We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good resort, a great restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Save Saved
You added Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Prepay & Save - from $152
Ranked #16 of 28 hotels in Lahaina
Victoria
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“a good resort, a great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Although currently renovating their lobby the resort is still very relaxing and a wonderful place to spend a week or two. We didn't notice any noise from the construction but we were in the villas and not the main building. Our unit was recently redone and it was very comfortable and well equipped. The pools on the property are excellent and the beach is great. The restaurant is outstanding. The Castaway is an island gem. The food is local and fresh. The wine list and its pricing is amazing and the staff are superb. Even if you stay somewhere else this restaurant is worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    281
    73
    54
    30
See reviews for
254
265
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

before I booked our trip, I researched most of the hotels on the west end of Maui. Maui Kaanapali Villas seemed to stand out for me, as it seemed so charming in the pictures. Actually it is. We loved everything about this place.
Even though they are renovating right now, it did not bother us. We could not hear any noise. But then we were gone most of the day.
We had a 1 bedroom suite that was newly renovated, and it was very nice .Coconut building, room 266. The king size bed was very comfortable. The lanai overlooked the smaller swimming pool that we used everyday. The grounds are immaculate. They provided complementry coffee in the lobby in morning which was nice. And then Joe , who works frount desk, if he was not busy always had time to chat.
We had a wonderful stay here, and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

We LOVE the Kaanapali Villas!!!!! There was not a single employee that did not say hello (ALOHA) when we passed by, especially Joe at the front desk, all security, Juliette the maid, and even Richard the lawn mower and all maintenance workers. Our room was excellent and provided us with everything we needed. The Castaways restaurant is one of our FAVORITE on the island. Wayne, the bartender is TOP NOTCH along with Jules and Abba. The food (especially wine list) is exactly what we love.... ALL our favorites. We give all restaurant employees a 10!! The people we have met around the bar have become friends that we see year after year. NEVER a problem finding a chaise lounge like most hotels. We will continue to visit the Kaanapali Villas each and every year!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

I hate to tell everyone how much I love this property because they will start booking the condos that I want to book. I found my condo on VRBO. My 5th trip to Maui and the best property for many reasons. 1. wonderful beach with sandy bottom so you can swim! 2. great snorkeling beach about 100 yards to the right and Black Rock to the left a short walk away. 3. quiet at night 4. restaurant on premises 5. easy access to Lahaina, Kapalua, and trolley to the Whaler's village

I have stayed in the Hyatt and other properties. But coming back over Labor day 2010 to stay here again. We had family that stayed at the Hyatt but they hung out with us at our condo in Kaanapali Villas.
The laid back ambiance, wonderful beach, and large accommodations are great value for the money. Also the views! Wonderful mountain view on one side, and great ocean view with Lanai and Molokai visible.

Grocery stores nearby and Westin property next door has a little grocery store if you don't want to drive to the grocery store.

Please find another place to stay..... I want this one to myself.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

The Villas is a fantastic place for people who want to go and relax. The rooms are spacious, the beach is right their. The Pools are nice. Castaway Cafe is open from 7:30 - 9:00. We had an amazing time. The Kaanapali trolly picks you up every 1/2 hour and takes you into Whalers Village, where you can catch the Maui bus to go into Lahina and go shopping or shop at Whalers Villiage. We had the most amazing time here and we definately will be going back next year.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Good resort that they are in the process of improving but be warned the main building is under construction and will be for months. Noisy from 8am to 4:30pm weekdays so there will be no napping. Most of the one bedrooms are in this main tower so they will put you in a 'loft' instead (and call it a one bedroom) in one of the smaller buildings which doesn't work with young kids. No discount offered so I will complain here instead. They will not warn you about this.
Should be a great value once complete but prices will likely be hiked up.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway , New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

Still here for 2 more nights. The studio garden view is absolutely gorgeous. Clean, great view of smaller pool. Love the tiki torches each night, all over the property. This owner really did a great job decorating, wood floors and tile, real sweet , instead of rug. Being a motel owner myself I'm a little picky. Now the disappointing part. On day 1 we did not need housekeeping so we put the privacy sign up. On day 2 we needed at least a change of towels. We put the SERVICE please sign in the key slot at 9am. At 5:30 I called to ask if the maids were done. They said they were done by 4:30 each day. I mentioned the towels could become an issue. The front desk offered to send some up. We returned at 9PM to find still no clean towels, I called again. Someone did come up 10 min. later. Being a motel owner, we would of cleaned the room ourselves within 1 hour, if my maid had missed it. It has happened to us only once in 5 years of ownership. Guess it was just not my lucky day at a beautiful resort in paradise.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Also Known As:
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Hotel
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Maui Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Hotel
Kaanapali Villas
Maui Kaanapali Villas
Resortquest Kaanapali Villas
Resortquest Maui
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Lahaina
Address: 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This may be Kaanapali's finest beachfront setting. Resting amid 11 acres of exotic tropical gardens in the heart of the Kaanapali Resort area, the resort has an on-site water activity center, two newly-renovated pool areas and a free shuttle to Kaanapali Resort area shopping and activities. The poolside cafe features island cuisine accompanied by an expansive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Aston Hotels & Resorts, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.