We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay at Kaanapali Alii” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kaanapali Alii to your Saves list
Kaanapali Alii
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Receive Up to 20% Off!
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
California City, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay at Kaanapali Alii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

My husband and I had not stayed at the Alii in some years and we vacationed with our daughter, son-in-law and their teen-age son for spring break. We reserved a two bedrm condo with the den (separate bed area) through Classic Resorts and it was perfect. We chose the location because it is on the beach and convenient to activities for all. Nice restaurants and the Whaler's Village are close walking distance. The staff was very helpful--from assisting with all the luggage and groceries to booking a Luau for us and rental of equipment for the beach. This is a very nice property and our stay was great. The unit was in pristine condition, beautifully decorated and more than comfortable. We loved the convenience of the washer and dryer inside the our unit. The outdoor grills down near the beach area were cleaned each day and were very convenient to use. The grounds are lovely and well maintained. A great place for a family vacation.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    88
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
318
108
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Larchmont, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Kaanapali Alii was recommended by friends and I looking for a condo where we (family of 4) could have more space versus a standard hotel room. We booked in February for an August stay and requested an oceanview and a high floor. When we arrived, we were put into a beautiful 3rd floor condo (of 11 floors) with what i considered a partial view. Needless to say, I was not thrilled. I requested a move later that day but was told that there was nothing available. The next morning, I spoke to someone with authority and the next think i knew, we were moved to a 10thf loor condo with sweeping views of the Pacific and Molokai. I was very pleased with the service, not to mention the location of the property (great beach). Would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Our stay at the Kaanapali Alii was during the month of July, 2010. I was a bit apprehensive about booking at a non-luxury, non-chain hotel. However, from the time we stepped onto the property, those concerns vanished. Staying at the Kaanapali Alii was like having a rich uncle who offered to let you use his infrequently visited luxury condo. The location was fantastic. The room was exquisite (well, maybe not "exquisite", but really nice). Without exception, the employees at Kaanapali Alii were top notch. We are not high maintenance travelers, therefor did not need much. But, the employees were always ready and willing to assist with anything we needed... and they did so in a very warm, friendly, sincere way. I look forward to rebooking at the same location when I return.

Pros: Location, view, staff, amenities
Cons: No poolside bar

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We just returned from a 5-day stay at the Alii after visiting Kauai and found the renovations and new look to be great. The rooms, the grounds, and the view are spectacular and the location is fantastic. We had no problems and would recommend the Alii to anyone. We were in a premier oceanfront condo and it was recently remodeled and looked great. Housekeeping staff were very helpful as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

I chose this location to celebrate my 35th wedding anniversary after reading several other reviews and I'm absolutely glad I did. From the moment we arrived I truly felt like a VIP. The staff was outstanding, the rooms spacious and furnished beautifully. The 10th floor ocean front view took my breath away. I didn't want to leave. In fact my mind is still there. It was a short walk to Whaler's Village and nearby hotels. Costco is close to the airport and makes it convenient to save on eating out. I can't wait to return and highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a first class vacation with the comforts of home in the perfect location on Kaanapali Beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

The Kaanapali Alii is an upscale condo right on Kaanapali beach. The one bedroom lanai ocean view was 1200sq ft! It had a huge King bedroom suite with full bathroom and an adjoining separate area with mirror and sink. There was a washer/dryer and they provided the laundry detergent. This wing had 2 closets also and you could close this off from the rest of the condo. The "den" really has a queen murphy bed and full bathroom, so it was like a 2nd bedroom that you could also close off. The couch was a queen sleeper. Kitchen was fully stocked. Our lanai overlooked the ocean and there was a table and chairs out on it. The pool area was nice and had BBQ's to use with all the equipment down there by the pool. The beach is gorgeous and they have chairs for you to use along with beach towels. It is right in the middle of Kaanapali beach, an ideal location. Plus no parking charge or facility fee. Tennis courts and gym are also included. The people were so friendly and helpful. Our flight left after check out time, so we checked out but they let us use the facilities all day and shower in the gym . We booked the package on their website and it was much cheaper. It says 1 bedroom sleeps 4, but it really could have slept 6 easily. It was very close to Whaler's Village, which has restaurants and shops. Very short walk to the Black Rock for snorkeling right off the beach. A definite must!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We did some homework before settling on the Kaanapali Alii for a one week family vacation in July. Our one-bedroom, garden view Unit #222 appeared to have recently been renovated, had a real sense of luxury to it. We were looking for accommodation with all the amenities of home and the Alli really delivered. A den converted to a 2nd bedroom added welcomed sleeping space, including an ensuite and shower that our 2 teens appreciated. Talking to folks staying at neighboring properties, we now know there’s excellent value in staying at the Alli. The location is central to the resort area and to activities. It’s beach is expansive and clean with a magnificent view of Lanai. Location is close to Whalers Village with nearby restaurants and evening entertainment.
I agree with comments regarding car rental. There’s way to much to experience around the island to go without. And grocery shopping is a must. Parking at the Alii was free which added to the value.
The Alli staff could not have been friendlier. The facility and grounds were kept in immaculate condition. In our opinion, this beach front Condo Complex is the best property on Kaanapali Beach. Thanks Alli, my wife and boys and I are already looking forward to a return visit next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Address: 50 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#1 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaanapali Alii 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaanapali Alii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.