We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kaanapali Alii to your Saves list
Kaanapali Alii
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Receive Up to 20% Off!
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This property certainly lives up to its positive reviews. We were a family of four staying for a week in a two bedroom apartment. On arrival service was very efficent and we were upgraded to an Ocean view apartment in building two. The apartment was very large and very well appointed. Daily servicing was excellent. A very small point is that it did not have an electric kettle for making tea. There is no restaurant on site but it is very close to Whaler's village which has several and the concierge was very helpful in making bookings or suggesting restaurants.
The grounds of the property are beautiful and it is located right by the best part of the beach. The beach further down e.g Hyatt, Mariottt is not nearly as good. The hotel provides a beach service so that you have comfortable chairs to sit on at the beach. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    86
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
316
106
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and it was very nice. The units are very well furnished and the views are awesome. The service (with the exception of the concierge) was not as stellar as everybody mentions but it was fine. The kaanapali area is so much fun and it is so nice that the Alii is literally beachfront. The conceirge service was awesome and Wendy was extremely helpful and very friendly. Overall this place is worth every dime and it is by far one of the best places to stay in Maui.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Finally got back to paradise- unit 3114 at the Kaanapali Alii. The building is so wonderfully located and accomodating. Unit 3114 is upgraded and has everything you need! Feels like a personal home, not a rented condo. Can't say enough about this unit. Already booked next year!

Room Tip: Unit 3114 is perfect- great decor, accomodations and extra touches by the owners. Amazing view of o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed previously in ocean view bid 2 and mountain view bld 4. Hoped to get same unit 493 but were put in 2113--nice updated unit in bld 2 but it faced the westin which was under renovation and noisy-ugh. They quickly -less than 10 minutes- moved us (thanks ray!) to 473 in bld 4 which while it did not have closed off den was just fine for our small family of 3. We love the location the staff and the units. They try to make you happy (they were completely booked and were still able to get us to a unit located where we wanted to be) and all you have to do us relax and enjoy. Other guests are pleasant, pool and beach access are great. Teen daughter made friends and we all had a great time ! Love it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our first stay at the Kaanapali Ali'i, and it was wonderful! I traveled to Maui with my father and my 7-year-old son for a week of good old fashioned relaxation and fun in the Hawaii sun. We chose the Ali'i due to its centralized location and extremely favorable reviews on TripAdvisor. It did not disappoint. As I said, the location is perfect. You are situated right in the center of Kaanapali beach, with a wide expanse of beach directly in front of the hotel and to either side. You can wander down the beach in either direction and there is lots to see! Great restaurants are in nearby hotels and the Whaler's Village is just a quick walk down the boardwalk. The Ali'i itself is lovely. We had unit 1103 in the west tower, which was a 2-bedroom/2-bathroom condo, with a "den" that was essentially a third bedroom. The room was nicely appointed with beach-style rattan furniture. The kitchen was fully stocked and the laundry room was available for our use. The bedrooms are nice, though I do think there's a bit of room to improve on some of the bedding. It seemed that just basic, white sheets were used and the blanket was just between two sheets, as if to convey a duvet-cover feel. It fell a bit short though, and I would expect nicer linens at this price tag. Overall though, the Ali'i delivered in every way and we would go back in a heartbeat. Thanks for the memories!

Room Tip: Higher floors on the west side get a free showing of the Luau at the Westin next door every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carencro, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have stayed at the Alii on 2 separate occasions. Each time we have loved staying here. The grounds are so beautiful and the condos are very spacious and beautifully furnished. We have gone in June both times and never had any trouble finding spots at the pool or at the grill. Everyone who works here is so very polite and friendly. We made some good friends and were sorry to leave. We have a friend who owns a condo at the Alii and she loves it so much that she is considering buying an additional condo. We will be back and we will stay at the Alii.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have visited Kaanapali Beach in Maui four times over the last five years and each time we have stayed at the Kaanapali Alli and surfed with Island Style Adventure Surf School.

We have stayed in a two bedroom condo with ocean view each time. We have stayed in four different rooms and enjoyed each condo. The pool is nice and relaxing. The condo's are up to date and remodeled. Kaanapali beach in front of the condo is the best. The Kaanapali Alli has grills overlooking the beach and you can grill your own food and watch the sunset every night. Their are eight grills that are cleaned everyday and there is always several other families each night all grilling, visiting and watching the sunset.

We feel that the Kaanapali Alli is a very safe place for our children to run around play and meet other children.

Vacationing at the Kaanapli Alli is a true vacation in which everyone gets to rest, relax and have fun. It is a very social place where people like to meet other people and sit around and visit while relaxing at the pool or beach, or grilling out dinner and watching the sunset.

Staying in a condo is nice because the children have their own bedroom and separate beds plus you can cook your own meals.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Address: 50 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#1 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaanapali Alii 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaanapali Alii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.