We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little old, ordinary room, but what an environment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kaanapali Shores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Kaanapali Shores to your Saves list
Aston Kaanapali Shores
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Take 15% Off Your Stay
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A little old, ordinary room, but what an environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The grounds here are a destination all their own. Lots of birds, supplemented by birds in cages up in tree areas. Waterfalls, streams, fish. The short walk to the pool, restaurant (good food), beach is a wonderland in itself. Although we had the garden view instead of the more expensive ocean view, we had a nice side view of the ocean, and the garden view is even better.

Front desk, concierge, porter services were great. Selling interesting jewelry, etc. in extended lobby at great prices, here and at Ka'anapali Beach Club next door. Probably the most impressive grounds and facilities I have seen anywhere.

Inside the room, the bathroom was old (old tub/fixtures), small room, door sticks. Kitchen was very nice however with pass through to ample dining area and living room. Patio. Bedrooms were OK, bed was fine. I would say maybe inside the room a 3 star or better, outside the room a 5 star. And facilities of next door Beach Club are available as well.

We enjoyed our stay here a lot, would go back. We liked Maui most of all, will spend more time here on our next trip. This is the kind of place I will leave my home to spend time at.We wish we were back there already.

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay up for ocean view, because the garden view is such a delight. And you have an oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    681
    194
    97
    32
See reviews for
788
615
36
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in a ground floor 1BR unit - 20 steps to the beach, 21 steps to the pool and hot tub.
It was spacious, open, well organized and clean.
The entire complex is very well maintained.
The beach is sandy, great for kids and allows for a long walk.

Room Tip: I thought the ground floor was just the right thing, with a nice patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here as part of botched timeshare exchange at another location. We were only at this property for 2 days but it was a nice change from the place we had originally booked. Looking at some of the recent reviews for this property it just reinforces that expectations are everything.

We come to Hawaii for the weather, beaches and activities. It's true the beach in front of the hotel isn't great but there are so many great beaches on Maui we'd never expect to stay at the hotel the whole time anyway. It is a good beach for watching whales (in season) and green sea turtles. Likewise pools are very low on our priority list. The one time we used the pool it was late afternoon and there were plenty of chairs.

Overall the property is great and well taken care of. There are two pools and a number of sundry shops. We didn't have a chance to try any of the onsite restaurants. The little interaction we had with the staff was very positive.

We had a two bedroom that was perfect for the 3 of us (wife and 12 year old daughter). The bed was okay but the mattress wasn't the most comfortable. The only issue was that some of the living room furniture was a little dated. Nothing horrible just old. The lanai had a good setup for having breakfast and watching the whales.

Our room was on the 7th floor well back from the ocean but we still had a better view than many "ocean front" rooms we've had at other locations.

There was ample parking much of which was in a garage. There's a grocery store and a handful of restaurants just across the street

For a family this place is ideal with all the space, full kitchen and laundry facilities. I'm not sure I'd pick it for a romantic getaway though. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Had a great time here. First time staying at a condo and would definitely stay here again. Breakfast is good at the restaurant with a beautiful view. Ask to get a room on a higher floor if possible. Our room had a journal from the owners for guests to write about their trip. Great idea room 829

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirksville, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived at the resort we were treated as old friends. The front desk staff warmly welcomed us, offered us some great comps (free pictures, drinks at the restaurant, and discounts on resort items) and made sure we were comfortable when entering the room. Since this was our first time in Hawaii, we had a ton of questions, and the resort was happy to assist us. Upon entering our room, we found it to be very cozy and comfortable. The decor is a bit dated (10 years or so), yet still nicely furnished and very clean. Our only complaint with the room was not enough pots/pans for cooking and the terrible door stoop that raises up 3 inches under the front door. We tripped over the stoop every time we entered and exited the room. The grounds are immaculate, lush, and beautiful. Two small to mid sized pools were a refreshing treat as they overlooked the ocean and Lanai. My only major complaint is the daily resort fee...but they are charged at all resorts in Maui.

NOTE: Prior reviewers who remarked that their room was dirty must not have stayed at this resort because everywhere we went on property was clean, fresh, and we'll maintained... in fact new carpet was even being installed in many units while we were there and receiving some other upgrades.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel was perfect close to huge grocery store and abc store within walking distance it's like an upscale wawa. Food and drinks are great, you would never have to leave your hotel. We do wish we would have spent more time here and the only reason I did not give it a 5 star is because we got there at 2 and didn't get our room till 4 because they steamed the floors and then left fan in there the 3 days we stayed there, but in all I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kula, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Had a wonderful weekend without leaving Island! Was beautiful, peaceful and relaxing, unit immaculate and beautifully decorated. Food great in restaurant, Staff were friendly and very attentive in restaurant and front desk. Lots of Aloha!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, activity desk and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property also boasts a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kaanapali Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.