We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aston kanapali review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kaanapali Shores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Kaanapali Shores to your Saves list
Aston Kaanapali Shores
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Aston kanapali review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Booked with pleasant holidays. Location was nice, right near the beach. Hotel staff friendly. House keeping was TERRIBLE. Had to call for towels daily. No conditioner or lotion in the rooms. Came back to our room at 2pm from and excursion and the room was yet to be cleaned and restocked. Beach a bit rough but once you make it passed the short reef Snorkeling is nice. The restaurant on the grounds is overpriced... Pool is beautiful mosaic tile. Lots of children splashing and playing in the pool, which is great IF you brought your children. Despite having 2 pools on the property, the children monopolize them both. Massage on site was sub par, small gym was ok. My biggest complaint was the MATTRESS we slept on. It had a dent in the middle as deep as the Grand Canyon! And gave my husband an I a back ache after our week. Parking is good, location was great from Lahaina.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    664
    189
    97
    31
See reviews for
766
604
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We were upgraded to corner suite, and it was -- without a doubt -- the best room I've ever stayed in. The two-bedroom, two-bath unit had a wrap-around balcony (with FOUR sliding doors!) that was perfect for morning coffee and watching the whales. Master bedroom had 2 separate closets.

Housekeeping did a great job; our schedule was erratic but they would come & go without notice. It was great to have a washer/dryer and dishwasher -- both with soap. The room was spacious and comfortable. Loved the 'free' movies. Great hotel shops, with good prices on souvenirs as well as forgotten necessities.

Lots of free activities -- from hula lessons to SCUBA classes. Decent pools & hot tub. I always love a pool bar on vacation!

I'm certain that a big part of the reason we had such a great stay had to do with the amazing room, but still -- this is a fine hotel in a great location, and I would stay there again.

One obscure request -- a lot of hotels include small bottles of body lotion with the shampoo, and I rarely use those. But in Hawaii, it's essential, so it would be great if the hotel offered small tubes of lotion or aloe gel with the bathroom amenities.

Thank you, Aston Kaanapali Shores!

Room Tip: Higher floors and ocean view are worth the splurge -- even if you're out all day, they are perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were here for 5 days. The 2 room "condo" was on the 8th floor. They said it was beachfront when we booked it, but we were the furthest away from the beach as you could get. You could see it from the Lanai, but it was not close. Not "beachfront" that's for sure. The beach was beautiful, but they could have used more beach chairs. Not enough for all the people. The furniture was very dated, but we had plenty of room for us and kids. The washer and dryer were nice to have. The grounds were pretty, in a Disneyland sort of way. Fake. The housekeeping sucked. They brought towels, that's about it. They never once cleaned a coffee pot, or replenished the coffee. We had to call to get refills. Oh...don't forget to bring your own lotion and conditioner. This is the first hotel I've ever stayed in that didn't supply it. They have shampoo, and bar soap. That's it. You will have to call to get more if you run out. Housekeeping doesn't re stock it. You have to pay an extra fee each day for an xbox. You can't opt out. We never used it, but had to pay. You also have to pay extra for parking. A rip-off. All this adds up. Also every time I was on the lanai, all I could smell was burning pot. Lots of people smoking it, but they make the cigarette smokers go to the parking lot. They constantly had at least a dozen people trying to fit on 2 cement benches, which had no protection from the sun or rain. There were fights and lots of arguments in the parking lot at night. But you are right off the street, so I guess that can happen.
All in all, I wouldn't go back. A bee hive style of mega apartments that they call beachfront condos, overpriced, and old. The gift shop was nice, and the prices were good, and most of the hotel staff was nice. Oh...don't answer your phone. The lobby will start calling at 8am and all throughout the day trying to get you to book a tour. If you want to book one, they have a desk in the lobby. I love Maui, but will find someplace else on my next trip. Hopefully a real "beachfront".

