We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and good costumer service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston at Papakea Resort

Save Saved
You added Aston at Papakea Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston at Papakea Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3543 Lower Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing views and good costumer service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011 via mobile

We were very happy with this resort. We stayed in a one bedroom then switched to a two bedroom when our other guest arrived. Both rooms were spacious and had amazing views of the garden or the ocean. Both our rooms had a full size kitchen and came equipped with a washer and dryer. For a long stay (10days) this was definitely convient. However you will need to purchase your own laundry soap.

The ocean views are GREAT, but the beach directly behind the resort is not super (not a big sandy area, especial during high tide). They do have a great grass area with beach chairs right against the ocean though.

The costumer service was very good, they were more than accomidating with early/late check in/check out.

There are several restaurants, a coffe shop and grocery store within walking distance.

There is also a great concierge service through Expedia in the lobby. If you are interested in booking trips or getting some inside knowledge Andrea is amazing!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    270
    261
    87
    58
    30
See reviews for
255
247
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hope, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed in room D301 - Owned by Vacation Internationale. It is a one bedroom with a Murphy Bed in the living room. Appliances are newer and the place is in good shape.
I would rate this resort and room as a clean 2 star resort. One pain was that when we arrived at Papakea, we were advised that they could not check us in as we were with Vacation Internationale so we had to go a mile or 3 down the road to the Valley Isle to check in. Check in was slow and painful. There really is no beach to speak of at this resort. No restaurant, no bar. The 2 pools and 2 hot tubs were adequate. There are a dozen Webber Bar B Ques on site and they really did work well. If you can afford to stay at the Marriott or equivelant, I would recommend it

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed in a studio recently at Papakea and was fairly underwhelmed. The studio unit I had was pretty clean, the bed was horrible, the bathroom was old, and the furniture (what there was of it) probably looked good in 1985.

On the other hand, Papakea is a decent family resort in the Kaanapali area and I would consider booking here again. Next time, however, I would not book in a Studio as these seem to be directed to the more budget conscious traveler. What I could see from the common areas is that the 1BR and 2BR units seem to have been updated and looked pretty nice.

Room Tip: Avoid the studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Our stay at the Aston at Papakea Resort was everything we could ask for in a honeymoon suite. Well, okay, I would ask for one more thing: more time there to actually enjoy the resort itself! We stayed in room A-302, which was incredibly well-decorated and was right in front of ocean. We liked the A building because it was the more exclusive of the buildings in the resort, with less foot traffic in front of our porch. Alas, we showed up too early in the season to see whales in the ocean, but if any of you are fortunate to come during prime time whale watching season you should be able to see plenty!

We didn't get a chance to utilize the tennis courts or (even more sadly) the shuffleboard areas (if you haven't played shuffleboard you're missing out in life!), but they looked great! We did utilize the free DVD rentals, which was really convenient and appreciated during the very rainy/windy parts of the trip, when everything else we had booked was canceled or rescheduled. The service was great at the front desk too. And we loved looking at the beautiful coy ponds on the grounds! All and all, a fun-tastic stay and perfect place for a honeymoon!

Room Tip: A, F, L buildings are Ocean front. We chose a higher floor for more privacy and a better ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed for 10 nights in Unit H202. The grounds and condo were beautiful, clean and safe and located right on the beach. The condo was supplied with a full kitchen that assisted in keeping the our food budget under control. There were five barbecues located at our pool area, that were in great working order and were very popular. A grocery store is located across the street from the complex.
Two downsides - #1 - our condo unit was located right beside a stair case that was very busy and noisy. #2 - the beach is not condusive for lounging or beach walking. I would not recommend it for beginner swimmers/snorkelers, there is a very strong current and a lot of reef.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I researched many hotels/resorts in Maui to spend 6 of the 8 nights during my Maui trip (Dec 4th - 12th). I decided to stay the first 2 nights in Hana and then was looking for a resort in the Kannapali area.
After reading through most of the reviews here, I decided to give this a chance. i booked for a Oceanfront studio using my Delta skymiles. The only hitch I had was at check in, when I was offered a oceanview studio instead of an ocean front. After showing them proof of reservation which stated ocean front, they agreed to give an ocean front studio (F-203).
The studio was just as the pictures on their website. The bed was cozy and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped. The daily maid service was prompt and good. However, the best part was the Lanai and the views. The lanai was huge with the ocean right in front (since this does not have a beach directly in front, the ocean was very close). The sound of the crashing waves was amazing. Sunset from the lanai was sublime. We ended up spending a lot of time in the lanai (nice lounger and chairs in lanai).
The grounds of the resort was excellent. Pools were good, which we did not end up using much. The mini golf was a nice add-in. DVD rental was a nice feature too.
The beach started right next door which great. Overall, this was a great resort. I would recommend this resort for anyone (couples or with small children). Let me know if you have any questions and I would be glad to answer.
On another note, do try to stay atleast a night in Hana. If you dont, you will truly miss something spectacular.

Room Tip: Book an ocean front room. Its awesome. Try and ask for F-203.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed at Papakea for only one night in unit K405. All the units are individually owned and then serviced by Aston. The unit was spacious and well equipped in the kitchen and baths. Beds were comfortable and we had an ocean view. The resort has 2 pools and some recreation. It is on the beach with plenty of chairs, etc. The neighborhood has a few small stores and restaurants within walking distance and there is ample parking.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#23 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle". This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston at Papakea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.