We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, best resort, unbelievable unit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kaanapali Alii to your Saves list
Kaanapali Alii
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best location, best resort, unbelievable unit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our first trip to Hawaii and after countless hours of research and reading reviews we decided on the Kaanapali Alii and picked unit #356 oceanfront via VRBO. Best decision EVER.

Most of the units are individually owned so they vary largely in price and luxury. Our particular unit was probably the nicest place in the entire property, completely renovated and perfect for our family of 5. If you can afford it, oceanfront is a must. It is only the large beach between you and the ocean and we loved sitting on our lanai watching the whales. From speaking with other guests, not everyone was raving about their unit so a good rule of thumb for this property is to do your research and shop around for a unit that suits your needs and budget.

We loved the grilling stations by the water and really appreciated having the guidance of the grilling chef on hand to help. The herb garden was such a nice touch too! The pools and gardens are beautiful and the property is on a beautiful stretch of Kaanapali Beach. From walking along the beach walk and seeing other hotels, nothing compares to this place. It is simply the best.

Room Tip: Do your research because most of the units are privately owned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theLUXpeditioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Southeast Wastington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was our 5th stay the Kaanapali Alii and I believe they just keep getting better and better, if that is even possible. This time we reserved a Garden View Room and still had a view of the ocean. The staff totally embraces the Alohal Spirit - from the bell desk to the beach everyone is wonderful.. The Alii is great for families or a romantic escape and we have been here for both. Check in and renew your relationship.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a little more $$ but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelingCraigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable and clean. Tons of families with kids. The pool is adequate and my kids enjoyed being able to use the hot tub. Would have been really nice to have a dining option on property. The proximity to the beach and shopping was great. Would definitely return to this property with the kids but for a romantic couple's vacation this might not be the place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJKelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our 5th stay at the Alii. We feel its the perfect set up on Maui. Large condos, right on the beach, excellent service and staff. Yes some condos are better than others, but we feel the property more than makes up for the inconsistency of remodels. Unit 182 had really hard beds, but they brought up egg crates, and moved us to another unit when it opened up. You can rent through classic resorts, the on site management company, with no resort fee and daily maid service. Or you can find individual rentals on vrbo.com which may charge a $35/day resort fee and cleaning fee. What is superb is the set up and ambiance. No problem getting a lounge chair, all are padded and covers are provided. The grill/ outdoor dining area is the best bar none.. 8 Viking grills facing the ocean, with all supplies provided by the resort(foil, paper goods,barbecue tools, even an herb garden). Seating for 50+. And a perfect sand beach outside your door. We tried staying at Honua Kai which is newer and beautifully furnished, but it is more isolated, more hotel feel, horrible low lounge chairs, very small grill area and too much coral and rocks in the sand.
At Alii you are not crowded and have all the amenities of a resort, plus a wonderful beach walk to other resorts and Whalers Village.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have stayed at Kaanapali Ali'i several times over the years with our daughters and cannot wait to go back this August with our grandson! We love having coffee and pineapple on the lanai while watching the waves crash on shore...perfect way to begin the day:) The condos are lovely and right on the beach. Reserve a covered lounge chair and relax! I love having the washer and dryer in the unit and the full kitchen makes breakfast and lunch for a family a breeze...no leaving the beach for a set time. You can walk to Whaler's Village to dine or shop and Lahaina is a short drive away.

This is a lovely family resort condominium that is continually upgraded. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: If this is your first stay, spend the extra and get an ocean or partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCLady82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was my first trip to Hawaii and I was so impressed by the condo, especially the staff. The condo was 1300 square feet with a great view of the ocean. It was very clean and extremely comfortable. Having a kitchen was really nice, especially because food in Hawaii is very expensive, so being able to save on breakfast and lunch was really helpful. The hotel was not inexpensive, but worth every penny. The only thing that was disappointing was that they did not sell alcohol at the pool - since it is a vacation, I would have loved to have a few daiquiris :) . The cleaning crew came in every day and was extremely friendly. They even did all of our dishes and unloaded the dishwasher, I was so impressed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just returned (this morning via the red eye, so pardon any misspellings) from our second stay at the Ali'i, and my family and I couldn't be more satisfied with this property.

First things first -- this hotel sits on a prime stretch of Kaanapali Beach. Directly behind the main body of this complex is a coral/rock free stretch of sand and surf that is kid-friendly. As one migrates just a bit towards the south stretch of adjacent beach, however, the surf becomes more suitable for skim/boogie-boarding and surfing (albeit with more rocks with which to be concerned).

This property, while large, is nowhere near as big as the mega-facilities nearby. The pool area never feels crowded. The halls are hushed. The overall impression is of a more quiet, laid-back resort that really takes visitors away from the hustle and bustle of the crowded adjacent properties.

Staff members are hard-working and friendly. Poolside concierge staff work hard to get food, procure rental equipment (paddle boards, anyone?). The property is centrally located at the mid-section of the beach, such that visitors have easy walking access to restaurants both north and south of the property. Moreover, the units described as "ocean front" are truly ocean front (not situated half a mile back from the sand). We love going to bed with our windows open, getting lulled to sleep by the sound of breaking waves.

In short, I cannot imagine taking my family of six anywhere else to stay. We'll be coming back soon.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom ocean front condo gives you the best sights and sounds for a large family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
23.5 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Address: 50 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaanapali Alii 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing