We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property - hope for good neighbors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Save Saved
You added Aston at Papakea Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston at Papakea Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3543 Lower Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF FALL TRAVEL
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful property - hope for good neighbors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The grounds are beautiful and the sunsets first rate. Views of Lanai and Molokai. There is a rock wall and no beach but you can use the beach right next door. The sand is fine but once entering the water there is a lot of dead coral. Not the best for swimming. Room satisfaction is luck of the draw. You can try to call and request an updated unit. But updated is a general term. These are owner condos not time shares. Ours had a washer/dryer, older but fine appliances, two beds and baths, some oversized furniture, but old showers. The tub showers constantly backed up because of the extra small hair filters. Another group in our party had a walk in tile shower, upgraded tv, etc. Our unit had an old a/c unit in the living area that blew cold air on the sofa instead of dispersing it throughout the unit. Leaving it running all night with ceiling fans was sufficient. The reason the a/c is needed is that this side of the island is hot and dry and the windows to the bedrooms back up to walkways or worse, parking lots. Even closed, the sound comes right through. Our room was right in front of the check in room. This should have been a disaster but mostly everyone was very respectful about noise. The other group in our party had quiet neighbors for all but the last day. Then they had noisy neighbors sledding over the newly seeded golf course. Parents just as bad as their kids. Most people were very nice though. I liked the bottom units because the walk out area was handy. Restaurant next door was great for sunsets and the food was good.

Room Tip: Updated room
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    268
    90
    59
    30
See reviews for
263
253
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Papakea 6/15/13-6/22/13 for our 15th anniversary and would not make the same mistake again.

The good:
1) Grounds and landscaping are nice.
2) Place goes to sleep at 10:00 pm… good if you have kids.
3) No smoking Resort
4) Dave and Suzanne were helpful from the resort staff.
5) Expedia presentation for local excursions.
5) Grocery store in walking distance.
6) Java Jazz in walking distance for food and coffee...best part of our stay in the area.

The Bad:
1) No AC in bedroom (1 old AC unit in living room opposite end of bedroom).
2) Bedroom windows opened at night for breeze is on the main walkway.
2) Notes left by owners of Do's and Don'ts.
3) Unit C309 was outdated.
4) If you are a smoker you must go to parking lot to smoke.
5) No Beach, sure you can use the one next door but it's full of rocks.
6) Interval International guest will be handed the worst room, we were given ground floor next to walk for parking area. We upgraded to ocean view and were placed right next to construction work zone. When we questioned the location we were informed that’s all that was available.
7) Charged tax at check out even though it was a resort exchange.

Thankfully we came to experience Maui and all its wonder and stayed away from the resort for hours on end. We were reminded the units are privately owned on a few occasions...certain owners should not rent or exchange if additional rules are listed above and beyond standard resort criteria’s...like staying at my grandparents’ home.
Overall, Maui was breathtaking and when leaving the resort each day was like an escape.

I agree with reviewer “Maui Dreams Come True Unit C-208: not good for honeymoons”.
We vacation twice a year and have stayed in resorts all over the Caribbean and my stay at Papakea Resort was by far my worst experience

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The ocean front studio room was perfect and beautiful! The staff were nice and helpful. The resort is very close to a shopping center and an ABC store, all within walking distance. I will definitely stay here again!! Aloha and Mahalo!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our travel agent had booked 2 rooms both with 2 x single beds. These were for a mother and her adult son and 2 widows.
It was disappointing that when we arrived the 2 rooms had 1 x double bed and 1 x pull out sofa bed. It took 2 men to pull out the sofa bed and put it in place, in the middle of the lounge room!!! Needless to say it stayed that way for the 5 nights we had there.

We contacted our travel agent who said she had emailed the resort with this requirement, however the front desk at the resort said they did not received the email.

A staff member told me later each unit is individually owned and furnished by the owner, and recommended that next time we book direct with owners where we can see pictures of the rooms.

We were also surprised that a $15 levy per room per night was required.

Room Tip: Do not assume your bedding arrangements are as booked. Check with the resort first before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at Papakea for our honeymoon. We had a nice ocean view, the unit was older but the upkeep was fine. The resort itself has a nice pool, sea wall, putting greens and shuffle board. There is a sandy beach right next door, a 1 minute walk. Across the street from the resort there is a grocery store, subway and a couple small restaurants. Lahaina is less then 10 minutes away and Kapalua is the same. The resort is affordable, the staff is fantastic, the palce is pretty quiet and I would stay here again. The beaches around the Papakea are good fro kids as the waves are not huge like they are by Makena. We loved our stay and cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: we stayed in H302, it wasnt air conditioned but there was a nice breeze always blowing through so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This resort would have been good if construction was not being done. The weekend was good but Monday till Friday was loud and the worst time for someone trying to relax. Please call any hotel to see if they are doing construction. They had nothing on their website stating anything about construction or at least nothing that stood out for me to know. So much for a nice Hawaii vacation. This place would have be good if not for the noise. I have learned a good lesson before booking a vacation. When I complained about this all I got was sorry and nothing else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue mountains
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I'm a little behind on my reviews, so I'll disclose that we stayed here for 10 days in mid-December 2012. We stayed in K-301 next to bldg L overlooking the Loud Pool - the one that is for kids/families. To simplify, I'm going to list the pros and cons for a couple on a romantic getaway.
Pro: Nice staff, beautiful grounds, K-301 had an ocean view (over the loud pool - see cons), good general Lahaina location, washer/dryer in this unit, big and roomy 1 bedrom unit, air-conditioning in living room (also see cons), reasonable price.
Cons: LOUD. This 'resort' is a big family hangout, so if you want to take your group on a value vacation and don't plan on getting much relaxation, this might be for you. Lots of kids, lots of screaming, lots of party time at the pool until 10:00 p.m.
No restaurant on site, but a full kitchen is - saves money, but somebody's going to have to cook and clean. Our unit had maid service, but not for doing dishes.
Another LOUD - construction. Seems like this is an ongoing theme, so you probably won't know which units are affected by the Noise during 'business hours.'
Comfort: Our unit looks nice at first, but the furniture is uncomfortable. The couch cushions kept slipping off and the bed was rock hard.
There is air conditioning in the living room, but it doesn't reach in to the bedroom, so sleeping was Hot, even though there is an overhead fan.
We spent our days beach hopping around Lahaina (really loved the beach by the Ritz) and came back after dinner each night but still had to contend with the Loud pool kids until 10:00 p.m. Very annoying.
Pools: There is another pool on the other side of the resort that is suppose to be for adults (there were some kids there when we went, but they were well behaved.) This pool is on the cool side and the pool that our unit overlooked is much warmer - maybe because...hmmmm. We only went in it once. Much too crazy busy, and did I mention Loud?
We spent our last 3 days at Makena and had a relaxing and beautiful time there.
Sorry - we won't choose Aston Papakea again - it's not for us.

Room Tip: Get an Ocean Front room - I hear the loud waves block out the Loud People
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#23 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle". This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston at Papakea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.