We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another throughly enjoyable condo 211” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaanapali Alii

Save Saved
You added Kaanapali Alii to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Kaanapali Alii
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 hotels in Lahaina
Vail, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another throughly enjoyable condo 211”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Since my last visit the the Alii, the owner has again made more upgrades to unit, new living room furniture and flat screen TV that compliment last years complete refurbishment. This ground floor unit is the best location with good ocean views, great sunlight. The friendlly and attentive staff make this property the most relaxing vacation location. I will aways stay at the Alii and always try to request unit # 211.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    389
    73
    24
    14
    7
See reviews for
265
99
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was a great find! Great location on Kaanapali - surf/play on beach right in front of resort (rentals and lessons available), walk to Whaler's Village, Black Rock. Our room was more than we expected - 1 BR with den included a queen size bed /bath with pocket doors to close out from living room area. Staff was great and helpful. Loved grilling while watching sunset at the beach, and kids play at the pool - staff came to help with grilling if needed and they were VERY clean. Great to be in a condo with kids just to make our own breakfasts, snacks and do a few loads of laundry. We were there during the tsunami warning and all staff was calm and helpful - glad we did not have to evacuate!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on our honeymoon and was upgrade to 2 bedroom partial ocean view. It was beautiful and more than we had every hope for on our first trip to Maui . Located right next to the beach and broad walk . We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This facility far surpassed our expectations both in accommodations and in service. We had a problem with our refrigerator when we arrived and they had someone over and fixed it within 15 minutes. We also had a problem with the dishwasher and they had that fixed within 30 minutes of when we called. These problems were minor in nature and did not affect our vacation. The pool. area had shade that was not there in other facilities near the Alii. I would recommend this condo Facility to anyone and they would not be disappointed in anything.

Room Tip: The oceanfront room we had was great. We asked for and received one of the recently updated condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Spent a week on vacation at this luxury condominium resort which is centrally located on Kaanapali Beach. Beautifully appointed apartment, excellent and friendly service throughout the resort and a most enjoyable stay. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Suggest higher level room to catch best ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Had a room ( ocean view ). Fantastic! Family trip of 14 girls. ( Grandma, daughters, dauterinlaws and granddaughters ) Some stayed here, some next door! Had a great travel agent! ( mauikay.com ) The condo was great and had many a party with all 14 of us!
The pool and the BBQ's we had were so much fun! And Grandma ( my mother-in-law ) had
the time of her life on the 10th floor over looking the ocean!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms looked good. Even the ground floor would be fun, because of the grounds! Try i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our family of 6 has visited the Kaanapali Alii twice within the last three years, the most recent in April of 2012. We enjoy the proximity of the Kaanapali Alli to the beautiful Kaanapali beach and surfing, boogie boarding, and sunbathing. The rooms are luxurious and spacious with full kitchens. Service is excellent.We have stayed in both ocean and mountain view rooms and find the views spectacular. The Kaanapali Alii is within walking distance of restaurants and shopping. We booked both of our stays through Kay Ryan at www.mauikay.com.
Kay is located on Maui and provides excellent service.She does it all- everything from booking flights, hotel, and rental car to scheduling the perfect Maui activities for our family and even hooking us up with someone to purchase groceries for us and have our Alii kitchen stocked with family favorites upon arrival.
Kay made both of our Maui trips perfect!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kaanapali Alii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Alii

Also Known As:
Kaanapali Alii Hotel Lahaina
Kaanapali Alii Hotel
Kaanapali Alii Maui/Lahaina
Address: 50 Nohea Kai Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaanapali Alii 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expansive one and two-bedroom condos range from 1,500 to 1,900 square feet offering one of the finest accommodations on Maui. Each are individually decorated and furnished with all the amenities that you’d expect from a resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Kaanapali Alii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaanapali Alii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.