you might desire.

Because this was so last minute, we did not rent a car. We enjoyed using public transportation for $4 a day and traveled up and down the west side of the island to enjoy the many beaches and snorkeling spots. At the end of each day, we loved going "home" to our happy studio condo.

The property has two large gas BBQ's, which we enjoyed one evening with a grilled meal. But with so many restaurants nearby, we did not take full advantage of them. Also, although because the units are individually owned and I suspect there is no consistency, the bed in our condo was the most comfortable bed we have slept in. Ever. Even better than our very nice bed at home.

All said, this is the "anti-Kaanapali", the anti tourist spot, with quiet and tranquil grounds. If you need the multiple pools, the water slides, pool bar waiters, snack bars, noisy playful kids, drunken partying groups, lounge chairs lined up within three inches of each other, and the mega resort experience, this property is NOT for you. But, if you want a comfortable, clean, well maintained, quiet small resort experience that feels like home, I highly recommend this property. You can book direct with the resort or with several management companies to make it easy.

Lahaina shores is also VERY affordable, leaving you with plenty of money to enjoy the restaurants and excursions of Maui. We were extremely happy with our experience (and our bill!) and will stay here again. My next visit cannot come soon enough. Note: If you stay in a unit on the mountain view side, you are above the parking lot and near a bar with very boisterous patrons who take their business outside. This included a few bar brawls, as could be expected. I found listening to them hilarious and entertaining, but some people might be annoyed by them into the wee hours if you sleep with the patio door open.

Aloha!

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms have a magical view, but they are above the parking lot and near a pretty ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I did a LOT of shopping around to find a hotel that was a good deal. I found that Lahaina Shores had the best room for relatively little money compared to other hotels in the area. I went up to the part of the city with the higher end resorts for a luau and was glad I chose Lahaina shores. The Marriot, Sheriden etc. resorts area was filled with SO many people and over-landscaped for my taste. Lahaina shores is in a less touristy location so you often have full run of the small beach and plenty of ocean swimming (which is quite safe and relatively shallow for a long distance out). The people staying there seemed more laid back.

The staff was helpful and courteous and found them to be un-intrusive. The lady at the concierge desk that helped me plan out my days while there was great in helping me figure out where to go and how to get there.

Located on the south end of Lahaina, the resort looks out over the ocean toward one of the smaller islands. The room itself may look a little dated, but it's clean, the bed was plenty comfortable, and was rather surprised at how big it was when I first got there. A fully outfitted kitchenette was available in my room, which as a solo visitor was nice for breakfast which I could eat on the sunny balcony in the morning.(*story about feeding the birds below). I paid a little extra for the ocean view and was glad I did. It's a lovely view and quiet at night.

The 505 area right around the corner has a small convenience store and a decent restaurant for breakfast and lunch. It's only a 10 min walk in to town, and there's plenty to see. Not the least of which is the 150 Banyan tree in the city center. The Wharf shopping area has a theater and the bus can be found in the back in the covered area. I chose not to rent a car and found the bus was plenty effective in getting around, at least for my needs. It was certainly a lot less expensive than renting a car for the whole week, especially since many tours will pick you up at the door of the hotel.

*Each balcony has a sign on the rail that says "Don't feed the birds." Most of the birds are small sparrows and the like. I ignored the sign and fed a visiting sparrow on the balcony floor a pinch from my banana bread. The next day at breakfast the bird returned and landed right on the table and looked at me. I gave it more food and it promptly pooped on the table. I got up to get a paper towel to clean the mess up. When I turned around the bird had entered the room and was on the carpet, chirping and looking around. Bold little bugger. So the moral of the story: if you don't want new pets entering through the double sliding glass doors of the balcony, don't feed the birds.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little extra for the beach view if you like sitting out on the balcony at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lahaina Shores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Address: 475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lahaina Shores Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to oceanfront living right in the heart of Lahaina Town. Lahaina Shores Beach Resort is a landmark in historic Lahaina town. This ocean front condo resort features spacious studio, one bedroom and one bedroom penthouse condos with full kitchens and oversized lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Loews Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lahaina Shores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Shores Beach Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Shores Maui
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lahaina Shores Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.