We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Days in a 2 Bedroom Unit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kaanapali Shores

Save Saved
You added Aston Kaanapali Shores to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
St Louis Metro
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“5 Days in a 2 Bedroom Unit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We booked our two 2 bedroom units several months in advance of our stay, requesting that the units be located on the same floor. About a month or so prior to check-in, I emailed them with the same request. They made note of it and asked that we contact them about 5 days before check-in, which we did. Upon arrival, we were told that they had received our request but they are very busy and were not able to accommodate us. There are 2 buildings and at least they did put us in the same building. Our unit was 1001 and the other was 709, (if you are facing the ocean, it was the building on the right). Both units had incredible views of the ocean. We were there the first part of March, which is whale season and we saw some incredible whale sightings from our lanai. The last morning we watched a mother feed her calf for at least 45 minutes very close to the shore. Incredible! We did take a day trip to the island of Lanai and would definitely recommend that. The boat stopped so that we could view the whales when they were sighted (although all boats must stay at least 100 yards from the whales) and we saw huge pods of spinner dolphins that swam right up to our boat. The snorkeling at Lanai is incredible, just like swimming in an aquarium. The coral is brightly colored as are the fish. Beautiful! This is the most incredible snorkeling we've ever done and we've been to Kauai, Grand Cayman, Cozumel, Florida and Aruba. The beach at Mahana is not very wide and the surf was pretty rough so we did not snorkel here, but many others did and said they saw lots of fish and even an octopus and an eel. You do have daily linens, coffee and laundry and dishwasher detergent provided to you during your stay. Had I known this, I would not have packed it. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor on an upper level. The view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    838
    626
    181
    94
    30
See reviews for
730
558
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Friendly staff and accommodated our request to move to a studio with a better view on the 7th floor. WIFI didn't work but we were on vacation so didn't really care, just didn't wish there was the extra $15 amenity fee, maybe they should just hide it in the price. Restaurant was great, pools very nice. Beach out front has been washed away but there are plenty of awesome beaches to visit by car on Maui. We had a studio and it was perfect for the 2 of us. Grocery is right across the street with a couple of restaurants. Lots of whales and turtles to watch at sunset. Parking is limited in Ka'anapali so there is a $10/day parking fee as well. We may look at booking in Kihei for next time to avoid the extra fees. This hotel seems to really family friendly so if you are looking for adult peace and quiet, this might not be the place for you. Great for families travelling together.

Room Tip: Rooms from the 5th floor up should give you a view if on the inside court yard but the birds are pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is right across the street from a good grocery store (Times Market) and the local bus in to Lahaina so it is not necessary to rent a car. The room was very clean and the hotel pool and hot tub were well cared for. There are a number of decent restaurants within walking distance of Kaanapali Shores....we felt the best one was Duke's located beachfront throughout a public park just south of the Kaanapali Beach Club which is right next door to the Aston Kaanapali Shores. In front of the Beach Club is also the bus stop to Lahaina - just walk right as you come out of the lobby across the parking lot and you will see the bus stop sign next door. Good views of humpback whales and green turtles from the beach front. We booked this hotel through a package vacation so I am not sure how the cost worked out!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our family of three (the two of us and our three year old son) stayed at Kaanapali Shores from Feb 12-26, 2013. At best it was overpriced, at worst it was filthy.

We booked an "Ocean View" 1 bedroom suite, and leading up to the trip we tried requesting a room near the ocean side of the building; all along we were told that they would try to accomodate our request but wouldn't guarantee anything. The room we were put in upon arrival was technically "ocean view", in that we could see the ocean, but most of our view was of the
parking lot. This in itself, coupled with the dated decor, was disappointing, but upon looking over the room, we found that it was actually filthy, and appeared to have been poorly cleaned for years. For example, in the bathroom there was some kind of build up on the walls and thick dust
covering the vents - very obvious things that should have been cleaned on a regular basis but obviously had not been.

Had we been able to find another hotel on short notice we likely would have moved, but in high season this was not possible. We had one of the managers come up so we could show her what we were talking about, and during the course of discussing with her what our options were, she abruptly walked out of the room. Yes we were upset and a little heated, but she was just as
heated and had no real solutions for us then. Her only other option was a room with a worse view that she herself said we would not find to be any better or cleaner than the one we were in.

By a couple of hours later, they had found us a cleaner room, which also had a much nicer view, so with no real option to go anywhere else, we stayed. However, this room was still not terribly clean - as evidenced by the long black hairs left on the locked closet doors in the bathroom.

