We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Save Saved
You added Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off with #AstonLife
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We took a long weekend for Christmas to Maui and were not disappointed. I booked the room through vrbo.com and it was an absolutely beautiful one bedroom suite on the second floor. Castaways was excellent and happy hour is the time to go. Food good there too. We had a great view of pool and ocean and this resort was in great location for getting around the island. Loved it. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the beach are nice but smaller than the ones in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    361
    284
    73
    55
    31
See reviews for
265
279
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Nice location, casual relaxed feel - pleasant experience. But when you book your accomodation in Mid December 2012 for late May 2013, you don't expect to roll up and find that you are shunted to an inferior room and that you can't unpack or relax as you'll have to move again the nest day. Yes we had a refund of the difference, but its not a good start. Apart from that, its a good base to explore Maui. Conceirge and in house booking service was good and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatFlinn, General Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Aloha-
Thank you for your feedback and also for taking the time to additionally correspond with me directly. It really helps us to indentify and resolve issues. I would also like to thank you for your kind comments about the property and the staff. I want to apologize that we were not able to deliver the room you were expecting. While I am glad to know we took steps to offset this disappointment, it would have been better for all involved if we had delivered it as expected. I look forward to your next visit and encourage you to contact me directly so we can make sure we have all the details straight.
Mahalo
Pat Flinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The majority of the property only has 2 stories allowing you to get away from that typical city skyscraper type hotel and get that Hawaiian feel. The main building does have more floors for those who seek that. Each condo unit is quite different. Some may be somewhat dated and some are nicely renovated. The grounds are well maintained and has 2 pools. The beach is steps away. Go see Pat for Mai Tai Wednesday between 3:30 and 4:30 and be entertained by a local Hawaiian musician while you sip your drink. If it's a lavish hotel you seek then this is not the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Located right on one of the best beaches in the world, this is a more affordable option than many of the other resorts that share that real estate, but this place has just about all of the same frills as the others. The staff was nice, the rooms were spacious and comfy with fully stocked kitchens, and it was close to all the great attractions in the area.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view in the towers, do it, but the suites on the ground are nice too an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Whereas the inner hotel grounds have all to make this a nice property, the street side creates a cheap motel feel. The pool and beach are great. Some of the staff made us feel as if we should be thankful we could stay there. Household services are a joke.
We were unaware that smoking was not allowed on the large balcony of our room which was open on 3 sides. Apparently someone on a higher floor had complained to the management because we received a rather rude phone call from the hotel staff two mornings in a row. Upon check out we were charged USD 150 "Smoke Elimination Fee". I fully understand that smoking in a non-smoking room would incur costs to remove the smell. But how can the hotel charge for costs to eliminate smoke from an open air area? I asked the receptionist and he said it was a fine. Now, as far as I know, a hotel can charge for damage, but cannot slap customers with fines.
I would recommend anyone wishing to stay in this area to look for hotels left and right of the Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas and give this one a berth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatFlinn, General Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Aloha-
Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback on your stay. I would also like to say mahalo for the positive comments you made about our property. I would like to apologize for the challenges with communicating the smoking information about our property. Our property is a smoke free property with designated smoking areas and this should have been presented in a straight forward and easy to understand format. Clearly, we were not successful in communicating this info and I am sorry for the confusion this caused. I hope you will try our resort again if you return to Maui.

Mahalo
Pat Flinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The resort itself is very nice. Great location. Pool is great. Grounds are nice. The beach is awesome. They just gave us the most horrible room in the whole resort. The AC never worked, the toilet kept malfunctioning, the sink would back up. All of this happened on the first day. The front desk hardly answered the phone. And they always seemed annoyed. They were supposed to move us but never did. We made the most of it. We were in Maui after all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatFlinn, General Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Aloha-
Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to provide our team with feedback on your stay. We review critical responses as a group and discuss how we can use this information to improve our delivery of services. I especially would like to thank you for
corresponding directly with me on some of the specifics. I am glad to here that you your holiday was enjoyable overall. I hope that you will contact me personally so I can assist with your next visit to our resort.
Mahalo
Pat Flinn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We couldn't ask for more at the Villas. We booked a studio with garden view, but we ended up with a room with a partial ocean view! What a treat! The room was clean and the kitchen was ideal. We used the kitchen for breakfast and lunch, which saved us a lot of $. The grounds are well kept and we had a pool adjacent to our room. Few people used this pool because most were at the main pool by the bar. Thus, we practically had the pool to ourselves almost every day. The little restaurant within the property was very good. The beach was within a 5 minute walking distance from our room. Parking was also very convenient. Overall, great clean, quiet, beautiful place to be and great location, with easy access to food and ocean. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Great room: studio 256 in the Coconut Building. The second pool of the complex is right next door a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Address: 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This may be Kaanapali's finest beachfront setting. Resting amid 11 acres of exotic tropical gardens in the heart of the Kaanapali Resort area, the resort has an on-site water activity center, two newly-renovated pool areas and a free shuttle to Kaanapali Resort area shopping and activities. The poolside cafe features island cuisine accompanied by an expansive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Maui Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Hotel
Maui Kaanapali Villas
Resortquest Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.