We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kaanapali Shores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aston Kaanapali Shores to your Saves list
Aston Kaanapali Shores
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF FALL TRAVEL
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
Wash DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Good Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This "condominium" resort is a great place for families.
Positives:

Great location - in Kaaanpali - 45 minutes from Airport
A subway, A Pizza place, and a Grocery store (regional Chain store) right across the street. You will get everything you need for your stay. Definitely walkable distance - 3-4 minutes.

Clean with daily room service!
Very good service; (Michael Martinez - Thank you very much for your hospitality. Thanks for taking our pictures!)
Provided extra blankets !

Negatives:
The complex is a bit crowded.
Room 915: The sleeper couch mattress is a bit old and sloppy. Not really comfortable but manageable.

Overall: Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: 915 is a Ocean View room / Penthouse floor. Very good; But, ask for a room in the 5 floor blocks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    646
    186
    96
    31
See reviews for
751
584
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife, my son, and I had a fantastic four days and three nights vacation at the Aston Kaanapali Shores in Maui. The room was comfortable, clean, and provided with all the amenities. The view was terrific and the staff was very friendly! A great place to vacation!!

Mike Basalo in Goodyear, Arizona

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a good week at the Ka’anapali Shores resorts…and rented through VRBO – Unit 161. If you want to face the ocean, have grass in front of your ground floor ‘lanai’ and be steps from the beach, ocean, fresh water shower and even pool, this is the place to try to get. It was clean, roomy for a family of 5 (4 adults and 1 toddler) and the extras for kids were really great to have in the unit. The kitchen was nicely stocked, but in all honesty, I would have liked a whole new set of drinking glasses…..the ones in the unit had lots of wear and tear…acrylic just gets like that after a year!! Loved the double door fridge and the hands free garbage bin!! Didn’t love having to strong arm the huge sliding glass doors though that was just me… Guess I’m a weakling!! Had a great Sunset watch from our ‘lanai’ each night (some people who could not see the ocean from their ‘lanais’, would come to our “lawn area” to watch the beautius colours each night!
Ka’anapali Shores resort is really quite lovely. Beautiful serene gardens to walk through and Koi ponds and small waterfall. We used the pickle ball courts and tennis courts (front desk supplied the pickle ball equipment) Super helpful front desk staff, the grounds workers always stopped and chatted to us, the coffee hut in the lobby is open at 7am and serves yummy homemade items with great choices for coffee. The grocery store, Subway, nail salon, boutique , Snorkel Bob’s is among a few place just across the street. I loved the quirky Java Jazz spot there too… retro cool. The beach is coming and going, so to speak…with the tide. We were told that a few months before our stay in July, the beach front was ½ as big….but as the waves roll in, the sand builds up and builds up leaving good deposits for a bigger beach. We had some good smashing boogie boarding waves to the right of our ‘lanai’ and the water temp in July is great. We saw surf lessons each morning to the right side of the beach too. There were a couple of plain sandy spots if you were standing waist high, but also rocks with some sea grass. The beaches in/ on Maui has lots of black lava rock…it’s obviously Maui is built from volcano activity.
The touring around with a car was easy – great maps are provided at the various stores or even at the baggage pick up carosel at the airport! Speaking of car rental… Every car rental company employee will try to upsell you. If you want to pay MORE, let them sweet talk you… but if you reserved a compact and liked that quoted price, just stay firm with them and then it’s more reasonable. Insurances are always going to be a kicker though! Ugh!
We drove the road (Lower ‘piliani hwy) along to Napili Bay. It’s pretty nice there- for us there was lots of beach/ great sand/ steep sloping shoreline and some FUN waves to board in . Sometimes parking is congested so I’d stay away from Sat/Sun/Mon….. (due to locals and also cruise ship tours) Along the way, we stopped at Kapalua Bay… Very nice waters!! We also enjoyed seeing all the beaches from high up…..the Oneloa Beach, D.T.Fleming Beach (great to sit at and play in…nice sandy and big waves the day we were there)… all depends on the winds. Best time to go for relaxation on the beach is 9am to noon. After noon, the winds tend to pick up and the choppy waters happen. We drove to and saw Honolua Bay where all the people said snorkeling was the best to the far right hand reef side, but some turtles seem to come into the bay on the lefthand side. I must say I was surprised that this gorgeous spot doesn’t have much in the way of sand…no lounging in the sand and since it will destroy the coral, don’t wear sunscreen. Just wear a t shirt ! Love seeing the Nakalele Blowhole…and safely made it down the 200 drop (goat trail) to stand beside it ! Got totally soaked! Next we hiked down to the Olivine Pools …another steep climb down and up, but doable for this Granny! The pools are only GREAT if there are FEW people there. Friends went and they were among 2 others visiting so it was really cool to have the ocean crashing right beside them in these deep pools. But when we went at 2pm, there were at least 20 people there all jumping in and having fun, making noise and it just took away from the austere beauty of them. For both climbs I think good gripping footwear is a must.
Another day we took the Van Isle Tour bus..Road to Hana. Great value for the price. Ah-mazing amount of info gained from Joe, our driver (12 seat comfy bus). I would not have enjoyed it half as much if hubby and I were navigating the narrow Cliffside roads! When we go back, we’d do it ourselves because we know EXACTLY where we would want to stop and explore. The Seven Sacred Pools are so very popular and again, they lose their ambience and glory when they are crawling with people. I’d go back in the earlier part of the day and again avoid cruise ship days. The flora and fauna along the Hana side of the island is just so wonderous with it’s colour and diversity! Wai’anapanapa State Park is so rugged with it’s shoreline and ‘dark’ beaches. The bamboo forest is so dense with 5-7 types of bamboo that was originally brought to the island by the Chinese and Japanese and also from the Philippines. 1/3 of all the plants or shrubs or trees in the rain forest are indigenous… the rest imported…and when you see all of the variety of plant like, you can’t help but be in awe. The rain forest gets approx. 260 inches of rain each year… on the Hana side….but an hour and a half away, on the Kaupo (south ) side of the island, it’s like a Nevada/Arizona rocky arid desert!
Lastly we explored all along Kihei and Wailea – Western side of the island. Wailea has amazing beaches like Makena- Big Beach, Wailea beach and Secret Cove. It’s got the reserve to snorkel at – A’hihi Cove. Awesome colourful fish with the odd Moray Eel spotted! South Kihei is super action packed with stores/shops/restaurants and parks for enjoyment. We loved Bistro 808 (byob) and the the 808 Deli. Great value for the $ and amazing home made fare. Really good. Gotta try their famous pudding…I know that sounds weird, but it’s a super yummy dessert for two!! South Kihei beaches are all very good. Lots of nice golden sand and fun waves. North Kihei is much more quiet and the water is almost a different colour due to somewhat darker sand.
A great trip was had by all. We WILL go back…so much more to explore and see on Maui!

