We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our introduction to Maui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aston at Papakea Resort to your Saves list
Aston at Papakea Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3543 Lower Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Our introduction to Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

First time we went to Maui we stayed here - convenient (just north of Lahaina), great #custserv, clean, great amenities - I highly recommend this place - beautiful grounds too and totally unpretentious. You can hear the waves on the ocean at night as you are steps away, lulls you to sleep. Two pools and hot tubs attached. BBQ's for use. Nice supermarket a few steps away so you can prepare meals. WiFi worked as advertised. Staff were very courteous.

Room Tip: Rooms above the ground floor have better views and breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    279
    95
    60
    33
See reviews for
272
266
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great staff. Clean rooms. Clean pool. Nice mini golf and plenty of BBQ grilles around the pool. Nice landscaping. Make sure your room is not by the elevators, very noisy. Front desk was very helpful on information about attractions.

Room Tip: 2nd floor away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed in room J101 - it was just great. For two people it was roomy, clean, and functional. We didn't mind being on the first floor - we could see the ocean, pool and koi pond. The staff were friendly and helpful. We completely enjoyed our stay! No complaints at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at Papakea for my nieces wedding so a total of 10 units were rented out at papakea.
2 of our rooms were on the ground floor facing the courtyard, farthest from the ocean. These were a little dark, not really any view but were still decent. Some units were on the upper floors a little closer to the ocean and had nice views....all units were a little different depending on the owner and thier tastes! All were nice but some were a little dated. Two of us had units which were "oceanfront" and both of these were absolutely beautiful! Again, each unit is different and some of these have been recently updated and are georgeous....so check out the pictures.
The grounds of Papakea are really quite pretty. It is quiet, clean and there is two large pools so never seems crowded. The beach is nice and the location is great. It is not a luxury resort but great value for a family or group...very laid back which I would prefer to the hustle bustle of a big crowded resort!

Room Tip: wouldn't recommend a ground floor unit unless it is in one of the oceanfront buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Of course we picked this place after comparing rating and websites of other places around. Plus I have friends who went to Hawaii 5 or 6 times. All of them recommended about this place.

My wife and I spent a week in September 2012 in this Resort in a ocean front room. Beautiful location and rooms in an affordable price. Ideal for a family (with kids) vacation as it has full kitchen with all appliances (even washer/ driers) and utensils. Enough sitting arrangements in the living room with excellent view of the pacific :). Furniture were a bit older but clean enough and cozy. We could walk to the water in few steps only. Plus the location is better in term of reaching all the attractions.

Room Tip: Take "Ocean Front" rooms. Not "ocean view" ! Couples -> take 2nd floor or ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in a ocean front 1 bedroom unit which we booked directly through the owner at Home Away. Very reasonable cost. Nice location, near all amenities. Shopping plaza just down the road with grocery store and restaurants. Loved sitting on balcony having breakfast and at sunset. Two good sized pools and top notch gardens. Not directly on beach but a short easy walk. Black Rock is a mile+ down the beach and I would suggest driving. Furnishings and units are slightly outdated but clean and comfortable. Our unit came with all sorts of activity and beach equipment. Great snorkeling in front of unit. We saw several turtles and stingrays.

Room Tip: If you book outside of Aston, you have to deal with the owner to fix any problems with the units. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We just returned from a week long stay at Papakea. I have stayed at this property a long time ago with my family and was worried about returning with my husband after reading some reviews on here. Fortunately, we had a fantastic stay at Papakea and I was reminded of the great value of this resort.

Papakea is a quiet, clean, and well kept condominium resort on a beautiful oceanfront location. Yes, the "good" beach is a five minute walk but it is a scenic and enjoyable walk so this shouldn't be a problem for most. The grounds are extremely well maintained with two beautiful kidney shaped pools, hot tubs, putting greens, shuffle boards, tennis courts, ponds, and tiki torches. It is a family resort so yes there are kids but they are everywhere on Maui!

Upon check in we asked for an upgraded room and were given K301 (one bedroom). This was fantastic because not only was it upgraded, it offered a better ocean view than the garden view we had booked! The upgrades consisted of tiled floor throughout, tiled counters, and a brand new shower. Yes the decor was wicker furniture, shells, and pineapples, but that is part of its Maui charm. There was an ac unit in the main room and my husband and I both felt this was more than sufficient to keep us cool throughout the night.

Service was prompt and friendly. We very much appreciated the free mai tai party on Thursday afternoon :). Maid service was appropriate. They changed the bed linens, towels, and tidied the room but YES you are responsible for cleaning up after your own dishes and laundry which should be anticipated for the price you are paying!!

I would recommend Papakea for families looking for great value in a resort. It has everything you need and is a beautiful property! Another bonus is it is right next door to the Times Market and ABC store, and a short walk from Honokawai farmers market which is very convenient.

Thank you for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#23 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle". This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston at Papakea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.