We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Wedding Anniversary trip in June 2011” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kaanapali Shores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Kaanapali Shores to your Saves list
Aston Kaanapali Shores
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Early Wedding Anniversary trip in June 2011”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I were expecting our second baby in September so we decided to take a early anniv. trip to Maui with our 19 months old daughter. We had a full ocean view and got to see the sunset everyday. It was so peaceful and staffs were very accommodating...room was a bit outdated.. but tolerable. Swimming pool was little chilly but nice. I saw a lot of aunts though.. even though we were up in (don't recall what floor but pretty high). Also washer stopped working in the middle of a stay so I had to call the maintenance. They responded very quickly and also offered us to move to several doors down which was little more updated/upgraded so we took that one instead. I wish I remember the room numbers.. but don't.. unfortunately. After this visit, we realized that we prefer to be in the South part of the island though.. .No complaints about this accommodation... just the location preference.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    654
    189
    96
    31
See reviews for
762
598
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I travel a lot for buisness and pleasure. After staying at the Aston Kaanapali Shores, I am spoiled. From the checkin to the checkout it was awesome. The staff and management really shared the true meaning of Aloha! Housekeeping was so accommodating as well as the front desk staff. The Grounds look like something out of a magazine. The sunset from the beach on our last night was beyond words.
After reading some of the "poor" reviews, I think these people were staying some where else.
Keep the Aloha Spirit going. You folks rock!
The Barone Family:-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were really disappointed in this hotel. Firstly the location is terrible, we got a shuttle from the airport and were the last to be dropped off as it is at the end of Kaanapali. The beach out the front while pretty is small. There is nothing other than a supermarket that you can walk to so you have to either cook in your apartment or eat at the one restaurant at the resort. The apartments are SOOOO dated! It felt like we were staying in a retirement village with the decor and it even smelt dusty. They came and serviced every day but it just never felt clean. The grounds are immaculately kept as most people note in their reviews. There are two pools and they are fine - nothing to write home about though and the deck chairs are again about 50 years old! It just really felt like being in an isolated time warp. We made a few trips (local bus) to Whalers Village (where the majority of the resorts circle) and would MUCH rather have stayed around here. There is no spa/ room service or anything like that either. I really wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
While obviously disappointing, this review is also puzzling. The reviewer says that the unit was dated, which by most traveler's standards is simply not the case. The unit furnishings are contemporary and the carpets are brand new (less than 4 months old). The reviewer goes on to say that there is nothing but a supermarket to walk to. Actually, along with the supermarket there are coffee houses, restaurants, retail stores, etc. The reviewer says there is no salon/spa, yet we have a salon/spa and fitness center right at the resort, along with a sundries store, retail outlets, restaurant, etc. The reviewer speaks to deck chairs being 50 years old, yet many of these are less than a year old and the balance are less than 3 years old. Finally, the reviewer points out that they'd rather have stayed near Whalers Village. There is a significant cost associated with staying within the Whalers Village area, which means it is not a great option for everyone. Ka'anapali Shores is just 5 minutes away and provides a great value for visitors. Our guests can enjoy a clean, contemporary, spacious, well-maintained accommodation and use the money that they saved (vs. staying in Whalers Village) to enjoy dining and activities around the island. While everyone is entitled to their opinion, and all opinions are subjective and based upon the expectations of the specific reviewer, it is interesting to note the many reviews directly surrounding or preceeding this one that speak to guests having had a very positive, satisfying vacation experience with us. We're truly sorry that it didn't work out that way for this particular reviewer. We do hope they were able to enjoy themselves on Maui in general. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The service, facilities and location are excellent. I stayed 4 nights with my wife and it was a spectacular experience. The price, cleanliness, friendliness of employees and the tranquility of the place are the main features that makes it a great place to spend a great vacation. I recommend it 100%.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We went to Maui to enjoy the weather, to have a great rest, peace and tranquility. And we got all of it in spades. The apartment was a treasure, the service above the expected level. The beach was not big, but quiet and the water warmed up by 11 AM. The staff helped us in every way we asked. There were even books we could exchange for ours, The kitchen was absolutely functional and whatever we needed, we received or we were told where to get it. Excellent grocery store within two blocks. We are senior citizens, who travelled all over Europe, and South America twice a year for 35 years. This vacation at the Aston Kaanapali Shores was one of the very best we had. We shall be coming back next year.
Attila & Monique

Room Tip: We did not see all the different rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Awesome location and spacious unit for coaches and team. Clean and well kept property, ten minutes from a great golf course that was used for a State High School Championship. Full kitchen facilities and 2 full baths made it easy for all to clean up before seating down to a great meal. Super friendly staff and manager assisted and accommodated all requests. Jacuzzi perfect for a tired body after a full day of walking and climbing the golf course hills in the sun.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife and I decided to have a second honeymoon at Kaanapali Shores. The hotel just has the right vibe. Not overdone or overpriced. It's right on the beach with great views of Molokai and Lanai.
The staff is just super cool and nice. There are two swimming pools and and two large Jacuzzi's. The suite we had was equipped with a full kitchen and everything worked great and was very clean. AC was perfect and the bathroom's were good sized and nice.

The property has plenty of parking and is only a ten minute drive to Front Street.

True the beach directly out front is a bit rocky and not ideal for swimming but walk fifty yards to the left and the beach is perfect for swimming, snorkeling, Standup Paddle surfing. Lots of beautiful reef to explore and tropical fish and lots of big sea turtles to check out.

I know there are more luxurious properties along the Kaanapali coast and on other parts of Maui Island and we can spend more, but I don't think we would have had any better time. Sometimes less is more and again the staff really makes the place and time spent there that much better.

Highly recommend! OH and the pool bar has the best Mai Tai's I ever had!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, activity desk and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property also boasts a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kaanapali Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.