We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas to your Saves list
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF FALL TRAVEL
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just stayed in one of the condos - booked through Chase N Rainbows. This was way better than expected. We got to see photos of the condo online, so no surprises. They provided towels. We were there for a wedding and we paid less for our "studio" with full kitchen than others did for just a hotel room in the tower.
I was worried the pool would be lame compared to a resort hotel, but it was really really nice with a fun water fall. The pool bar was AWESOME, great prices and excellent food. They don't serve drinks AT the pool though, it is right next to it, and has a view of the ocean. They really should have some plastic cups that you can bring your drink to the pool in, that would be perfect.
The beach right here is really nice, we had fun swimming in it a few times.
I honestly thought I would be walking to the Westin pool every day, but I was very happy with MKV's pool and hot tub (which closes promptly at 10 every night, FYI). We also did so many activities that we weren't there too much anyway. I loved having the full fridge and kitchen, and also it was nice that the condo owners left a cooler and boogie board for guests to use! Perfect!
I would go back!
(ps we had no maid service since we booked through a condo, which was a bit lame).

Room Tip: Book direct with owner so you can control quality of your room, and get a lower rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    291
    80
    57
    32
See reviews for
276
294
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the villas for 8 days and had a great time. Our room 619 was in the main building on the 6th floor and had a beautiful view. Full kitchen with everything you could need. It was very convenient to be able to get up in the morning and have coffee on the balcony. It had a very comfy king size bed and the sofa pulled out into a double bed. Two sinks in the bathroom/dressing room and the shower was great. It had lots of hot water and one of those rainshower shower heads.

The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained.

The beach was nice. Not to crowded and there is a place to rent chairs, cabanas, snorkeling equipment and other stuff for the beach at pretty reasonable prices. The chairs were $20 for 7 days, The pool was nice.

The restaurant was OK. We had dinner there twice, It wasn't anything great. Lunch was better. The fries are to die for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calistoga ca.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We staye for 10 days in villa 192., Loved it. It was beautifully decorated and very well thought out. Loved the pool, the fact that it was never crowded. The 2 girls that checked us in were wnderful and very helpful. The place is clean, wll kept, close to shopping and events. Who could ask for more? Thank you for the wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, next to pool, restarunt and beach. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A nice place to stay. If you like smaller hotels and less people I suggest these Villas. Ask for a 2nd floor and close to to pool and beach......the housekeeping service was friendly and great .the excerise room was small but one side for weights and one side with treadmill, bicycle ect.....

Room Tip: 2nd floor by front pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is an absolutely beautiful resort on kaanapali side of maui. We have stayed many, many times. One of the great appeals of this property is that it is condos with full kitchens. Well was. Still is but now if purchasing a package through a travel site you get a small hotel room with upgrade available at substantial charge, which last season you got the fully furnished condo w/kitchen for the price you are now paying for the small hotel room. This is a HUGE LOSS OF APPEAL. Now by doing this crap they have no advantage at all over any hotel, well really less. Because you can stay at any hotel now with a much better ocean view. MKV really lacks A LOT as far as views are concerned, however we felt it was worth it by having a fully furnished condo. The Westin next door is a very tall "hotel" with FABULOUS VIEWS, but in the past we would not stay there and enjoy the view, but instead sacrificed view for the amenities of the condo.NO MORE. The charges for upgrading are too much so you could stay somewhere much nicer like the Westin rather than upgrade. All of the condos are privately owned and the owners depend on the resort to rent them as much as possible, so it will be interesting to see how long Maui Kaanapali Villas can keep their head above water with this new tactic. IF GOING STAY IN KAANAPALI AREA, it is the BEST. Kahalui and Kihei are TERRIBLE AREAS!!!!! REMEMBER ALL THE BEST THINGS IN MAUI ARE FREE {nature} BY PAYING FOR "MOST" EXCURSIONS YOU ARE ONLY PAYING SOMEONE TO TAKE YOU AND SHOW YOU SOMETHING YOU CAN SEE YOURSELF FOR FREE. ......GET THE BLUE BOOK.............. "MAUI REVEALED", you can pick it up in maui at Kmart, ABC, a lot of stores have for $20, better if you get before you go so you can study it awhile. GET THE BOOK!!!!! A MILLION $ WORTH OF INFO IN IT. you will waste your precious time in maui without this book.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatFlinn, General Manager at Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for your kind comments about our property.
I am sorry we were not able to offer you a complimentary upgrade.
I appreciate your comments comparing MKV to the Westin. I agree with you that the Westin is a very fine property. I just went on expedia to compare prices for our two properties and choose a 5 night stay over dates next week. I found that a Studio with a kitchen averaged $319 a night at the Westin while a studio with a kitchen at MKV averaged $195 a night. I am sure that the price gap between our properties varies through out the year, but it is probably fair to say that it is around $100 or more per night for studios.

I think that both properties are appropriately priced and it is important to keep the price differential in context when making comparisons.

Mahalo
Pat Flinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed at the Kaanapali Villa's 7 times and its ALWAYS great. Great location, great swimming beach, Good pools, spas. Its location is perfect for everything. And we love the trolley ride over to Walers Village. Cant go wrong here.

Room Tip: Stay in the Dolphin Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

With a great location right on the beautiful Kaanapali beach, this should have been a better experience. However, my room was really quite poor. The room number was 214 in the hotel building, and my guess is that room X14 on all six floors wopuld have the same problems: stuck down a long corridor at the rear of the hotel, the view is of parking lots, garages and concrete - not what one thinks of as a great Hawaiin experience. Otherwise the room was of adequate size and had the normal amenities. I was in one other room on the second floor in the other wing of the hotel and it was quite nice: it had a pleasant patio and full kitchen facilities. And it is likely that rooms in the outlying buildings would also be good, but I can only review my experience.

The food in the Castaway Cafe was also below par. If I were to return to Maui I would not stay at the Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, but it's entirely possible that a much better experience could be had there in a different part of the hotel and having meals elsewhere on the island.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 8 - 14 in the hotel wing which stretches away from the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Address: 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This may be Kaanapali's finest beachfront setting. Resting amid 11 acres of exotic tropical gardens in the heart of the Kaanapali Resort area, the resort has an on-site water activity center, two newly-renovated pool areas and a free shuttle to Kaanapali Resort area shopping and activities. The poolside cafe features island cuisine accompanied by an expansive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aston Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Maui Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Hotel
Maui Kaanapali Villas
Resortquest Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.