We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lahaina Shores” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Lahaina Shores Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 28 hotels in Lahaina
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lahaina Shores”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for 8 nights during October 2012. First 5 nights in a "mountain view" privately owned room. Unit OK but a bit "tired" and in need of a makeover. Stayed remainder of time in a resort-owned "sea view" room which was very comfy, well appointed and recently renovated. Overall, the resort is a place that I can recommend for amenity, location and value. Sea view is much better.

Room Tip: Resort owned room with a sea view. Parking is extra - around $8 per day
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    354
    263
    80
    30
    18
See reviews for
89
373
30
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is our favorite place in maui. We had a room that had been updated and it was done perfect!!
The sound of the wave's all day and all night is something my husband and i have never experience before anywhere eles. The staff is very nice and helpful. We wish we could go back more often. The beach is great but would suggest wearing water shoes. We also must mention that this being a NON SMOKING hotel is a real plus, and we mean no place on the property !!. Betty's that is next door is a wonderful place to eat, food is great.

Room Tip: stay on the ocean side and preminium room, second floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Imagine this...you arrive in Maui to learn there has been a fire in the resort you booked months ago.

You are in Maui for the first time, have NO clue where to stay, pull out your phone, pull up Trip Advisor and decide to check out the Lahaina Shores Beach Resort.

At the front desk of LSBR, a price is quoted and the front desk clerk then gives a phone number, points to the lobby phone. "Call, you'll get a better price".

She wasn't kidding try 45% less.

Good points:

** Beautiful resort, great view, newly remodeled ocean front unit, large balconies (We watched a wedding on the beach from our lanai) Great restaurants next door,Walk to Lahaina Town, free parking at your door, beautiful grounds.

Lacking:

** All the bells and whistles - no spa, no health club, no room service etc.
Just one beautiful resort that did not rip off these 2 last minute travelers. So glad we found our way to this door. We will return..

Room Tip: Pay a few dollars more get ocean front "premium" (Newly remodeled) suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is our third visit to this hotel. There is no room service, no valet parking, no onsite bar, no wifi, nobody to help you with your luggage BUT what a fantastic resort. You must stay in an ocean front room! When you open the door there is the most amazing site, the Bay, if you visit during whale season which we have, take your binoculars the whales are there waiting to show off for you! They breach, blow and just float around!!! We also visited in October, the weather was glorious, there is no better feeling than waking, checking out the bay, then heading downstairs to OUR beach, snorkel in hand and away you go, the coral and fish sitings in front of the resort are great. Back to the hotel, take a shower and either a dip in the pool or spa. Location, location, location ... Just a short stroll into Lahaina Town and there are a myriad eating spots and bars at your disposal. Lahaina Shores is a step back in time but a very pleasant step back. Of course we will be returning !!! Poppysmart

Room Tip: Choose ocean front above level four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Lahaina shores is an older hotel with some of the best views on Maui. All rooms are different, some are privately owned. Oceanfront rooms are incredible and the mountain view rooms are great. Walking distance to lahaina.

Room Tip: Pick a room as high as you can, the view gets better the higher you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the mountain view so we saw the unfortunate way of life the. Residents live. The Salvation Army is directly across. We were a family traveling with a nine year old little girl. We felt so bad for these poor people. We actually made of donation. The hotel is clean but it has nothing. No business center to print out airline tickets. No sundries shp, except walking next door. If your wet it is a bit inconvenient. The front desk watch you like a hawk. I felt like was in a college dorm. We will stay in a real condo next time

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were part of a group who booked at Lahaina Shores Resort. For our room, we chose a sunrise, mountain view studio and were very pleased with the room, staff and location as well as access to the ocean. All rooms have private balconys. Our friends, in ocean view rooms, had a beautiful view and we might choose that next time. The ocean area was protected by a reef and we were able to snorkle at the reef. It was walking distance to downtown. The grounds are well-maintained and well managed. The pool wasn't large but it was never crowded. The hot tub was nice and hot. Our room had a nice kitchen area and bathroom; was clean and updated and quiet. The bed was comfortable. The location had a private feeling and was totally relaxation oriented. We will choose it again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lahaina Shores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Lahaina Shores Beach Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Shores Beach Hotel
Lahaina Shores
Lahaina Shores Maui
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort Maui
Address: 475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lahaina Shores Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to oceanfront living right in the heart of Lahaina Town. Lahaina Shores Beach Resort is a landmark in historic Lahaina town. This ocean front condo resort features spacious studio, one bedroom and one bedroom penthouse condos with full kitchens and oversized lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Lahaina Shores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lahaina Shores Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.