We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kaanapali Shores

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Kaanapali Shores to your Saves list
Aston Kaanapali Shores
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Pender Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is right across the street from a good grocery store (Times Market) and the local bus in to Lahaina so it is not necessary to rent a car. The room was very clean and the hotel pool and hot tub were well cared for. There are a number of decent restaurants within walking distance of Kaanapali Shores....we felt the best one was Duke's located beachfront throughout a public park just south of the Kaanapali Beach Club which is right next door to the Aston Kaanapali Shores. In front of the Beach Club is also the bus stop to Lahaina - just walk right as you come out of the lobby across the parking lot and you will see the bus stop sign next door. Good views of humpback whales and green turtles from the beach front. We booked this hotel through a package vacation so I am not sure how the cost worked out!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    665
    189
    97
    31
See reviews for
766
604
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our family of three (the two of us and our three year old son) stayed at Kaanapali Shores from Feb 12-26, 2013. At best it was overpriced, at worst it was filthy.

We booked an "Ocean View" 1 bedroom suite, and leading up to the trip we tried requesting a room near the ocean side of the building; all along we were told that they would try to accomodate our request but wouldn't guarantee anything. The room we were put in upon arrival was technically "ocean view", in that we could see the ocean, but most of our view was of the
parking lot. This in itself, coupled with the dated decor, was disappointing, but upon looking over the room, we found that it was actually filthy, and appeared to have been poorly cleaned for years. For example, in the bathroom there was some kind of build up on the walls and thick dust
covering the vents - very obvious things that should have been cleaned on a regular basis but obviously had not been.

Had we been able to find another hotel on short notice we likely would have moved, but in high season this was not possible. We had one of the managers come up so we could show her what we were talking about, and during the course of discussing with her what our options were, she abruptly walked out of the room. Yes we were upset and a little heated, but she was just as
heated and had no real solutions for us then. Her only other option was a room with a worse view that she herself said we would not find to be any better or cleaner than the one we were in.

By a couple of hours later, they had found us a cleaner room, which also had a much nicer view, so with no real option to go anywhere else, we stayed. However, this room was still not terribly clean - as evidenced by the long black hairs left on the locked closet doors in the bathroom.

The next day we spoke to the Rooms Division manager, who was very understanding of our concerns and offered us a goodwill credit on our room and restaurant bill, and also spoke to housekeeping to have the room properly cleaned. However, after the first time housekeeping did their "deep clean", we were not convinced, as the same hairs were still on the closet door, as
well as a large clump of hair in the bed sheets. We had the Rooms Division manager up to the room to show him, and he once again had housekeeping do a better cleaning, after which it appeared to our eyes to be at least decently clean. However, we had our son sleep on a rollaway bed rather than the sofa bed, as we were uneasy about what might be living in the sofa bed.

Throughout our stay we saw other evidence of low cleaning standards, such as the same piece of garbage remaining in the corridor for days.

The other major drawback for us with this hotel was the lack of a beach. On the website there are photos of a decent sized sand beach, but what we found was a tiny beach (i.e. non-existant at high tide), full of rocks. Very misleading. This forced us to go elsewhere to find usable beaches.

We did make a lot of use of the oceanside pool area, though if we had not had a three year old to wake us up to get down there right for 8 o'clock opening, finding pool chairs would have been difficult. The hottub did not always appear to be terribly clean.

Poolside food/drinks service was slow at times, but seemed to be due to not having enough staff on at busy times. We found the food to be average - for example, the macadamia nut pancakes did not have actual macadamia nuts in or on top of them, they were just made from a mix that apparently had macadamia nuts ground up in it.

The one bedroom suite was a decent size, and definitely bigger than what you would get in neighbouring hotels at higher prices, which is really the only reason we didn't book at a place like the Westin Villas, which would have been something like a minimum of $400 a night for a garden view studio as opposed to $300 a night for a 1 bedroom ocean view at Kaanapali Shores. It was also nice to have a washer and dryer in the suite. The kitchen appeared to have been recently updated and was in good shape, though the placement of electrical outlets meant having to move the toaster and coffee maker to somewhat odd places to plug them in.

Bellmen were happy to help us load our luggage and groceries up to our room when we checked in, but stood and watched us load all of our luggage into our rental Jeep when we were leaving without so much as offering to help, other than offering to take our picture after we had loaded everything already.

Positives? If you're in the right room (only by luck of the draw apparently) the view is lovely - saw plenty of whales, once very close off shore as we watched the sunset. The hotel is located close to amenities such as a grocery store and convenience store.

Overall, not a very good experience. The worst part is that there seems to be a lack of pride in taking care of the place and providing quality service to guests. The one manager who did make the effort to try to make our experience better has moved on to a new job in Honolulu, while the manager who walked out on us is still there as far as I know.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Our housekeeping department cleans over 120,000 rooms each year. While theyare known for doing a very good job in general, it goes without saying that by the law of averages, there will be an occasion where the cleaning doesn't meet the individual guest's expectations. If/when that happens, we apologize and address the issues that are brought to our attention with the team members who were responsible for that specific room.

