We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location & lovely complex” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kahana Sunset

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kahana Sunset to your Saves list
Kahana Sunset
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   4909 Lower Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great location & lovely complex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful ten day stay at Kahana Sunset. We (two couples and a two-year old) loved the safe and family-friendly complex, the pool and the beautiful beach on the property. The location - close to Napili, Kahana, Kapalua AND Kaanapali - was excellent. We were a stone's throw from West Maui's best beaches, including D.T. Flemming Beach, Kapalua Beach and Kaanapali Beach.We stayed in a two floor, two-bedroom, two bathroom condo in E building. The layout was excellent and even though we weren't right on the ocean, we had ocean views from our huge balconies. We appreciated the daily towel service and the helpful staff. We also appreciated the great community feel, the complimentary herb garden and barbecues, the book exchange and the activities desk. The only reason we are not giving a 5/5 for this property is because of the following:(1) we had to wait almost a week to get an Internet connection in our unit despite several requests to management and (2) the unit (E1) could have been cleaner. However, all in all, we would recommend Kahana Sunset if you want a large unit in a family-friendly property located in an ideal spot in West Maui.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    47
    12
    10
    10
See reviews for
83
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Over the years we have stayed at the Kahana sunset many times. You can't beat it for location (Napili Bay area), wild life (sea turtles everwhere) warmth and view. Large beach right in front is easily accessible. They have a semi covered community lounge patio that overlooks the cove and provides a tremendous view. Pretty much every 2 floor condo has a view of the water and islands. 2 bedroom condos are spacious for 4 people with kitchen, dining facility and family room. This is not a high rise hotel; the buildings are 3 story set against the hillside and provide a wonderful view. Our go to place in Maui

Room Tip: Rooms vary in pricing according to proximity to the beach. But all are close enough. We were in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just returned home from Maui and our stay at Kahana Sunset. This was our first trip to Hawaii and we couldnt have stayed anywhere better. The condo was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. We enjoyed BBQing down by the pool, especially the fresh fish we caught on our fishing trip. The grounds are beautiful and everyone there was so helpful. Sally helped us book a perfect snorkeling boat tour. We were able to sit on our lanai and watch whales everyday. We definately recommend Kahana Sunset if you go to Maui. The private beach is easily accessed and we enjoyed watching turtles there.

Room Tip: The beachside units in building F look very nice. We stayed in E 10 and this unit has an outstandin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have stayed at the KH many times over the last 25 years and always love coming back. One of the small things I like about the KH is that you do not have to take an elevator to your your room. It's low rise, not high rise and we prefer that. In Hawaii the beaches are public but you need access to the beach. The KH surround a small bay and the guests of the KH are the only people on their 'secret beach.' The beach is great swimming, snorkeling, etc. and you can usually spot sea turtles in the afternoon. There is a nice pool and the grounds have beautiful landscaping. The KH has covered BBQ's and it's fun to meet the other guests while grilling a steak. There is a grocery store conveniently nearby.
Our unit on this trip was not the nicest we have had but it was just fine for the this visit.

Room Tip: I have never had a bad room at the KH.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here about ten times over the past 30 years. Like any condo development there are variations in care and upkeep between individual units. However, I have usually rented the F beachfront units. They have all been outstanding. The nearly private cove offers excellent snorkel, paddle board and surfing. Turtles abound, and there is great whale watching during winter months. It is a very short hop to the luxury amenities at Kapalua or Kaanapali, or the more touristy Lahaina. Nice pool and barbecues. I highly recommend.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We recently spent two weeks at Kahana Sunset. It was a family trip and 10 of us stayed in units B2, B1 and B1B.

My family of four (two adults and kids ages 2 and 4) stayed in B2. This unit is beautifully renovated: the bedding is luxurious, the countertops, floors and furniture are very attractive (very elegant while still maintaining a tropical theme). The kitchen is well appointed. And the view of the ocean from the two huge lanais is gorgeous as are the amazing sunsets.

The size of the unit was perfect for our family of four (the only thing we would have liked was a bath tub for the kids, but we made do! There are 2 1/2 bathrooms, but both full bathrooms have showers only).

B1 was also nice but not as extensively renovated -- it's open and bright, but the bathrooms need to be updated and parts of the kitchen are strange (specifically, the fridge opens into an odd shelf unit so it's a bit hard to access). The nice thing about B1 is that it's a corner unit so you have more privacy (the lanais on all of the units have a low wall between them so everyone has a great view of the water). And they have a bath tub, so that was nice for the kids. A family of four (two adults with kids ages 2 and 7) stayed here and it was a great amount of space for them.

B1B is also nice. Again, not as extensively renovated as B2, but the kitchen has been beautifully renovated and the unit is very open and bright. It's on the ground floor with two seating areas on the lanai, overlooking the pool with a view to the ocean as well. It's a corner unit, which is great, but it's also beside the staircase to the upper units in Building B, so there'a bit of traffic through there. Fortunately, it wasn't very busy when we were there so that wasn't at all disruptive for us. My parents stayed in this unit and were very pleased with it.

The Kahana Sunset property is perfect for families. The pool is heated and there's a shallow pool attached to the big pool that is great for small children. We spent hours there. The beach isn't very big but, again, it was great for our families. As an added bonus, there are several turtles that live in the bay and we saw them every day, swimming in the water and laying on a nearby beach. That was very exciting! The grounds are also beautifully maintained with tons of lush foliage and gorgeous flowers and fruit.

The only disadvantage I can see with Kahana Sunset is you can't do much walking in the immediate vicinity. We walked to Napili Market (10 minutes or so) but there are not many sidewalks so that made it awkward with our stroller. Other than that, I liked that it was private and a bit off the beaten track (versus the hustle and bustle of Kaanapali).

We booked all three units through Sullivan Properties and were very happy with the service. I also thought the prices were reasonable.

I would highly recommend Kahana Sunset as a beautiful, relaxing spot in Maui for families.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just returned from a week at Kahana Sunset where we stayed in unit A1. The view was absolutely amazing. The sunsets were incredible and we were able to wake up in the morning and look directly down on turtles swimming in the rocks below. The unit is very well furnished and immaculately maintained. The rental process was seamless through VRBO and the owner was very informative on local dining and activities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kahana Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Sunset

Address: 4909 Lower Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kahana Sunset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kahana Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Sunset Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Sunset Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahana Sunset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.