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Aloha! We were very disappointed to read the comments posted by these guests, as they were a clear indication that these folks misunderstood what they had reserved. The guests booked an "ocean view" suite (not an ocean front suite) and were assigned a unit that featured exactly that. The unit has a clear, enjoyable view of the ocean; one that has not been the source of a single other complaint over the past couple of years. Their confusion might have been over the resort itself being advertised as an ocean front resort, which we are. They also made a comment about not having conditioner available, but our suites come supplied with a shampoo & conditioner (all in one), which is why there was no separate bottle of conditioner. With respect to housekeeping service, our room attendants will visit daily to provide clean towels, empty trash and vacuum and dust as necessary. Our room attendants do not do dishes, as our suites have dishwashers within them.

We're sorry to learn that our resort didn't align with the expectations of these visitors. We do hope that they were able to enjoy the island in general and that they will be back someday in the future.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here for a week with my wife and 2 kids. Rooms are large and have full kitchens and laundry - very useful for a family! Grounds are beautiful, and having 2 pools allows for some separation for kids and adults. Nice restaurant overlooking the beach, decent food / OK prices. Beach is small but pretty, watch for sharp rocks in the water - wear some water shoes! Location is very good: amazing cafe (Java Jazz) across the street along with a large grocery store. Lahaina is close by with all its attractions, restaurants and shopping.

My only complaint was the pullout bed - it was more of a medieval torture device than a place to rest. We were able to borrow a blowup bed from a local friend and solved the problem.

All in all a very nice resort - would definitely recommend for families.

Room Tip: A garden room on the upper levels (we were on 7) will give you a slight ocean view and cut down nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The resort had man y good qualities that made our vacation. The rooms were average but comfortable, the grounds were well manicured, the two pools were both good with plenty of seating, the parking was excellent, the beach was good, ease to town was great, close to shops, and good check in with good perks.

Maui had many excellent places to see - waterfalls, winding roads, surfing, kite surfing, restaurants, and many others...front street was great!

The only complaint I do have is that we booked as a family and we were placed in three different corners of the resort which was very inconvenient....

I would stay here again if they can meet our needs

Room Tip: Go to the Luau at the Hyatt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Montana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed 6 nights at the Aston Kaanapali Shores. The bell staff is great, the front desk staff would rather not help you.The grounds, pools, and beach are great. We had paid for an ocean view room and you could see the ocean, but is was far we were the furthest way you could be with a view in 739. If we were to go back would probably choose garden view as you might as well walk to the pool by the ocean or sit on the beach.

The 1 bed condo we stayed in was good. It needed a little updating, but it was nice to have a kitchen. The lanai could use 4 chairs around the table and bowls would be help for cooking. One of the main problems is we continued to get locked out of our room as the lock would quit working and I guess run out of batteries we had to call maintenance 3 different times. I would have hoped the resort would have recognized this issue and had someone at least give us an apology for the hassle.

We also used the expedia experts who look a luau, submarine ride, sunrise trip and the aquarium. They may not be the cheapest in town, but the convenience is nice. Be aware they also try to sell you a discount if you go to a Wyndem timeshare presentation. We signed up, but then later declined after learning from others the Wyndum tactics in selling and 2 hours turns in to 4+ of badgering.

The resort is nice the amenity fee didn't seem to cover much and it doesn't cover fitness access. Coffee and maid service were hit or miss for us.

Overall, it is a good property if you know the ins and outs and get it for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Almost didn't choose it due to pictures of the unimpressive pool. AAA said great things. They were right! They are condos in a hotel setting. We had 2 bdrms/2baths (great with a teenager!). One of the things I liked the best was an in unit washer/dryer. They even provided the soap. It was so humid we would wash our clothes at night. I came home with NO laundry to wash! We had a garden view room, which was great in Hawaii. My husband & son used the fitness room daily & were happy. My son especially enjoyed the *free* Redbox movies every night. The grounds were beautiful & the people friendly. Great experience!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, activity desk and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property also boasts a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kaanapali Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.