We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in general but lots of room for improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kaanapali Shores

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Kaanapali Shores to your Saves list
Aston Kaanapali Shores
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Greeley, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good in general but lots of room for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This place is old. And although I think all of the condos have been renovated to a degree, it's mediocre for the most part. We stayed here for 11 days and this was our third visit. The housekeeping did not come until late afternoon and always haphazardly placed things, didn't replace towels, coffee, etc. The staff is not overly friendly but the grounds are beautiful with a large garden two pools and hot tubs, great food at the restaurant. If you are looking for luxury try the Westin or Honua Kai. If you need a family friendly and 'comfortable' place to stay this would be good. Overall not impressed and will not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    664
    189
    97
    31
See reviews for
766
604
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We spent the first week of our honeymoon here back in 2009 and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were helpful and friendly. Our suite was very large, with a slight ocean view, included two bedrooms and two bathrooms, which we did not expect! We even had insuite washer dryer and a full kitchen. The decor is dated but that didn't bother us very much. The pool was nice, and the beach, although small, seemed private. The pool was very nice. We ate at the restaurant a couple of times for the convenience of it, but the food elsewhere on the island of Maui is much better and not very far at all. We booked a number of excursions through the resort and were happy with all of them. I would recommend this hotel for couples and families if you are not looking for a very upscale resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

we had good time at aston kaanapali shores. It is a nice, neat and clean facility. You have to be careful about parking. Our friends, lost their things from open jeep, eventhough the jeep was parked inside the parking garage. Location wise it is good. You can snorkel right on the beach and see bunch of humuhumu fish. Overall nice hotel, besides the parking incident.

Room Tip: ask for the room facing pool which will face ocean and two islands in backdrop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We rented a condo for 1 week for family of 5 (16,14 and 10yo boys). We booked a 1 bedroom garden view, but when we got there, we asked about a 2 bedroom and were able to upgrade for 1/3 of what the price was on line (never hurts to ask and negotiate!) The room was WONDERFUL! It says 2 bedroom but really 3 bedroom as has a loft with a queen bed. Much needed space for 3 boys! Try to get the 4th floor, it was garden view, but had great view of garden AND ocean. Also being that high, we were not bothered by the birds in the trees at night (as others have complained). Beautiful rooms, kitchen and baths. The grounds were well kept with beautiful flowers. Pool area was enjoyable. We suggest you do the Expedia presentation your first morning and find out about the activities near by and book with them for a discount. Sarah at the poolside Expedia Desk was very nice and helpful. Walking along the pathway, watching the sunset over the ocean was spectacular! The grocery store across the street was helpful though can be expensive. My advise if you fly into Kahului Airport is to stop at the Costco there and load up for the week. The beaches in front of Aston were not good this time of year, but it was easy to drive a few miles north or south and go to the beach at another resort (we suggest Black Rock at the beach at the Sheraton). We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: higher the floor, better the view and less noise from the birds at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at Kaanapali Shores because our other two favorites, the Mahana and Honua Kai were both completely booked. I knew that this place would not be as upscale as the other two but have to say that I was not disappointed either....it also was a lot less per night! We booked a one bedroom, ocean view condo. The resort is older so you get some things the others don't have...like popcorn ceilings...but the condo was clean and had been updated with granite counters in the kitchen and bathroom and also a granite shower wall. The furniture did not look new but was not stained or torn either. This unit did have new carpeting. We stayed in unit #649. It has a nice view of the courtyard and Koi pond below and a decent ocean view as well. It is March so we saw lots of whales! The resort has everything you need..onsite restaurant ( which I will review under restaurants), small package store, small clothing store and they don't have a resort type spa per se, but you can book a massage. There were different activites every day if you wanted to participate like Lei making classes, Hula classes etc. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The grounds are pretty and well kept. Parking was easy. Times market is short walk across the street. All in all I would stay there again. The only real drawback is that this seems to be a big family place so there were a lot of noisy kids running around the grounds and at the pool and beach. Just being a couple, we would prefer a more adult resort but if you are coming with kids they will have a blast!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard have the nicest views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We rented a private condo at this resort for just over two weeks and had a fantastic stay. They have two nice pools, two hot tubs. The staff were always friendly and the location was fantastic with a grocery store so close by. Its just past the Kaanapali boardwalk, which is a shame, as the resort next door locks their gate - making it very cumbersome to get to the boardwalk with a stroller. If you're stroller free its no big deal as you can bypass the road on the beach. That was the only negative though!

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have ocean views, except perhaps the ones at the back. But, the resort is right on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Mn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We won't repeat the other 5 star reviews because we agree with all of them. We found the grounds beautiful, the staff accommodating and friendly. Our 2 bedroom ocean view condo was clean and comfortable. We saw whales every day from our balcony (hint: bring binoculars). Would we stay here again if we are lucky enough to return to Maui?? YES!!!!

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, activity desk and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property also boasts a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kaanapali Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.