We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful condos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kaanapali Alii to your Saves list
Kaanapali Alii
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Receive Up to 20% Off!
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful condos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Great place but very large. We were 3 people and we made an effort to use all the space. If you have a relatively large family this is certainly staying in style but you could duplicate in houses if you want. Centrally located and a great hotel like environment. Some of concierge desk not very helpful.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    88
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
318
108
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We visited Maui in June 2014 to celebrate my parent's 50th wedding anniversary along with a few other families. It was an awesome vacation. The condos at the Ka'anapali Alii were wonderful. We had a 1 bedroom condo for the 4 of us in our family - it was so spacious and very updated. A one bedroom is really like a 2 bedroom because it has a den which is outfitted as a bedroom with its own bathroom. The master bedroom and bath were beautiful. The laundry room was great - didn't go home with a bunch of clothes to wash for once! The kitchen was very updated, very modern, great appliances. The weather was beautiful every day for the week we were there. The beach is awesome. We did some excursions - bike ride down the volcano, snorkeling on a glass bottom boat and parasailing. We booked these all through the concierge (Wendy) who was very helpful. We played tennis on site - the courts were very nice. We BBQ'd outside on the grills set up right by the beach - it was so nice to eat outside with the entire family. Our kids are 12 & 15. They loved it. The pool is beautiful and the cabanas (extra charge but fairly reasonable) were great too. We walked down to Whaler's Village, shopped and ate there as well. It was a great vacation, great memories.

Room Tip: We took the room on the ground level - make sure you request not to be on the ground level if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des moines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This complex was fantastic. The condo was incredible. Huge with 2 bedrooms and a pullout in the living room. Views of the ocean were phenomenal. Close to Whalers Village with great restaurants and shopping. The beach was clean and the waves were plentiful for the kids. If we ever take the LONG flight back to Hawaii this is the only place to stay. You WON'T be disappointed

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This was our second stay at the Kaanapali Alii, and we were very happy to stay there again. Last time we had an ocean view one-bedroom which looked as if it had just been redone. This time we were on a tighter budget so we reserved a partial ocean view room. We had a good view of the ocean from our living room and from the balcony and dining room. The bedroom view was east towards the mountains, but it was still beautiful. The kitchen and bathrooms looked brand new, but the carpet was a little tired.

Our one bedroom had a den and a second bathroom, which was critical for our family of two parents and two college students. The den had a queen bed. I guess they can't call it a bedroom because it had no window and no closet, but if you only really need a nice bed and a second bathroom, save money and get the one bedroom plus den rather than the two-bedroom unit. I am not sure if all one-bedrooms have the den and second bathroom, but both times we've been there our unit did.

Our unit had a full kitchen, including utensils, plates, pots, pans, etc, and a dishwasher. There was a washer and a dryer in the unit, with detergent.

The Alli is located right in the middle of Kaanapali beach so it's in a great location. The beach there is beautiful and the hotel has beach chairs for guest use. A beach attendant even walked our chairs out to the beach and placed them for us. Walk a few steps south and you're at a nice little surf spot (Racetracks?) where you can take a surf lesson. Just beyond that is a Starbucks at one of the hotels. North of the Alii is another hotel and then Whaler's Village. It's very easy to walk to several different restaurants for lunch or dinner.

The Alii pool is nice. The pool concierge has towels and chair covers, plus sunscreen, hats, and some other basics (the towels and chair covers are free). There's a kiddie splash pool, the main pool, and a "quiet pool." The pools are not as fancy as the other hotels, but the pools at the other hotels are mayhem: crowded, kids screaming, etc. I only wish there's been pool service with mixed drinks or beer.

The gym is nice: 6-7 treadmills, 3 elliptical trainers, a stair master, 3 stationary bikes. There are basic weight machines, plus a really cool Smith machine and a cable machine. They have dumbbells up to 70 pounds or so. There are three clay tennis courts.

The concierge was helpful with dinner reservations, printing out boarding passes, etc. The little sundry store has a lending library of DVDs and books. Borrow a DVD overnight for free.

I don't think we paid a resort fee or parking fee, both of which can be exorbitant.

Bottom line: for four adults we would have needed two hotel rooms or a hotel suite with two bathrooms. Both options, for a beachfront hotel on Kaanapali Beach, would have been very expensive. The Alii was much cheaper than either of those options, plus it was very high quality, located right on the beach. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I am sure the higher floors have amazing views. The elevators are very fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Ka'anapali Alii the first week of August for 8 days .......and after only being home for a couple of weeks since our trip we are already planning on going back next year!
We loved everything about this condo. From the spacious rooms, emaculate grounds, and beach views that just cant be beat, to the well equipped gym that was practically empty every day we went. We enjoyed the pool, which is on the small side, but was never crowded so it was just fine. We also took advantage of the BBQs which had a grill master there to give tips and help with whatever you needed.
This condo has no Restaurant or Bar, which I thought was going to bother me, but Whalers Village was a 5 minute walk away which had restaurants, Bars, shops and an ABC store so you were never in need of anything.........walks at night down the boardwalk with the tiki lights glowing, and the waves crashing on the beach made for a very romantic trip.....cant wait to get back to my new home away from home!!!

Room Tip: Like others have said, ask for a room on the upper floors for a better ocean view, and we also asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We just returned from a family vacation in Maui and stayed at the Kaanapali Alli. The 1 BR unit we stayed in was perfect for our family of four - newly updated, great view, friendly staff and fantastic location. BEST EVER VACATION.

We'd definitely return to this and would definitely recommend to anyone planning a trip to Maui.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view and ask for the fourth floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Our family rented two condos on the 4th floor Aug 2-11 during our first visit to Maui. Both were updated, beautifully furnished, and well provisioned with exceptional views of the ocean. When we weren't out and about exploring the area or enjoying the amenities we were perfectly happy to relax out on our lanai. It was so convenient being on the beach walk for easy access to Whalers Village, snorkeling near Black Rock, and beachside walking, dining, and viewing the sunsets. We were ready to shelter in place during our stay with two (!!) hurricanes on their way and were relieved to be missed by both Iselle and Julio during our stay. The Kaanapali Alii staff was ready to help us weather the storms by keeping us informed of contingency plans and even provided us with containers to store extra water in preparation. We lost power for a very short time early one morning but never had to dip into our backup supply of pb&j! Our family group appreciated being able to grill out by the pool on several occasions but also loved eating out at nearby restaurants Hula Grill and Leilani's while viewing the sunsets from our table. Highlights of our week included taking the road to Hana with stops for photo ops, waterfalls, and banana bread along the way, good snorkeling in fairly shallow water near Black rock, daily sampling shave ice shops but finally settling on Ululani's in Lahaina as our favorite, and attending the Old Lahaina Luau one night which was a special treat. Due to the iffy weather toward the end of the week the planned horseback ride was cancelled and we never made it up to the volcano, so we will definitely have to make a return visit to the Kaanapali Alii to finish our bucket list. Thank you to the wonderful staff here who helped make this our Best Vacation. Ever.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Address: 50 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#1 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaanapali Alii 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaanapali Alii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.