We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great condo, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Save Saved
You added Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Missoula
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great condo, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a little over a week with our 2 children (3 and 6). Our friends and their children stayed in an adjacent condo. Each unit is individually owned and then rented out by Aston. So, there may be some minor differences between units. However, all the units managed by Aston have been renovated within the past year. We rented a 1-bedroom garden view unit and ended up with a surprise ocean view (unit 254, Coconut building). The bedroom was in the loft with a king bed which was comfortable. There was a small half bath upstairs as well although not all units have this. The main living area was spacious with a couch bed. The kitchen was nice with granite counters, stainless steel appliances, all the necessary dishes, utensils, etc. Main bath was large with double sinks and a nice big tub/shower combo. Carpet appeared to be new. Some of the finishes (door handles, baseboards, paint) were not as high end as more expensive places but everything was clean and functional. The lanai was spacious and had a nice table and seating for four. We watched whales play right from the lanai.

There were 2 pools, both beautiful and well maintained. Always plenty of seats around the pool. Kids loved both of the pools. There were other families with children staying here but the majority of the guests and owners seemed to be older couples. They seemed to enjoy having the children around and we always felt very welcome. The upside of the particular demographics is that the resort was peaceful and calm and the pools were never crowded. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. Easy access to Kaanapali beach which is gorgeous although not the best swimming for young children. Better opportunities exist south of Lahaina for easy swimming. The free Kaanapali trolley serves this resort and many other key spots on Kaanapali beach. On site laundry facilities are a real bonus. We frequently used the nice BBQs on site as well to cook dinner. As an aside, the fruit stand across the road has fresh local fruit daily.

We received excellent service from the front desk staff and housekeepers. Overall, a perfect place for our family and a great value for our money. Would certainly stay again!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    362
    287
    74
    55
    30
See reviews for
262
277
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Osoyoos, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were guests of this property for two weeks in February/March, 2012. I see by the reviews of February 2013(especially the review by the folks from Edmonton) that things have not changed much. The grungy, dirty rooms are still happening. We were promised last year by the manager that things would change but obviously, they have not. I sincerely cannot recommend this resort to anybody as our Maui holiday was spoilt last year by this property. The whole experience was a huge disappointment! Beware if you choose to go there, we trusted that we would have a great time in a great place but it did not happen.

Room Tip: Travellers should not need a tip to choose a good room. All rooms at the MVK should be good rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatFlinn, General Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Aloha,
I was very disappointed to read your review. I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to apologize for the experience you had here. I would be very pleased if you would contact me back so I can find out more about your stay and the room challenges that you experienced. I would especially like to know what room you stayed in. The Aston team manages the majority of the units on property, but we do not manage all the vacation rentals at this location. My email is Patrick.flinn@astonhotels.com. Please contact me personally if I can assist you in any way.
Mahalo Nui Loa
Pat Flinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangent, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very nice condo. The grounds were immaculate. Overview of the ocean. Every night would use the complimentary gas barbeque. Never have seen such a big barbeque set in stone and marble. Sit around the tables and talk to other guests. Then watch the sunset. Will do this again

Room Tip: We chose a upper floor to watch the whales and view the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very comfortable rooms that are clean and tidy. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. There are two pools an a gorgeous beach. The staff are helpful and friendly. We truly feel that this is our home away from home. A great place to unwind and relax. This was our fifth time at MKV and we will return next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have stayed in this condo/hotel 3 times now. It is the best of Maui as far as we are concerned. Quiet and serene with the best views. Our condo was situated 5 feet from the pool, bar/restaurant and beach....doesn't get any better. If you don't need a billion dollar pool with mountain slide, this is the perfect spot.

Room Tip: Make sure you know the condo number you are staying in and google it online to verify it's locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was our first visit to Maui.

When we booked the place we were apprehensive that this was not a sea facing unit. But it was great. We had a perfect view of the ocean. The resort has a great beach and it is so close to the Westin. We had a few dinners at the Castaway and it was just fine. They have a convenience store on the premises which helps. The swimming pool was a perfect way to unwind from a long day. I liked this better than all places near Whaler's village since it was less crowded.

I could sit for hours in their lobby. A gentle breeze wafts through in the evening. Charges you up in 5 minutes.

We recommend this place and will revisit without hesitation.

Room Tip: We stayed in unit A517 and it worked great for us. Rooms on the left wing on the upper floors should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at the MKV for 7 nights. Intially we had a room on the 6th floor of the tower with an oceanview on a step out patio. The view was nice but the room was below what we expected. While the decor was somewhat outdated, that was the least of our concerns. It was grungy and dusty. The bed was uncomfortable. The doors, door knobs and light switches didn't look like they had been cleaned since the 70s. The carpet and ceiling had stains. The dust behind the bed and nightstands as well as in the bathroom was gross. Perhaps it has always just been surfaced cleaned. If this unit was cleaned better, given a fresh coat of paint and a new floor, it would be great. We asked if we could change rooms and were willing to pay for an upgrade. After some searching we were given the option to have a ground level room in the Dolphin building that had a full patio. This room was much better. We were really impressed the staff. Francis went out his way to find us a suite that we were happy with despite this being a very busy time for the resort. Our new room gave us quick access to the pool and to the beach. My only recommendation would be for cleaning staff to dust the door slats every now and then and to wipe down the doors in the bathroom areas within the suites. Also to ensure the bedding is clean. We found what looked like blood stains on the top sheet. After this was changed on our first night, our bed sheets were not changed during our stay and it would have been nice if they were changed at least once.

The MKV has a restaurant on site. We enjoyed the food and the views, especially at breakfast where there was nice views of the nearby islands and whales could be seen from the shore. The food and staff were also good. Pool and hot-tub was nice to have. Easy access to the beach which was not crowded and offered excellent snorkeling and had a booth for renting chairs, snorkel equipment, etc. There is also a beachwalk that connects all the properties in the Kaanapali resort area. A free shuttle bus was available that can take you to Whaler's Village for shopping and restaurants. Other amenities on the property includes the gym, which needs a good cleaning. Also there is a spa. There services there are good but the decor needs updating. It is a dark dank little room that is not very appealing.

Most of the people staying at MKV seem to be owners and at times it felt a bit cliquey. The average age of the people staying at MKV is quite a bit older than we expected but at least there was not a lot of partying or loud people. It was very quiet in the evening which we did not mind but if you are looking for night time activities or a more outgoing resort atmosphere, this is not the place to stay. There were lots of families with young children.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and if visiting the island again, would consider staying again at the Maui Kaanapali Villas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
Mid-range, Beac...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 29 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 1,768 reviews
Romantic, Mid-r...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Ka'anapali Beach Hotel
Ka'anapali Beach Hotel
#20 of 29 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,403 reviews
Quiet, Romantic...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Quiet, Ro...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Beach, Pool, Qu...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#2 of 29 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Address: 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This may be Kaanapali's finest beachfront setting. Resting amid 11 acres of exotic tropical gardens in the heart of the Kaanapali Resort area, the resort has an on-site water activity center, two newly-renovated pool areas and a free shuttle to Kaanapali Resort area shopping and activities. The poolside cafe features island cuisine accompanied by an expansive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Maui Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Hotel
Maui Kaanapali Villas
Resortquest Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.