Room Tip: Unit 159, 160,259,260,360 - all really NICE !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Aston Kaanapali Shores and had a wonderful stay. We had a two bedroom room that included a full kitchen and a spectacular ocean view. We were very pleased with the room. I have to say, I am very amazed at what we got for the price. I have stayed at hotels in coastal towns in California that were around the same price we paid here that just do not compare to Aston Kaanapali Shores. My only disappointment was that housekeeping came quite late each day to clean our room. However, the service from the staff at the hotel was great. We really loved the key card system ffor the towels, I thought that was so convenient. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay and memories that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here at the Kaanapali Shores because the Kaanapali Beach Club (next door and sister Diamond Resorts company) was full. So, they put us at the "Shores". The hotel staff was very good to us, gave us a "penthouse" room because we were celebrating our 15th anniversary and using the "family and friends" discount from Diamond Resorts.

Room (room 926) was nice (a bit outdated), bathroom was on the small side, but adequate. Bedroom was good, Kitchen and living room were very good. Had a full kitchen and washer/dryer which was very nice. View of Molokai outside our sliding glass door was amazing! Hotel grounds was kept in nice shape as was the pool. We did not eat on property...no reason than it didn't fit our days.

This was a very nice "Plan B" hotel and would recommend it to others. Again, the hotel front desk staff was incredibly courteous and friendly. They bent over backwards to please us! They made sure everything was right!

Room Tip: Nice location and nice hotel. Try to get a room with a suite so you quiet space between TV/Kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, and exceeded our expectations. We stayed in a one bedroom condo and it had a washer and dryer, full kitchen and was very nice. The front desk staff and the Expedia staff were all very helpful, which made our first stay in Hawaii even better. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Kaanapali Shores from June 25th to July 2nd. I was so excited to return to this resort again after having a wonderful experience almost 5 years ago when it was a Resort Quest hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted by Tiffany at the front desk who is amazing at her job! She was so polite, patient and went over all the details thoroughly. Our room was located on one end of the 7th floor. We had one window overlooking the mountains and our balcony had a partial ocean view. We had a studio suite that had a queen sized bed, full sized kitchen appliances, counter top with chairs, a couch and a large TV. The room was spacious, very clean and looked recently updated. The balcony was a great size and had huge sliding doors/screens. They also separated the space for the bathroom sink from the toilet and shower. We thought the water pressure was great, the bed was really comfortable and we loved having a full sized coffee pot right in the room. The property really is beautiful with an open air feeling throughout. The resort is located right on the beach and has beautiful views of Molokai and Lanai. We also witnessed multiple stunning sunsets’ right from the beach. They have two pools and two Jacuzzi's, the garden Jacuzzi was open until 11. We ate at their onsite restaurant once and thought it was fine, the food was good, service was prompt and the macadamia nut ice cream is delicious!!! We found their prices to be comparable to most restaurants on the island. They have an activities concierge located right at the pool where they had any activity available imaginable. They even have some free activities available to guests. My fiancée and my dad signed up for the free 30 minute scuba lesson that takes place in the pool daily. They loved it! They actually decided to sign up with the same instructor for an ocean dive as well ($90 per person for about an hour dive that happens right at the hotel beach) and they both felt it was a great experience. While they were diving, my mom and I decided to rent one of their beach front cabanas for the day. It was $40, which we both felt was reasonable considering it was for the entire day (8am to 10pm). I was slightly disappointed however that there was no bar/restaurant service outside of the pool area. They failed to mention this when booking the cabana. I felt like we missed out on some of the treatment that the pool cabana renters got to experience (which was the same price). Either way it was still an awesome day with an amazing view of the ocean and our guy’s scuba diving! The resort uses a key card system for their pool towels. Towels are available at a hut in the main pool area, you get one towel for each key card (one key card per guest is given at check in) that you turn in. If you need a fresh towel, they let you exchange it for a new one. If you are done with the towel for the day, you turn in the towel and take the key card back. However, the towel hut closes at 5pm so if you have any intention of using the pool or Jacuzzi after that you must hold on to the towel until the morning. Overall, the price was great especially for having a full kitchen. We felt the location and the grounds were perfect. We had originally considered a different hotel however, I am so happy we choose to stay at this hotel again. I would highly recommend this hotel and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, activity desk and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property also boasts a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kaanapali Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.