We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kahana Sunset

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kahana Sunset to your Saves list
Kahana Sunset
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   4909 Lower Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've stayed at the Kahana Sunset many times and love it. WE usually take the lower end unit on the NW corner. It has a small pool with bbq area and its own private beach. It's a great place to come back to after exploring.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    47
    12
    10
    10
See reviews for
83
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
WI
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We just returned from a 3+ week stay at Kahana Sunset. We rented a 1-bedroom condo from the Kahana Sunset Rental Program [advantage; on-site mgmt, daily housekeeping service]. Kahana Sunset has: beautiful grounds, maintained by an on-site landscaping staff, medium size heated pool, excellent barbeque facilities, "private" very sandy beach [good snorkeling, etc!]. Condos are all privately-owned. Kahana Sunset is about a 15-min easy-drive west of Lahaina, and close to shopping/restaurants/tourist spots. Resort is well-managed. An excellent get-away in "Paradise". This was our third visit to Kahana Sunset. No question that we will return.

Room Tip: ocean-front and ocean-view are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful ten day stay at Kahana Sunset. We (two couples and a two-year old) loved the safe and family-friendly complex, the pool and the beautiful beach on the property. The location - close to Napili, Kahana, Kapalua AND Kaanapali - was excellent. We were a stone's throw from West Maui's best beaches, including D.T. Flemming Beach, Kapalua Beach and Kaanapali Beach.We stayed in a two floor, two-bedroom, two bathroom condo in E building. The layout was excellent and even though we weren't right on the ocean, we had ocean views from our huge balconies. We appreciated the daily towel service and the helpful staff. We also appreciated the great community feel, the complimentary herb garden and barbecues, the book exchange and the activities desk. The only reason we are not giving a 5/5 for this property is because of the following:(1) we had to wait almost a week to get an Internet connection in our unit despite several requests to management and (2) the unit (E1) could have been cleaner. However, all in all, we would recommend Kahana Sunset if you want a large unit in a family-friendly property located in an ideal spot in West Maui.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Over the years we have stayed at the Kahana sunset many times. You can't beat it for location (Napili Bay area), wild life (sea turtles everwhere) warmth and view. Large beach right in front is easily accessible. They have a semi covered community lounge patio that overlooks the cove and provides a tremendous view. Pretty much every 2 floor condo has a view of the water and islands. 2 bedroom condos are spacious for 4 people with kitchen, dining facility and family room. This is not a high rise hotel; the buildings are 3 story set against the hillside and provide a wonderful view. Our go to place in Maui

Room Tip: Rooms vary in pricing according to proximity to the beach. But all are close enough. We were in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just returned home from Maui and our stay at Kahana Sunset. This was our first trip to Hawaii and we couldnt have stayed anywhere better. The condo was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. We enjoyed BBQing down by the pool, especially the fresh fish we caught on our fishing trip. The grounds are beautiful and everyone there was so helpful. Sally helped us book a perfect snorkeling boat tour. We were able to sit on our lanai and watch whales everyday. We definately recommend Kahana Sunset if you go to Maui. The private beach is easily accessed and we enjoyed watching turtles there.

Room Tip: The beachside units in building F look very nice. We stayed in E 10 and this unit has an outstandin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have stayed at the KH many times over the last 25 years and always love coming back. One of the small things I like about the KH is that you do not have to take an elevator to your your room. It's low rise, not high rise and we prefer that. In Hawaii the beaches are public but you need access to the beach. The KH surround a small bay and the guests of the KH are the only people on their 'secret beach.' The beach is great swimming, snorkeling, etc. and you can usually spot sea turtles in the afternoon. There is a nice pool and the grounds have beautiful landscaping. The KH has covered BBQ's and it's fun to meet the other guests while grilling a steak. There is a grocery store conveniently nearby.
Our unit on this trip was not the nicest we have had but it was just fine for the this visit.

Room Tip: I have never had a bad room at the KH.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here about ten times over the past 30 years. Like any condo development there are variations in care and upkeep between individual units. However, I have usually rented the F beachfront units. They have all been outstanding. The nearly private cove offers excellent snorkel, paddle board and surfing. Turtles abound, and there is great whale watching during winter months. It is a very short hop to the luxury amenities at Kapalua or Kaanapali, or the more touristy Lahaina. Nice pool and barbecues. I highly recommend.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kahana Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Sunset

Address: 4909 Lower Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kahana Sunset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kahana Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Sunset Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Sunset Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahana Sunset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.