We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Villas again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Save Saved
You added Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF FALL TRAVEL
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Sacramento
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Love the Villas again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed at the Kaanapali Villa's 7 times and its ALWAYS great. Great location, great swimming beach, Good pools, spas. Its location is perfect for everything. And we love the trolley ride over to Walers Village. Cant go wrong here.

Room Tip: Stay in the Dolphin Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    369
    290
    77
    56
    31
See reviews for
274
287
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

With a great location right on the beautiful Kaanapali beach, this should have been a better experience. However, my room was really quite poor. The room number was 214 in the hotel building, and my guess is that room X14 on all six floors wopuld have the same problems: stuck down a long corridor at the rear of the hotel, the view is of parking lots, garages and concrete - not what one thinks of as a great Hawaiin experience. Otherwise the room was of adequate size and had the normal amenities. I was in one other room on the second floor in the other wing of the hotel and it was quite nice: it had a pleasant patio and full kitchen facilities. And it is likely that rooms in the outlying buildings would also be good, but I can only review my experience.

The food in the Castaway Cafe was also below par. If I were to return to Maui I would not stay at the Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, but it's entirely possible that a much better experience could be had there in a different part of the hotel and having meals elsewhere on the island.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 8 - 14 in the hotel wing which stretches away from the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The resort was great ! First thing we were upgraded to a suite. The staff was kind and knowledgeable. It was truly a great place to stay! The resort needs to update there pictures, on its website it looks a lot better in person!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was greeted kindly by the front desk. They even were able to set me up in the room I had requested.

The woman who offered the class for what trips and activities to explore was sweet, helpful and gave good tips. Great personality for that job.

The guy at the activity reservation desk was most helpful as well.

My room was comfortable and great like I like it.

I always come back to this place because they always take good care of me.

Only suggestion I would make is to hire me to be the cook at their Castaway cafe because I'm never impressed with the food there. I'd make it a great place to eat!!!!

Thank you, to the Villas!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Well furnished apartment and nice resort - staff were generally helpful, friendly, and responsive. We stayed in apt 201 which was a 1 brm with 2 x queen beds and a dbl sofa bed. The beds in bedroom were very comfy. The sofa bed, however sank in middle so quite uncomfortable. Luckily, we didn't have to use it. That said, the apartment itself is really well equipped, clean, and had everything we needed.
The resort itself was nice albeit small. The pool was clean but tiny relative to other resort's. However, the beach is immediately at your doorstep and it's absolutely gorgeous.
Hotel location was ok but there's really nothing around. You will need a car if you want to do anything outside the resort itself. There are not many public transport options although a $10 taxi fare will get you around to most places nearby. Eg. Restaurants or supermarket. Be careful if renting a car because whilst the daily rate is cheap, they'll get you on fees and insurance which can be more than rental rate itself.
We booked tours through the hotel and their recommendations were spot on. We enjoyed all of our activities and felt they were really good value. Would highly recommend the Pacific Whale Foundation's snorkelling tour to Lanai and Molokini.
Overall, we had a great stay at this resort.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Oregon
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The on-site restaurant Castaway Cafe has long been one of our favorite Maui dining spots, so we were happy to finally have a chance to stay here a few nights before moving to our condo in Kihei. The beach location, just north of Black Rock, couldn't be better and the nicely landscaped grounds are beautiful. The pool near the beach is also terrific and was a great place to cool off after time in the sun.
Check-in was quick and efficient when we arrived shortly after 3 p.m. -- we were in our room within 5 minutes after I was greeted at the lobby counter. Our room (oceanside studio) was beautifully furnished with everything we needed in our full kitchen and sitting area. The king bed was quite comfortable and although we were right next to the pool, noise was never a problem.
Our time there went all too fast and we were sad that we had to leave. We will definitely return any time we want to visit Maui and our timeshare condo is not available. Prices are extremely reasonable, and with AAA, senior or government employee discounts, event better!

Room Tip: Oceanside rooms are great values. Definitely worth a few extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here in early september 2012 and had a two bedroom condo. This condo, though not one of their 'deluxe' units, had been upgraded from top to bottom, granit countertops, new kitchen, everything. was like a brand new condo. everything was tastefully appointed and in excellent working condition. no complaints about the unit.
The grounds at this complex are impeccibly maintained by the crew, and it's a true joy just to walk around the grounds and to enjoy the trees, plants, etc.
We come to Maui for the beaches, not for pools, so a pool wasn't a priority for me, but the pool at this complex is very nice, though not as fancy as some of the other resorts, but who cares? Steps away from the pool is an awesome beach, with a grassy treed area just above the beach where you can pull up the chaise lounges (that you don't have to pay for, claim in the morning) and watch the beach, and relax in the shade if you like.
The hotel cafe is informal, and serves nice breakfasts and lunches, and was never croweded when we were there. We were always able to get a table overlooking the ocean.

During our stay, I checked out some of the fancier resorts, and while there were more insipiring with their facilities, they were also much more crowded. Kanappali Villas is clean, has everything you need, and is not crowded. A truly relaxing resort.

The only thing I would like to have would be a beachside bar. Their bar is by the pool, and doesn't overlook the beach. No big deal though Would definitly stay here again.

Room Tip: try to get a deluxe (upgraded) room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas

Address: 45 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Kaanapali Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This may be Kaanapali's finest beachfront setting. Resting amid 11 acres of exotic tropical gardens in the heart of the Kaanapali Resort area, the resort has an on-site water activity center, two newly-renovated pool areas and a free shuttle to Kaanapali Resort area shopping and activities. The poolside cafe features island cuisine accompanied by an expansive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Maui Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Hotel
Maui Kaanapali Villas
Resortquest Kaanapali Villas
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.