We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very affordable, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kaanapali Shores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Kaanapali Shores to your Saves list
Aston Kaanapali Shores
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very affordable, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This isn't the Ritz, but if you're looking for an affordable way to stay on Maui that is centrally located, clean, and fun, this is the place. Staff is great, grounds are beautiful, pool has a great view, beach bar has good happy hour specials. Close to a few good restaurants.

Rooms are huge, clean and well-appointed. Wifi is free and reliable.

Beach on the property is not great, but honestly, if you're going to Maui and only going to one beach, you're doing it wrong. So many beautiful beaches within a ten minute drive- explore them all!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for ocean views. Ask for a recently renovated room if that sort of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We're pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we'll see you back soon!

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    665
    189
    97
    31
See reviews for
766
604
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We were thoroughly happy with our stay at this property. Our room was spacious, clean, and had a modern kitchen. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. There are 2 pools, a hot tub, shops for essentials and travel items, and dining on site. The dining was mediocre, but you don't have to go far to find many other options. The beach is a little bit narrow here, but there is a really nice stretch of beach just to the south. Parking was reasonable. We did not take advantage of the activities available as part of the mandatory activity fee, but that's our fault.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We're pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we'll see you back soon!

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed with my 2 teenage kids in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo. There was plenty of room for the 3 of us, plus enough room to have other family over to hang out (10 of us stayed at the same location on this trip). The master bedroom had a King bed, large bathroom and large walk-in closet. The 2nd bedroom was small and had 2 double beds.

The condo overlooked the courtyard, with a view of the tropical landscaping, pools and the beach/ocean. Housekeeping was provided and a small washing machine and dryer in the unit meant we could decrease the amount of clothes we brought.

The pool area was clean, and the poolside bar (connected to the restaurant in the courtyard) was convenient. The Shores are located within walking distance to a multitude of other restaurants, bars, etc. Watersports rentals (boogie boards, surf boards, etc) are located both at the Shores and at other locations a short walk away. The beach was nice, with no rental fees for using the chairs.

I could go on for days about the positives. I'm not able to recall anything negative about my experience at the Shores.

Room Tip: I strongly suggest trying to book a unit that overlooks the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughtful feedback on our resort! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and hope to see you back again very soon.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is our second time to stay at this property, this year we brought the kids and stayed in the 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite. This is an older property, but the grounds are well maintained and the staff is efficient. My kids loved being able to go between the pool and the beach. The nightly lighting of the tiki torches is a nice touch. On Wednesday night their was a polynesian performance at the big pool. The dancers and musicians did a nice job.. The best snorkeling I found on this trip was near the bouys be the beach near this property. Their is a little reef to the north of the first bouy, lots of variety of fish, be careful it is shallow at the reef.

Room Tip: We had garden view ground floor..super conveinent for the kids to run around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughtful feedback on our resort! We are glad that you enjoyed time with your family and your stay overall and hope to see you again very soon.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Aston Kaanapali Shores in May, we had a studio room with a kitchen. This is a very nice property, the grounds are extremely well maintained and it is right on the beach. We had a full kitchen in our room which had a good supply of dishes, pots/pans, utensils, etc. and there is a mall across the street with a grocery store so getting food and drinks is not a problem. The first night we had dinner in the restaurant at the hotel, it was a little expensive but the food was wonderful and the service impeccable. The hotel has 2 pools with lots of lounge chairs and a supply of beach towels, the beach in front of the hotel is not the best for swimming but you can walk for up the beach and discover lots of good areas for swimming, snorkeling and sunbathing. We enjoyed our stay at this property and would definitely return.

Room Tip: I chose this hotel because I wanted a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughtful feedback on our resort! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was our second stay at this property and was just as nice as the first. Location, Location, Location. Far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Maui but close to everything you need.Be mindful all the units are privately owned Aston is basically the the property manager.
So that being said not every room will be perfect. The only down side to ours was the furniture needs updating. And is scheduled for replacement soon. That is the only negative thing I have to say but was expecting something to come up it's so it was a non issue it's Maui and the units get a lot of use.As to the staff wow super all the way around . Service prompt and courteous all minor hic ups were handled in a satisfactorily manner.While planning excursions around the island seek out PILI at the concierge desk. This gentleman is the best period. For first timers Aston gives a presentation of activities fist morning of your stay by all means attend.This trip we stayed in a two bedroom unit it accommodated five people very well, your never in the room anyway!The room was 256 garden view as you can see garden view can come with partial ocean view at garden price hint hint. Room 256 is right by the ocean pool and pool noise was a non issue. You can watch the Polynesian review on Wednesday from your Lani.Depending on the time of year the beach can be expansive or almost non existent so inquire before you go. As with any visit to the islands water shoes are a must have!We only eat breakfast here but all the food is good and I have to single out MEYRON ask for a table in his section best service on Maui. On our next trip to Maui and we go every year we always consider this property depending on price and the number of people traveling with us. To all the staff Michael, Mark,and Meg especially Mahalo hope to see you soon Aloha. Mullins family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughtful feedback on our resort! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is a great property. Beautiful grounds, priced well, and accessible by walking to the grocery store, restaurants, and just a short drive to all of west Maui. The reservations team and front desk are very professional and are willing to help with whatever your needs may be. I especially want to single out Ana the reservations manager as a delight to work with. I also had the opportunity to meet Mark the General Manager, and he is a true hospitality professional. I highly recommend this property and their restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughtful feedback on our resort! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, activity desk and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property also boasts a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kaanapali Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.