We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 2 families loved it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kaanapali Shores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Kaanapali Shores to your Saves list
Aston Kaanapali Shores
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Our 2 families loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had 2 families and rented 2 x 2 bedroom apartments. Apartments were older style but very spacious with lounge, dining and full size kitchen (washing machine and dryer too). Heaps of room for family of four. The main bedroom was huge, king size bed and ensuite. We were on the 1st floor but think if you had small kids a unit on the ground floor, opening to the garden area would be good. The 2 pools were well maintained and there was a large grass area to relax or kick a ball around. Free hula show by the pool on set nights. Beach area was private and had sun lounges you could borrow (free). Prices of drinks at the pool bar were average but unfortunately I don't think the cocktails were as good as our Waikiki hotel. Across the road from the resort is a small group of shops with restaurants and grocery store. Spa/massage at the resort was good too. We visited a few other resorts and think this one ticks all the boxes for our families. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    664
    189
    97
    31
See reviews for
766
604
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We found the resort to be well maintained and comfortable. We stayed in a one bedroom suite and it was clean and well appointed with a full kitchen and living room. The rooms were comfortable and the pools and ground were well kept. We used the pool area and very much enjoyed the complimentary hula show. There is a shopping center with restaurants and a grocery store in walking distance across the street. The restaurant has a great view and the food was good. Over all, we enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was our third stay here in three years. This time we brought our kids with us so needed a two bedroom suite (usually have one bedroom suite) and were placed in a different condo building that we had not stayed in before. The suite was clean, but there was a couple dead cockroaches in the light fixtures in the closet area ceiling. We also saw one cockroach on the walkway. I do realize cockroaches are a part of Maui but I had NEVER seen them at this resort before in our other stays. There also seemed to be a lot more gecko's around this time than before which didn't bother me at all. They are fun to watch. They increased the daily amenity fee to $15 a day plus there is still a $9 a day parking fee.

The restaurant was still as excellent as before. Everyone loved every meal we had there and the service continued to be fantastic. All the staff we encounter at the resort have always been very friendly to us.

Still a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The grounds are very well maintained and clean. I observed the staff cleaning the sand beds, grass, pool areas, and beach several times per day. The beach is nice and typical for Kaanapali. There is a reef just off the beach that offers decent snorkeling with some nice reef fish. The restaurant is good and we had a nice dinner there. The happy hour at the pool bar is nice with well Mai Tai's at $4.25 each (cheap for Maui). The resort is geared for families and some rooms have a full kitchen and multiple bedrooms. This was perfect for us with 3 kids.

The rooms are clean and the staff vacuum sand off the carpet every day. The bathrooms are definitely out of date as is the decor, but I really didn't care much. We only spent time in the room sleeping and eating breakfast and sometimes lunch. My only real complaint is the shower head that was mounted too low and looked like a cheap piece of junk I would find at my local Walmart. I wanted a nice rain shower to wash off the saltwater and sunscreen, but I cannot complain given the package price.

The bottom line... If you are looking for a middle of the road resort with a family, this is a good choice. If you want luxury or honeymoon dreams, go to the Hyatt Regency or Kapalua Ritz.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just got back and had an amazing time. This is a great hotel for a family my only complaint is the pool. Wish there was a little more for the kids but all in all had a fabulous time. Best hotel for the money and had great customer service. Would definitely go again!

Room Tip: Stay closer to the beach- the birds are very noisy near the lobby area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great location. Nice beach, and pool. Not fancy like a 5 star hotel, but very pleasant. Restaurant./Bar on premises is very good. Nice facility, but a little dated. We really enjoyed our stay. If you play golf don't miss the Plantation course at Kapalua.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I only stayed at the Aston Kaanapali shores one night so there are some things like the restaurant and pool that looked at for a few minutes but did not use. With that said I would not go back. Be prepared to add $26 per night for a resort fee and parking your rental car. The rooms are dated and drab. The common areas are much nicer.
We arrived early around 12:30 check in is at 3pm. I was told that we could use the common areas and that they would put "a rush" on getting are room ready and would call me on my cell when it was ready. I checked back at 2:35pm to find that my room was ready, so much for the call. Went up the room, found the room is 100% tile with no rugs, reminded me of my dorm room in college. Also noted that 19" tv was hooked up to a VHS player, no CD player in sight even though they rent CDs in the lobby???? However there where some VHS tapes to watch like Terminator 2 and American pie(welcome to the 90's).
I went downstairs looking for a cup of coffee. I asked the first person I could find where the coffee shop was, this was the girl in the tee shirt shop. Appearing half confused and half terrified she mumbled something and shook her head. I her defense I don't think English was her first language.
The bottom line is you can do a lot better for your money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Aloha! There is no excuse for making a commitment to call a guest to advise them of their suite becoming available for occupancy and not following through on this. We apologize for that and will look into how this happened with an eye toward making sure it doesn't happen again. In some cases, when guests who have arrived early check back with us a second time, the service agent may change the room assignment so that the guest doesn't have to wait any longer for their originally assigned room. This may have been such a case, leaving the guests wrongly thinking that the originally scheduled/assigned unit had become available and no call was made.

All our accommodations have DVD players in them, so while there may have also been a VHS player, there was in-fact a DVD player available so that the guests could take advantage of the wonderful value of having unlimited use of late release major motion pictures on DVD.

Our standard requirement is a 32" flat panel TV in each of our units. If there was a smaller TV present, it was an "extra" that was added to the inventory.

We hope these folks were able to enjoy their vacation on Maui despite the issues they've shared on their posting.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, activity desk and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property also boasts a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kaanapali Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.