With the above said, it is important to share some additional information in this case, because this guest referred our recently departed rooms division manager specifically. The manager the guest refers to kept a record of this encounter which reflects that his inspection revealed a very difficult to see a folicle of hair that could have been easily missed and that he was in disbelief over the guest's reaction to the condition of the unit, which he found to be clean. Naturally, in an effort not to create confrontation with the guest at that point and because we try to do everything we can to accommodate guests needs/desires, though he personally didn't feel the concern was valid, he arranged to have an additional cleaning take place on the unit.

In the end, our team went out of their way to re-clean the unit for these guests. We're sorry that our housekeeper missed the tiny hair that was brought to our attention and that our efforts didn't meet the guests expectations, but don't feel that their representation of events is fair and wanted to provide the additional background in this regard.

With respect to the beach, winter ocean swells had taken their toll on the beach over the last month or so, but it has already started to rebuild and we expect it to be back to its more normal size/level soon.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los altos,ca
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

we have stayed at several places on the island - and this is our 'go-to' great value resort. For the price and the space you get, we are always very happy. We find the 1-bedroom garden views offer the best deal. There are no surprises here. Beds are comfortable and include a king bed in the bedroom, which i really like. Units have been upgraded with flat-screen TVs in both rooms. There are 2 nice stores on site, one with some grocery items, one with beach supplies and clothes. They are not overpriced. There is now an onsite photographer, which we took advantage of and loved! Other highlights: you can walk to a grocery store, and to the best fish taco stand (Ono Taco), as well as a couple of other restaurants. Easy access to great beaches to the north - Napili and Kapalua Bay are great for kids.

What you don't get: fancy pools with water slides. there are two pools but they are standard. Also the beach is rocky and minimal. On the upside there are often sea turtles swimming close to shore! You need to take a 5-10 minute walk to get to a nicer swimming beach (in front of Honua Kai or the Westin Villas). There is a great beach path that has been built, which allows you to walk all the way down to Black Rock.

They also have a kids eat free program at their restaurant and have a pretty good kids menu. The restaurant has great views of the ocean.

We really like Kaanapali shores- we've been there 3 times and think it offers a great value.! Book the 3rd floor gardenview and you may get a view of the ocean like we did (unit 345 was very nice.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We actually rented an independently owned condo in the development, and were exceptionally happy with the unit. We understood the "opt-out" option on the amenities so there were no surprises - we did not use the gym or housekeeping. The pool area is lovely and the pool was great - we had an abundance of pool towels. We did use the grills a couple times and though they were a distance from our unit, I have to say I wouldn't want the grills near the room because of the crowds that queue up to cook. We did cook in our unit several times and loved the convenience of this location, especially having a ground floor unit. I had a fabulous massage one morning and found the beach front massage cabana to be serene and quiet. I would return to this location in a heartbeat because its convenient and I just loved watching the turtles and the whales.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We just spent 9 days here so here is the summary, we rented room 404 which is independent renting..watch the reviews some are separate from hotel etc.

The good:
1) great location to most attractions, grocery store across the street/strip mall, abc store 2 blocks away (gas station large chain store with about everything you forgot) restaurants etc.
2) nice view of the whales
3) ocean view from room was great but I doubt next time I would pay the extra for the view, we sat on the porch for like 5 minutes lol the whole time
4) the pool by the ocean was great, most kids go to the "smaller" pool
5) the on grounds restaurant (it's expensive but handy for lunch if you don't want to drink n drive!
price were high
6) "beach closet" they stock it with beach supply, umbrella, float boards, beach mats etc. they didn't mention that in their description..strange
7) tvs in both bedrooms also (didn't watch much)
8) plenty of towels, blankets, pillows etc. beach towels at the pools
9) washer n dryer and they even worked
10) well stocked with pans, blender, toaster, dishes etc. found very handy
11) we had elected to "no cleaning fee" so we could "spread out" and not worry about putting stuff around
12) pool bar YAY

The bad:
1) the beach..it isn't very wide, I mean like 20 feet, we walked down it the first day but it isn't a beach front to mellow out on, no swimming (rocks, bad) good view is about all I can say
2) the appliances had issues, the dishwasher washed but didn't rinse and doesn't shut off !
the tuners for dvd, tv don't work in living room (we didn't watch much tv though)
3) traffic, traffic, go EARLY in the day, did I mention the TRAFFIC? bring a collapsing cooler with you, will save you grief to pack water and snacks on your "day trips"
4) everything is expensive..go to Costco by the airport on your way in and "food up" it will save you $ it is CROWDED at all times.

