We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious condos- we enjoyed every minute” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kaanapali Alii to your Saves list
Kaanapali Alii
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Receive Up to 20% Off!
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Amsterdam
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spacious condos- we enjoyed every minute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here in july for 18 days. Unfortunately the two bedroom condos were sold out, but we were lucky to get a condo with a den with a queen size bed. That was adequate for our family with two kids.

I can only agree with the high score this resort gets on trip advisor. Ok, the first day after a long flight I was disappointed that there was nog bar or restaurant on the premises. There are plenty however in Whalers Village at 400 meters.

Staff was very helpful, rooms were clean, the view is fantastic and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. A nice thing to mention is that nearby the pool, there are 8 gas bbq's free for use. Excellent.

Room Tip: I cannot tell for sure, but with the exception of building 3 I have the impression that every room h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    88
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
318
108
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Olmsted Falls, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We recently stayed at the Kaanapali Alii and couldn't have been happier. We stayed in room 271. It was nice to have 1400 sq. ft. instead of being confined to one room. The view was AMAZING!! The grounds were nice and well maintained. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Wendy (the concierge) was great and booked several activities for us. The pool was never crowded and the beach was really nice. The is not a restaurant on site but we didn't mind at all. Whalers Village is just a short walk along the beach and they have plenty of restaurants to choose from. Not to mention the restaurants at the hotels near by. We will definitely be back - hopefully next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed in condo #233. It was a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom + a third room with a fold down bed. We had a gorgeous ocean view. The condo came equipped with EVERYTHING you could possibly think of. Even had a boogie board & snorkel gear so you didn't need to rent anything. 1900sq feet of total luxury. Unlike some of the neighboring properties Alii's pools and beachfront wasn't overly crowded and had a more peaceful & relaxing atmosphere. Do wish they had an on site restaurant but the walk to Whalers Village is only a minute stroll down the waterfront path. If you're looking for that perfect Maui getaway without all the crowds this is the place to stay. I will definitely be back here!

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra money for an ocean view condo!! It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We selected the Kaanapali Alii for the first family vacation with our five month old son, and I couldn't be happier. We had a ocean view 2 bedroom condo (building 1, 11th floor, room 3) that was amazing. To begin with - it was huge and updated, with a great, comfortable living space, nice dining room (with ocean view), decent sized lanai, well appointed kitchen, and beautiful view of the beach and the neighboring resorts facing north. The two bedrooms were on opposite ends of the unit (it felt like there were almost two separate wings) and each were master suites with large bathrooms. Both bedrooms had ocean views and big windows. It felt very luxurious. In addition to the two bedrooms, there was an extra den with a bunk bed, so my son had his own room, and an area with a desk where my husband could do a bit of work. One thing I would note - there are limited toiletries provided (conditioning shampoo, lotion, a sewing kit, and soap) so if you like conditioner, mouthwash, etc. you should bring it with you.

Everyone who worked at the resort was very friendly and helpful, but also non-intrusive which was nice. We barbecued a few different nights using the BBQs near the pool which was great. The gym is very clean and nice, much larger and better equipped We enjoyed the pools every day and the beach. The beach can be a bit rough right outside the resort - better for surfing/body surfing, but great for swimming and snorkeling just a few minutes walk north. I saw a turtles a few different times while snorkeling which was really cool. The location of the resort is great - we were a short walk away from a number of activities (parasailing, banana boats, great snorkeling, stand up paddling, surfing) and Whaler's Village, where we grabbed food and drinks a few times. To stock our kitchen, we got groceries at Safeway and Foodland Farms - big grocery stores that were only a few miles away. We had a wonderful, relaxing week and a great time at the Kaanapali Alii! I didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: We stayed in Building 1 which is the northern most building. While we were closest to the Westin, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is our fifth trip to Maui, first time staying in a condo. The view on the tenth floor is Absolutley beautiful and I believe that's what you pay for.
We love the amenities of a hotel stay, this is not that. This is basic family living accommodations. No music at the pool, no cocktail waitress, basic lunch service, rules at the pool as to what time you can begin your day at the pool, no activity schedule, the pool looks larger in the photo online. The units are individually owned so the decor will change from unit to unit (which we knew). Grounds are clean, nothing to complain about, but just not for us. We would not return. We look forward to returning to the Sheraton Black Rock next year!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Traveled here in a group of 10. We rented 3 condos here, 1 one bedroom and 2 two bedroom units. All three units were nicely decorated, very spacious and very clean. There was a complication when we checked in, but the staff was very accomodating and made things work out for us. Also, upon checkout, the staff accomodated us by storing our luggage and allowing us to use the fitness center to clean up, due to a 10:30pm flight out of Maui.

Loved having the grill area by the pool to cook out. Plastic cutlery, paper plates, napkins are all provided by the grills. Wish they also provided condiments, I hated throwing out mostly full ketchup and mustard bottles at the end of our stay.

There are chairs available for guest use on the beach, but not umbrellas. Umbrellas are available for purchase for $50...thought this was crazy! Shaded areas by the pool also hard to come by. Something to think about if shade is needed.

Loved the convience of Whaler's Village...we ate at every restaurant at Whaler's Village. All were very good!

Boogie boards, surf boards, paddle boards are all available for rent.

Other than the fire alarm going off at 12:30am one night due to high humidity, I have nothing negative to say about Kaanapli Alii. We would definitely recommend to others and stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

There is no question, a great place to stay. Some areas for improvement would be handling room preference requests made at the time of your reservation, your condo unit is pretty much assigned to you prior to arrival and if your assigned condo does not meet with your original requests, it is not addressed at check in, but deferred by asking you to check in at the office daily to try and make a change to what your original requests might have been when you made the reservation. Inside your folder before leaving the front desk, it will contain notifications regarding your building: construction, pest control water shut off etc. having these occurrences can be annoying so check your folder before leaving the front desk. The Internet continues to be hit and miss. A movie night at the outside lobby area, by the pool would be great especially for families. We love staying here, but there is always a need to review patrons feed back to stay on top. Details are what makes a property outshine the competition and keep patrons coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Address: 50 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaanapali Alii 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaanapali Alii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.