We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kaanapali Alii to your Saves list
Kaanapali Alii
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights in November. We were quite impressed by the size of the accomodation, large and fully equipped kitchen, laundry room with new front-loading washer and dryer, nicely furnished and comfortable living and dining areas, spacious balconey with table and chairs, two bedrooms, and two bathrooms. It was like we had never left home, except we were in paradise. It is a short walking distance to nearby restaurants and the Whaler's Village shopping complex. I would recommend Leilani's on the Beach for a sunset dinner (reservations recommended). There is no restaurant on site. We bought groceries and made most of our own meals. We used the propane grills down by pool a couple of times. The swimming pools are modest but adequate, and never crowded. The beach in front of the Kaanapali Alii is excellent. It is a 5-minute walk to Black Rock, one of the best snorkeling sites on Maui. There is an excellent, large, very well-equipped fitness center and tennis courts. Massage services are available, although the spa facilities are quite small. The neighboring Westin hotel has a full spa facility.

Two small criticisms: the air conditioning was a little noisy during the night, and the presence of steps (for example, between the bedroom and a bathroom) was sometimes a little hazardous.

In summary, this is a very quiet, relaxing place with all the comforts of home, in one of the best locations in Maui. It is great for families. We definitely plan to stay here again when we return to Maui.

Room Tip: We were happy with our partial ocean view on the fourth floor. I would not recommend a ground level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    86
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
316
106
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

In the heart of Kaanapali Beach! We stayed here based on the Trip Advisor ratings and recommendations and it lived up to expectations. The location was perfect, grounds were beautiful and accomodations pristine, large, comfortable and lovely. We had a 1 bedroom with a 'den'. The den was a second bedroom and had its own bath, which was perfect for my 11 year old. While I didn't cook much in the kitchen, it was so nice to have such a large area to spread out in and perfect for breakfast in the morning, instead of being on top of one another in a hotel room. The pools & beach were beautiful - I can't say enough great things about this place!!

Room Tip: Room 172 was awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Ever since we stayed in at the Alii this August, my 7-year-old daughter has taken to asking "Where's the rest of it?" whenever we stay in another hotel. ;) Our 1-bedroom condo on the 9th floor was bigger than our house! Gorgeously renovated with airy island-themed decor, we could have thrown a party in there. Not that we were looking at the inside, since the view over the pools, beach, ocean and to the tip of Lanai'i took our breath away.

We also couldn't believe the convenience of the location. We walked to the other resorts to sample their snorkeling, strolled a few feet to dig our toes in the sand at the Hula Grill for mai-tais, splashed in the pools and jacuzzis at night until they kicked us out, and made liberal use of the sparkling-clean BBQ facilities to cook dinner at sunset. We also adored driving the quick couple miles to Lahaina for boat day trips, tons of restaurants and a ridiculous number of choices for shave ice cravings. ;)

Really, I can't think of a single complaint. I can't wait to go back. The staff were lovely and helpful, too. Oh, here's one: I wish there was more access to beach/pool towels after-hours. Is that a lame complaint or what? Stay there: you'll feel smart AND happy. ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just returned Friday Nov 9th from a weeks stay at the Kaanapali Ali Rm # 142. Great room, Nicely apointed. Nice quiet place, Good Pools, Great BBQ area, Actually used it 2 of the nights.
Hotel grounds are impecably kept, inside and out. Very friendly staff.
Hotel is in front of one of the best beaches. close to good Restuarants and Entertainment.
Definitely look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Am currently here in unit 442 and its great. We've been coming to the Alii for the past 18 years and by far this unit is now one of our favorites. The view is fantastic and the unit itself is well kept and is obvious the owners take pride in it. The kitchen has lots of 'extras' and higher end stove, fridge and microwave. The 'den area' is an additional bedroom with louvered doors that can be closed for privacy. The bathroom (actually both bathrooms) is updated and have stand alone showers and no bathtub. Would recommend highly recommend this unit. Will be happy to answer any questions.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Am presently in Unit 442 at the Alii, have been coming here for the past 18 years and am very pleased with our unit. It's a one bedroom, oceanview. Couldn't ask for a better view. Unit is updated, loads of kitchen appliances, coffee grinder, blender, etc. The 'den area' is another bedroom with a queen bed in it, sliding louvered doors for privacy and an updated bathroom. Would recommend this unit.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed 6 nights in a 2 bedroom condo and loved it! We have a one year old and brought the grandparents. They had a separate room/bathroom. Lots of space. Pool is kid-friendly. Large TV in bedroom was nice. The gym was also very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Address: 50 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaanapali Alii 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaanapali Alii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.