The next day we spoke to the Rooms Division manager, who was very understanding of our concerns and offered us a goodwill credit on our room and restaurant bill, and also spoke to housekeeping to have the room properly cleaned. However, after the first time housekeeping did their "deep clean", we were not convinced, as the same hairs were still on the closet door, as
well as a large clump of hair in the bed sheets. We had the Rooms Division manager up to the room to show him, and he once again had housekeeping do a better cleaning, after which it appeared to our eyes to be at least decently clean. However, we had our son sleep on a rollaway bed rather than the sofa bed, as we were uneasy about what might be living in the sofa bed.

Throughout our stay we saw other evidence of low cleaning standards, such as the same piece of garbage remaining in the corridor for days.

The other major drawback for us with this hotel was the lack of a beach. On the website there are photos of a decent sized sand beach, but what we found was a tiny beach (i.e. non-existant at high tide), full of rocks. Very misleading. This forced us to go elsewhere to find usable beaches.

We did make a lot of use of the oceanside pool area, though if we had not had a three year old to wake us up to get down there right for 8 o'clock opening, finding pool chairs would have been difficult. The hottub did not always appear to be terribly clean.

Poolside food/drinks service was slow at times, but seemed to be due to not having enough staff on at busy times. We found the food to be average - for example, the macadamia nut pancakes did not have actual macadamia nuts in or on top of them, they were just made from a mix that apparently had macadamia nuts ground up in it.

The one bedroom suite was a decent size, and definitely bigger than what you would get in neighbouring hotels at higher prices, which is really the only reason we didn't book at a place like the Westin Villas, which would have been something like a minimum of $400 a night for a garden view studio as opposed to $300 a night for a 1 bedroom ocean view at Kaanapali Shores. It was also nice to have a washer and dryer in the suite. The kitchen appeared to have been recently updated and was in good shape, though the placement of electrical outlets meant having to move the toaster and coffee maker to somewhat odd places to plug them in.

Bellmen were happy to help us load our luggage and groceries up to our room when we checked in, but stood and watched us load all of our luggage into our rental Jeep when we were leaving without so much as offering to help, other than offering to take our picture after we had loaded everything already.

Positives? If you're in the right room (only by luck of the draw apparently) the view is lovely - saw plenty of whales, once very close off shore as we watched the sunset. The hotel is located close to amenities such as a grocery store and convenience store.

Overall, not a very good experience. The worst part is that there seems to be a lack of pride in taking care of the place and providing quality service to guests. The one manager who did make the effort to try to make our experience better has moved on to a new job in Honolulu, while the manager who walked out on us is still there as far as I know.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Our housekeeping department cleans over 120,000 rooms each year. While theyare known for doing a very good job in general, it goes without saying that by the law of averages, there will be an occasion where the cleaning doesn't meet the individual guest's expectations. If/when that happens, we apologize and address the issues that are brought to our attention with the team members who were responsible for that specific room.

With the above said, it is important to share some additional information in this case, because this guest referred our recently departed rooms division manager specifically. The manager the guest refers to kept a record of this encounter which reflects that his inspection revealed a very difficult to see a folicle of hair that could have been easily missed and that he was in disbelief over the guest's reaction to the condition of the unit, which he found to be clean. Naturally, in an effort not to create confrontation with the guest at that point and because we try to do everything we can to accommodate guests needs/desires, though he personally didn't feel the concern was valid, he arranged to have an additional cleaning take place on the unit.

In the end, our team went out of their way to re-clean the unit for these guests. We're sorry that our housekeeper missed the tiny hair that was brought to our attention and that our efforts didn't meet the guests expectations, but don't feel that their representation of events is fair and wanted to provide the additional background in this regard.

With respect to the beach, winter ocean swells had taken their toll on the beach over the last month or so, but it has already started to rebuild and we expect it to be back to its more normal size/level soon.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los altos,ca
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

we have stayed at several places on the island - and this is our 'go-to' great value resort. For the price and the space you get, we are always very happy. We find the 1-bedroom garden views offer the best deal. There are no surprises here. Beds are comfortable and include a king bed in the bedroom, which i really like. Units have been upgraded with flat-screen TVs in both rooms. There are 2 nice stores on site, one with some grocery items, one with beach supplies and clothes. They are not overpriced. There is now an onsite photographer, which we took advantage of and loved! Other highlights: you can walk to a grocery store, and to the best fish taco stand (Ono Taco), as well as a couple of other restaurants. Easy access to great beaches to the north - Napili and Kapalua Bay are great for kids.

