We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit 442” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kaanapali Alii to your Saves list
Kaanapali Alii
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Receive Up to 20% Off!
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Seattle
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Unit 442”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Am presently in Unit 442 at the Alii, have been coming here for the past 18 years and am very pleased with our unit. It's a one bedroom, oceanview. Couldn't ask for a better view. Unit is updated, loads of kitchen appliances, coffee grinder, blender, etc. The 'den area' is another bedroom with a queen bed in it, sliding louvered doors for privacy and an updated bathroom. Would recommend this unit.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    88
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
318
108
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed 6 nights in a 2 bedroom condo and loved it! We have a one year old and brought the grandparents. They had a separate room/bathroom. Lots of space. Pool is kid-friendly. Large TV in bedroom was nice. The gym was also very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here in February 2010 and loved our unit. It was a 1 bedroom with a den, 2 bathrooms. The view wasn't direct oceanfront, the building was set at an angle to the ocean so we could see both the ocean and the mountains. The best part of the stay was the whale watching. No need to take a whale watching trip, just sit on the lanai or walk out to the beach and watch the show. You couldn't look at the ocean for more than five minutes without seeing a whale spout, breach, or spy hop. Incredible! Walk to black rock for incredible snorkeling and listen to the whales sing while you're snorkeling. Great location, great pools, BBQ area and the beach was gorgeous. Fun trip with our two small girls. Only drawback was the beach was not safe for toddlers. Kids who can swim will have a blast but the waves were too big to leave small kids to splash around on their own.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Since my last visit the the Alii, the owner has again made more upgrades to unit, new living room furniture and flat screen TV that compliment last years complete refurbishment. This ground floor unit is the best location with good ocean views, great sunlight. The friendlly and attentive staff make this property the most relaxing vacation location. I will aways stay at the Alii and always try to request unit # 211.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was a great find! Great location on Kaanapali - surf/play on beach right in front of resort (rentals and lessons available), walk to Whaler's Village, Black Rock. Our room was more than we expected - 1 BR with den included a queen size bed /bath with pocket doors to close out from living room area. Staff was great and helpful. Loved grilling while watching sunset at the beach, and kids play at the pool - staff came to help with grilling if needed and they were VERY clean. Great to be in a condo with kids just to make our own breakfasts, snacks and do a few loads of laundry. We were there during the tsunami warning and all staff was calm and helpful - glad we did not have to evacuate!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on our honeymoon and was upgrade to 2 bedroom partial ocean view. It was beautiful and more than we had every hope for on our first trip to Maui . Located right next to the beach and broad walk . We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This facility far surpassed our expectations both in accommodations and in service. We had a problem with our refrigerator when we arrived and they had someone over and fixed it within 15 minutes. We also had a problem with the dishwasher and they had that fixed within 30 minutes of when we called. These problems were minor in nature and did not affect our vacation. The pool. area had shade that was not there in other facilities near the Alii. I would recommend this condo Facility to anyone and they would not be disappointed in anything.

Room Tip: The oceanfront room we had was great. We asked for and received one of the recently updated condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Address: 50 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaanapali Alii 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaanapali Alii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.