We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Week in Paradise at the Maui Aston Kaanapali Villas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Save Saved
You added Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Week in Paradise at the Maui Aston Kaanapali Villas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have just spent 6 of my 8 days here at the Aston Kaanapali Villas. My room is in the tower on the 2nd floor, but even so, I still have a lovely ocean view from my Lanai. The room is very nice and large for this type of hotel. I have a fully furnished kitchen with nice granite counters and comfortable living space. The room is very clean and the grounds are immaculate. The pool and hot tub are wonderful but when one of the best beaches in Maui is on your doorstep it is hard to steer your way to the pool! The only drawback to the resort is the lack of resort activities. I came here for some much needed relaxation and that is exactly what I got. All I required was the exquisite beach, the warm ocean breezes, the Swaying palm trees, and the occasional Mai Tai from the Castaway bar. Some folks may require a bit more than that though. I have very much enjoyed my stay here and look forward to bringing my family with me on my next visit.

Room Tip: I liked staying in the tower. It is not located near the pool but the rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    362
    287
    74
    55
    30
See reviews for
262
277
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have stayed at this property many times and are booked to return. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The amenities include an excursion desk, a small store, a water sport activities and equipment rental, an onsite restaurant with good basic food and a bar with super friendly staff. The grounds and pool are beautiful, clean and well kept. The sandy beach out front is quiet and good for swimming, relaxing or whale watching. The hotel has cooking facilities in every room (I think) and beautiful BBQ areas set up around the property for guest use. We have always had a privately owned room, managed by the hotel; all have been updated and well maintained, we have enjoyed seeing and staying in the individually decorated rooms. The location on the strip is one of the main reasons we go to Kaanapali. Walking (or Trolley) distance to Whalers Village shopping area, the big hotels and a huge variety of restaurants is a huge draw We also enjoy exercising at the local park, and running and walking along the water. Whether we are visiting as couple or a family we stop at Costco, stock the fridge and relax.

Room Tip: request an updated room with the bed configuration you desire If you want an ocean view ask to be o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

The property grounds are well groomed, rooms clean and with plenty of space. The staff is friendly and help making our stay special.

The location great for exploring the entire island, but if you're looking to relax at the beach this property has everything you need; good dining onsite, a nicely stocked market and a great beach for relaxing. A short swim up the beach is a nice reef filled with fish and giant sea turtles.

After a day at the beach relax by the pool, have a drink at the bar or have a game of shuffle board.

The rooms have large decks for enjoying the evening sunset, full kitchens if you want to prepare so local fish (BBQ's) are located near each building, dining table to seat four, comfortable living room, beds and large bathroom with seperate dressing area, doublesinks, large closest with a safe.

If you're looking for a full service property to relax on the beach and swim with turtles MKV is ideal. Or if you want to go explore Maui MKV is also perfect because its close to local shopping, dining, golf or sports fishing.

Tony .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnySoCAL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at this property late May/early June. We got very good rates through American Airlines. At first, I was apprehensive about staying here again; because when we stayed at this property 4 years ago, we got a unit that was very outdated and the bed was really uncomfortable. This time, however, our room experience was much different. (I wish I could remember the unit #. We would absolutely stay there again.)
We had what was called a "garden view," but our balcony view was of the parking lot nearby the front of the hotel. We didn't mind, because our child had so much fun watching people come and go in their cars, as she ate breakfast. It was not noisy at all despite cars coming & going throughout the day.

PROS:
1. Great location. Beach in front of the hotel was very swimmable & water was calm. We loved not having to get in our car to go to a swimmable beach. And the best part was that the beach was not crowded at all.
2. Beautiful, remodeled unit. We had all the amenities we needed; and were able to have breakfast and lunch at "home"- which saved us alot of $$$.
3. Kid friendly pools, that we utilized ALOT.
4. Employees are very friendly & helpful, as is the concierge.
5. Beautifully, well-kept grounds and premises

CONS:
1. Wish there were more eateries on the premises. (The Castaway Cafe was overpriced for what you got.)

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a remodeled unit. Not all units are made the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We took a long weekend for Christmas to Maui and were not disappointed. I booked the room through vrbo.com and it was an absolutely beautiful one bedroom suite on the second floor. Castaways was excellent and happy hour is the time to go. Food good there too. We had a great view of pool and ocean and this resort was in great location for getting around the island. Loved it. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the beach are nice but smaller than the ones in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Nice location, casual relaxed feel - pleasant experience. But when you book your accomodation in Mid December 2012 for late May 2013, you don't expect to roll up and find that you are shunted to an inferior room and that you can't unpack or relax as you'll have to move again the nest day. Yes we had a refund of the difference, but its not a good start. Apart from that, its a good base to explore Maui. Conceirge and in house booking service was good and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatFlinn, General Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Aloha-
Thank you for your feedback and also for taking the time to additionally correspond with me directly. It really helps us to indentify and resolve issues. I would also like to thank you for your kind comments about the property and the staff. I want to apologize that we were not able to deliver the room you were expecting. While I am glad to know we took steps to offset this disappointment, it would have been better for all involved if we had delivered it as expected. I look forward to your next visit and encourage you to contact me directly so we can make sure we have all the details straight.
Mahalo
Pat Flinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The majority of the property only has 2 stories allowing you to get away from that typical city skyscraper type hotel and get that Hawaiian feel. The main building does have more floors for those who seek that. Each condo unit is quite different. Some may be somewhat dated and some are nicely renovated. The grounds are well maintained and has 2 pools. The beach is steps away. Go see Pat for Mai Tai Wednesday between 3:30 and 4:30 and be entertained by a local Hawaiian musician while you sip your drink. If it's a lavish hotel you seek then this is not the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Address: 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This may be Kaanapali's finest beachfront setting. Resting amid 11 acres of exotic tropical gardens in the heart of the Kaanapali Resort area, the resort has an on-site water activity center, two newly-renovated pool areas and a free shuttle to Kaanapali Resort area shopping and activities. The poolside cafe features island cuisine accompanied by an expansive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Maui Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Hotel
Maui Kaanapali Villas
Resortquest Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.