What you don't get: fancy pools with water slides. there are two pools but they are standard. Also the beach is rocky and minimal. On the upside there are often sea turtles swimming close to shore! You need to take a 5-10 minute walk to get to a nicer swimming beach (in front of Honua Kai or the Westin Villas). There is a great beach path that has been built, which allows you to walk all the way down to Black Rock.

They also have a kids eat free program at their restaurant and have a pretty good kids menu. The restaurant has great views of the ocean.

We really like Kaanapali shores- we've been there 3 times and think it offers a great value.! Book the 3rd floor gardenview and you may get a view of the ocean like we did (unit 345 was very nice.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We actually rented an independently owned condo in the development, and were exceptionally happy with the unit. We understood the "opt-out" option on the amenities so there were no surprises - we did not use the gym or housekeeping. The pool area is lovely and the pool was great - we had an abundance of pool towels. We did use the grills a couple times and though they were a distance from our unit, I have to say I wouldn't want the grills near the room because of the crowds that queue up to cook. We did cook in our unit several times and loved the convenience of this location, especially having a ground floor unit. I had a fabulous massage one morning and found the beach front massage cabana to be serene and quiet. I would return to this location in a heartbeat because its convenient and I just loved watching the turtles and the whales.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We just spent 9 days here so here is the summary, we rented room 404 which is independent renting..watch the reviews some are separate from hotel etc.

The good:
1) great location to most attractions, grocery store across the street/strip mall, abc store 2 blocks away (gas station large chain store with about everything you forgot) restaurants etc.
2) nice view of the whales
3) ocean view from room was great but I doubt next time I would pay the extra for the view, we sat on the porch for like 5 minutes lol the whole time
4) the pool by the ocean was great, most kids go to the "smaller" pool
5) the on grounds restaurant (it's expensive but handy for lunch if you don't want to drink n drive!
price were high
6) "beach closet" they stock it with beach supply, umbrella, float boards, beach mats etc. they didn't mention that in their description..strange
7) tvs in both bedrooms also (didn't watch much)
8) plenty of towels, blankets, pillows etc. beach towels at the pools
9) washer n dryer and they even worked
10) well stocked with pans, blender, toaster, dishes etc. found very handy
11) we had elected to "no cleaning fee" so we could "spread out" and not worry about putting stuff around
12) pool bar YAY

The bad:
1) the beach..it isn't very wide, I mean like 20 feet, we walked down it the first day but it isn't a beach front to mellow out on, no swimming (rocks, bad) good view is about all I can say
2) the appliances had issues, the dishwasher washed but didn't rinse and doesn't shut off !
the tuners for dvd, tv don't work in living room (we didn't watch much tv though)
3) traffic, traffic, go EARLY in the day, did I mention the TRAFFIC? bring a collapsing cooler with you, will save you grief to pack water and snacks on your "day trips"
4) everything is expensive..go to Costco by the airport on your way in and "food up" it will save you $ it is CROWDED at all times.

the ugly:
1) the king bed...I lost the flip and got the room with two twins..I think I actually won..the king bed should be thrown in the ocean.
2) dated condo, cupboards etc. doors are non-fitting etc. but it isn't my home, it's a rental and nothing fell on me while there
3) the walk to the room..omg..from car garage to room with bundles there is no cart to use so we emptied our wheeled suitcases to "carry" stuff up, quite a hike
4) PARKING FEE, $9.00day in a parking garage, they don't tell you to save your "blue" card when you enter daily..umm..SAVE YOUR BLUE CARD..lol
5) the birds..they are sooo loud, felt sorry for the folks with rooms by the lobby walking around you can't talk over them at dusk/dawn, seriously, the loudest thing I've heard birds do roosting in my life!!
6) fees for this, fees for that, check your receipts or ask..you can do gym daily for around $11.00 if you "walk in" to avoid the resort fee thingy of $15.00/day

overall, not bad, but I think I will look for something else next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Booking an independent unit works for some and there are some nicely decorated, well maintained ones out there. However, there is also the risk of getting one of those that perhaps falls short of expectations, such as the one this guest describes. The main rental program is another great alternative, as there is a much greater level of consistency in terms of overall quality, design decor and maintenance, along with hundreds of choices in terms of room location, etc. These also come with daily services and amenities.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, activity desk and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property also boasts a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kaanapali Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.