We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks a lot of boxes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kaanapali Alii to your Saves list
Kaanapali Alii
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisorSpecial 20%off
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Ticks a lot of boxes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our 3rd family trip of Maui, but we had outgrown the 'resorts', it is so expensive to book 2 rooms (we are 5 people), and wanted to have kitchen facilities so we didn't have to eat out at restaurants every night. After much research we settled on Kaanapali Alii, and have no regrets.
We booked on the VRBO website, you get to see photos of the inside of the apartments available, which gives you a bit of an insight to the decor etc. We booked a 2 bedroom, which ended up really being 3 bedrooms as they had converted the study to be a bedroom with Queen bed, no windows and sliding doors to the lounge, but our daughter who though she was going to be sleeping on a pull out bed was thrilled to have a 'room'!

The decor of our apartment was a bit 'old fashioned' and dated, however, everything was in good condition, and the space we had far out weighed the decor! The kitchen was well equipped, and very spacious living and bedroom areas. We had a nice balcony, with a partial Ocean view, mostly looking over the grounds of the Marriott Hotel next door, but it was still nice. You have to remember these are owned apartments, so each one is totally different in decor to the next - and there is no fancy reception area, or lobby, just a basic check in area.

The location of the apartments is fantastic, right on Kaanapali Beach, very close to Whalers village where you can get the bus to Lahaina, to the Cannery where there is a supermarket or into town - its $2 each way, with a fairly regular service. At Whalers village you have a variety of shops and restaurants, not a lot but enough. We did hire a car for one day (they come and pick you up from your hotel and take you to the depot - I believe all the companys do this). We met someone at the Barbeque area one evening (excellent facilities - well maintained) that told us about a place, just before Lahaina, but off the main Street, called Maui Prime that had excellent meat and seafood and deli items...it was small, and not cheap - but did have excellent Steaks, seafood etc, you would need to have a car to come here, definitely worth checking out if you did.

The Pool and gardens are well maintained, however the pools are quite small, not the large lagoon style meandering pools of some of the resorts, but you have to weigh up whether you want the fancy pool, or the large, roomy apartment?

If we get back to Maui, we will definitely be staying back at Kaanapli Alii.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    103
    29
    16
    8
See reviews for
368
118
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have been coming to Maui for 20 years and have stayed at almost every property along the Kaananpali beach shore..all of the hotels and condos. The Alli is second to none. Very family friendly. Great grilling while watching the sunset. You can walk to a dozen great restaurants as well. The staff is very friendly too.

Room Tip: In my opinion, you spend very little time in the room. Don't pay up for a view...just walk outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This resort provides self contained apartments in Maui's most popular beach side area. There is a full reception and facilities include tennis courts and a swimming pool. For a resort of this size, the pool is very small and is no comparison with the recreating facilities in the Westin hotel next door. The apartments are privately owned so one is dependent on how well owners have furnished and maintained the place. The location is good as it is directly on the beach and close to the Whaler's Town shopping area. Lahina is a short 10 minutes drive and provide all the whale watching and snorkeling excursions. 
Due to the lack of resort features, we would in the future opt for one of the branded resorts on the same strip (Westin, Hilton, Marriott). Maui is a really good place to visit especially during the whale watching season. 

Room Tip: Request for full ocean front on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our first trip to Hawaii and after countless hours of research and reading reviews we decided on the Kaanapali Alii and picked unit #356 oceanfront via VRBO. Best decision EVER.

Most of the units are individually owned so they vary largely in price and luxury. Our particular unit was probably the nicest place in the entire property, completely renovated and perfect for our family of 5. If you can afford it, oceanfront is a must. It is only the large beach between you and the ocean and we loved sitting on our lanai watching the whales. From speaking with other guests, not everyone was raving about their unit so a good rule of thumb for this property is to do your research and shop around for a unit that suits your needs and budget.

We loved the grilling stations by the water and really appreciated having the guidance of the grilling chef on hand to help. The herb garden was such a nice touch too! The pools and gardens are beautiful and the property is on a beautiful stretch of Kaanapali Beach. From walking along the beach walk and seeing other hotels, nothing compares to this place. It is simply the best.

Room Tip: Do your research because most of the units are privately owned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Wastington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was our 5th stay the Kaanapali Alii and I believe they just keep getting better and better, if that is even possible. This time we reserved a Garden View Room and still had a view of the ocean. The staff totally embraces the Alohal Spirit - from the bell desk to the beach everyone is wonderful.. The Alii is great for families or a romantic escape and we have been here for both. Check in and renew your relationship.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a little more $$ but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable and clean. Tons of families with kids. The pool is adequate and my kids enjoyed being able to use the hot tub. Would have been really nice to have a dining option on property. The proximity to the beach and shopping was great. Would definitely return to this property with the kids but for a romantic couple's vacation this might not be the place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, IL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our 5th stay at the Alii. We feel its the perfect set up on Maui. Large condos, right on the beach, excellent service and staff. Yes some condos are better than others, but we feel the property more than makes up for the inconsistency of remodels. Unit 182 had really hard beds, but they brought up egg crates, and moved us to another unit when it opened up. You can rent through classic resorts, the on site management company, with no resort fee and daily maid service. Or you can find individual rentals on vrbo.com which may charge a $35/day resort fee and cleaning fee. What is superb is the set up and ambiance. No problem getting a lounge chair, all are padded and covers are provided. The grill/ outdoor dining area is the best bar none.. 8 Viking grills facing the ocean, with all supplies provided by the resort(foil, paper goods,barbecue tools, even an herb garden). Seating for 50+. And a perfect sand beach outside your door. We tried staying at Honua Kai which is newer and beautifully furnished, but it is more isolated, more hotel feel, horrible low lounge chairs, very small grill area and too much coral and rocks in the sand.
At Alii you are not crowded and have all the amenities of a resort, plus a wonderful beach walk to other resorts and Whalers Village.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#20 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,874 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Address: 50 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaanapali Alii 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaanapali Alii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.