We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy-going and low key” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Save Saved
You added Aston at Papakea Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston at Papakea Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3543 Lower Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Easy-going and low key”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We found a great package deal with flight and lodging in early December. When we checked in, we were upgraded from a studio to a one-bedroom. Our room was on the first floor and was clean and neat. There are grocery stores nearby, a coffee shop and Subway and other little eateries, shops across the street. We either went out to eat or grilled steaks by the pool. No restaurant or servers at the pool, but that was ok since we saved a few bucks by just making our own drinks to bring to the pool. No real beach to lay on, instead you can pull a lounge chair right next to the ocean. When we did want to go lay on the beach or snorkel, we took a car for a quick drive up to the Sheraton and hung out there for the day. The people at the front desk were very nice and easy to talk to. One day my room key wouldn't work and they figured out that the battery in the lock was burned out. They had it fixed for me quickly. I would hope if you go to Maui you are going to explore and enjoy the beauty of the island, so who needs a super fancy room? The TV was pretty small...and the fact that our room was at the corner of a building, you could hear people walking past/talking after we went to bed because the windows above the bed don't shut. Other than that, I'd go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    270
    261
    87
    58
    30
See reviews for
255
247
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We just returned from our second trip in a year to Maui! This time we stayed at Papakea -- we rented a privately owned condo through VRBO (Vertual Rental By Owner). This is the least expensive way to rent units. I cannot speak for the units owned by Aston, but the unit we had , in Building G was very nice...clean, comfortable, and a great view! (A relative rented a different unit, and it had been completely gutted and renovated...a huge differnce, and beautiful.)
Papakea, is in a good location in that it has a small mall across the road with a large grocery store that is open every day. We often walked over just before dinner to pick up steaks, chicken, or chops to BBQ on one of the 6 BBQ's around the pool. There are few take out restaurants close by, all really good.
You can walk for several miles down the coast along the coastal boardwalk, and along the way stop for coffee, lunch, or Happy Hour. Take the same boardwalk to yur choice of beaches, (or drive and park at public parking areas if you have too much gear). We went to one Happy Hour, and were very dissapointed with truly awful watered down drinks (watered down is expected, but poorly made was not). However; we were delighted to discover the Ka'anapali Beach resort (2 doors down), had Happy Hour every night in the bar, and thought the drinks were watered down, they were very good.
Papakea is quiet, and the grounds are very well kept up. I was impressed to see that all the BBQ's were cleaned every morning as were the pools and grounds. We did not have much contact with the resort staff other than check in and check out, and that was all perfectly good - polite and professional. I would difinitely recommend Papakea through a private condo rental.
The sun sets every night over the ocean, and it is almost always beautiful. It is different every night, and if you are lucky there will be a rainbow as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have been staying at this resort and booking with this company for over ten years. Papakea is a beautiful spot. It is centrally located to all the major attractions, fine restaurants, great golf courses and magnificent beaches. We always book our Maui Vacations with Maui Dreams Come True because they are very knowledgeable about the property and the surrounding area. They are always very pleasant, reliable and attentive to our needs and provide an excellent rate for a premium establishment. We shall continue to stay at Papakea for our Maui Holidays and continue to make our bookings with Maui Dreams Come True. An excellent choice.

Room Tip: Request a condo on the third floor overlooking the pool and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, AK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

quiet place, great to relax,
not too much activates on site.
you cant use ocean to swim, but its a beautiful view.
they charge facility fee on top of the price i already paid through hotwire.
but overall happy with the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had an ocean front condo in building L, great view but if you are not use to hearing waves hitting the shore it can be a lil loud. Wish our condo was updated, would have enjoyed the stay a little more. The grounds are well maintained nice pool and jacuzzi area with bbq's, perfect for a family vacation. 10 min drive to La Haina. Only regret is using Maui Grocery Service to have groceries delivered to our condo. TOO expensive, we arrived to the resort to find out there is a grocery store within a 3 min walk. The price we paid for the food through Maui Grocery Service was way over-priced. Walk 3 mins and save your money. Papakea was an ok resort over all, next time we will spend extra money for nicer condos.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Papakea was fine!! The landscaping was exceptional and the pools and hot tubs were clean and well maintained. Our room was a loft in building D. the room was adequate but really outdated with old appliances and K Mart art on the walls. THe air conditioner was really noisy !!
I am not sure why we are charged a 10.00 fee to use the facilities after paying nearly 300.00 a night!!! Very petty!!! Overall --- the Papakea was okay but I would probably shop around for a better deal if we come to Maui in the future!!!

Room Tip: When booking, ask for a recently renovated room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Beautiful grounds & beautiful room. Granite in kitchen & bathroom, very well mantained 1 bedroom unit. I really loved having a full kitchen, it is a money saver & so relaxing to have breakfast on the balcony looking at the ocean every morning!! The in unit washer/dryer were a bit smaller than a normal home washer & dryer, but it was great to have in the room! Was able to do a few loads to have clean laundry before I headed to oahu! I only had an ocean view room, & it was very nice, but I do regret not spending more & getting the ocean front room (live & learn).
The grounds are very pretty & well maintained. Staff is helpful. There was a tsunami evacuation while I was there and the front desk was helpful in passing out evacuation route maps & advising us where to go.
The property has 2 pools, one of which is heated, which is very nice as I am very sensitive to cold waters. Each pool area has a larg hot tub/jacuzzi,which I did not try because it was just too hot for me, but they are very clean & taken care of. There were a few families using the pool & the bbq's at the pool areas, but all of the guests there were very respectful of eachother, parents kept their kids very well mannered & behaved which is much appreciated! All in all, this property is very quiet, which is what most of us want when visiting Maui!
The only real negative is that there is no beach at this hotel. But there is a wall with a grassy lawn with lawn chairs available to sit & look at the ocean & Lanai in the distance. The lack of access to a swimable beach is really the only reason that I would probably find a different property to stay at next time. There are other beaches accessable near by, I just want one right in front of my hotel.
Also,The main living space does have AC, but the bedroom does not have air conditioning, which can make it a bit uncomfortable trying to sleep, but there is a ceiling fan. Also no TV in the bedroom.
I did get a little lost on the way to the hotel because the sign out front was so small that I didn't see it at all, so if you are driving keep a close eye out for a small sign!
I will definately stay at another Aston property as I always do when traveling in Hawaii. I have never had a negative experience with Aston. The resort fee can be annoying if you don't use their dvd's/games, but really, just calculate it into the room price and you are still getting a bargan for these properties!
All in all, this is a great hotel at a great price!!

Room Tip: Pick an ocean front room if you can afford it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#23 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle". This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston at Papakea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.