the ugly:
1) the king bed...I lost the flip and got the room with two twins..I think I actually won..the king bed should be thrown in the ocean.
2) dated condo, cupboards etc. doors are non-fitting etc. but it isn't my home, it's a rental and nothing fell on me while there
3) the walk to the room..omg..from car garage to room with bundles there is no cart to use so we emptied our wheeled suitcases to "carry" stuff up, quite a hike
4) PARKING FEE, $9.00day in a parking garage, they don't tell you to save your "blue" card when you enter daily..umm..SAVE YOUR BLUE CARD..lol
5) the birds..they are sooo loud, felt sorry for the folks with rooms by the lobby walking around you can't talk over them at dusk/dawn, seriously, the loudest thing I've heard birds do roosting in my life!!
6) fees for this, fees for that, check your receipts or ask..you can do gym daily for around $11.00 if you "walk in" to avoid the resort fee thingy of $15.00/day

overall, not bad, but I think I will look for something else next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Booking an independent unit works for some and there are some nicely decorated, well maintained ones out there. However, there is also the risk of getting one of those that perhaps falls short of expectations, such as the one this guest describes. The main rental program is another great alternative, as there is a much greater level of consistency in terms of overall quality, design decor and maintenance, along with hundreds of choices in terms of room location, etc. These also come with daily services and amenities.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I’m so thrilled that we chose the Aston Ka’anapali Shores for our week-long stay in Maui! We reserved a studio with kitchen, but were pleasantly surprised to receive a complimentary upgrade to a one-bedroom condo with ocean view upon check-in. We were on the 9th floor (penthouse level) and had a view of the ocean and the parking lot. I was a little worried when I realized our room was right next to the elevator, but if there was anyone else on our floor while we were there, I never heard them. The kitchen was stocked with all the dishes and silverware we needed, and they also provided coffee filters, coffee, tea, sugar, dish soap, dishwasher detergent, and dish towels daily. They also provided a package of laundry detergent for the washer and dryer. Did they come in and clean the kitchen for me? No, and I was perfectly fine with that. Same thing with the rest of the condo – they came in daily to make the bed and restock kitchen supplies (and sometimes bath towels), but they didn’t provide the maid service that people might be used to receiving at hotels (again, totally fine with that).
The pools here are average, yet adequate, and the beach was non-existent while we were there due to the surf (Mother Nature happens!). We rented snorkel gear, beach chairs, and a cooler from Snorkel Bob’s across from the Aston, hopped in our car, drove about two minutes, parked in a free parking lot by the Westin and sat at the beach in front of all the higher-end resorts. The snorkeling was good in front of the Westin, and we watched whales all day long.
We worked with Andrea at the activities desk to book all of our excursions and we’re so glad we went through her rather than try to figure it out on our own. Excellent service!!!
My only complaint was that we had a heck of a time with our room keys. It usually took about four or five tries to get them to open the door, and a couple of times we had to go down to the front desk to get them reset – they demagnetize way more easily than most hotel keys. Not the end of the world, but the last thing I want to do my vacation is stand in line at the front desk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Overall this is a very nice hotel, the grounds are beautifully maintained and the staff are very polite. And to be fair, I have a lot of energy and like to get a lot out of my vacations. I also hate to be nickel and dimed after I've already paid the costs.
Last evening the weather wasn't nice so my wife and I wanted to get a DVD. The hotel has a rental box. But then I found out that I would have to pay $40 for a weeks worth of rentals. I declined that and had to walk across the street to a Red Box and pay $1.25 for a movie.
So this morning, (I'm still here), I wake up early and want to exercise, (still on California time), so I have to sneak over to the neighboring hotel to use their exercise room because ours isn't open yet, which begs the question why? After a partial work out I figure my own hotel would be open and I returned back to the Aston to finish up. But then I'm told that I have to pay a $10 fee per day or $40 for the week. Really? I declined and decided that the other hotel was friendlier since they seemed to always be open. Of course maybe its easy to be open early if you don't have to pay an employee to extract money from guests.
Well now its about 7:30 and I figure, oh well, I'll enjoy a cup of coffee and enjoy the morning in the jacuzzi. But I'm told its not open yet because they have to add the pool chemicals. Really? Now being that the pool closes at 10pm, why can't they do that at night? I have a pool and jacuzzi at my house and if my guests wanted to use the spa in the morning, I would plan ahead cause it's not hard to do.
I don't know how much the hotel makes on that DVD rental, or the exercise room, or by not working their maintenance crew in the evening, but I'll try for a different Maui hotel next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We appreciate the compliments on the service team and resort overall.

Guests enjoy a whole list of amenities that come as part of an amenity package, for which there is an amenity fee. If you are not a guest of the main, on-site rental program, you then don't qualify for this benefit and must pay the weekly fee seperately to obtain the amenities.

Our pool hours are posted and our pools open at 8:00 a.m. This is out of consideration for our guests with rooms surrounding the pool areas. We treat our pools in the early morning hours, but they are ready for guest use by our posted opening time unless there are extenuating circumstances. Also pools in Hawaii are typically not covered, so treating them at night in a resort environment might make create a safety issue, as at times folks don't pay attention to the rules and jump in after posted hours. We wouldn't want t subject them to unbalanced treatment levels.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, activity desk and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property also boasts a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kaanapali Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.