We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kaanapali Shores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Kaanapali Shores to your Saves list
Aston Kaanapali Shores
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
New South Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great staff and good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

1st time in Maui and staying at an Aston hotel.

Good hotel but the staff are the standout.
We experienced a problem with our bedding arrangments and the problem was handled by Ross at the front desk in a professional and friendly manner.

Recommended for the hotel but the staff make it special.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    665
    189
    97
    31
See reviews for
766
604
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wainwright, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I just got back from Maui and I wanted to share my experience with you. I cannot say enough about how great the service was at the Aston Kaanapali Shores. From the Front Desk to House Keeping we could not have asked for more accommodating individuals. I have stayed at hundreds of different establishments in my travels but never have I received the service I received at this hotel/resort on such a consistent basis. Great Job!!!

We had a one bedroom room with an oceanview and it was great. Lots of room for the two of us, kitchen was good with all the requirements to make our stay comfortable. We did pay a resort fee per day but this included not only WIFI but a daily paper and free rental of 2 DVDs per day to watch in the evenings in our room. Our room was made up each day which is not included in a lot of condominium style establishments and everything was cleaning and inviting.

I would not only return to this hotel in the future, I would recommend it to my customers. Thank you for the great stay and the great employees you have working at your establishment.

Room Tip: Room 718 was excellent due to the view and the space
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was our third visit to Aston Kaanapali Shores and another great experience!!! I love this resort. From check in to check out everything was wonderful. I can't recommend this place enough. Everything you need with the comfort and location necessary to make your trip to Maui a memorable experience. Great for families and couples. Best of both worlds. Get the ocean view room it is worth the extra cost. Why fly all that way and not to be able to see the ocean from your room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I with our 3 kids (4, 6, and 11) spent 3 out of our 8 nights in Maui at this hotel. This is a large property and the grounds are well maintained and clean. We stayed in a garden view suite that was more like an ocean view - awesome!! Our suite had an equipped kitchenette but we did not use it because I just did not want to cook while on this vacation. The furniturein in the room was ugly as my kids put it. Yeah, they need to update! Rooms were clean and housekeeping did their job.
Pools and pool areas were okay and clean.
They sent a bottle of champagne to our room on our anniversary day which we really appreciated - very nice touch from them.
The shops across the road were very convenient.
Overall, we enjoyed our 3 nights here then left for Wailea for the most amazing and awesome 5 nights of our vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connersville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed 3 nights and had a wonderful time. Very relaxing place to come back to after all of the great activities. Would love to go back. Beautiful flower garden, right on the beach. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great family holiday. Very easy to locate the resort, and only a few minutes drive from the Kapalua Airport. Best to fly into this airport (JHM) if coming from Honolulu vs flying in the main airport and having the 1hr drive.

There is a choice of two pools. Both great with warm Spa's next to each. The Beach in front is nice and sandy, but rocky as you enter the water. Better for the kids 100m South with sandy bottom to go into the water.

Great boardwalk along the beach down to the other resorts with access to other Restaurants too.

Fantastic Grocery Store right across the road. Some good take-away and dine in Restaurants if you want to stay close to unit. Snorkel and Surf gear rental across the road as well.

All in all, a great place to stay with the family. We have 3 girls aged 2, 5, 7. The two bedroom unit was great with the older ones in a bedroom with 2 single beds and the little one in a cot in the master bedroom.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North Side get all the late afternoon sun. Can get hot if you leave the Lanai doors op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A fantastic true Hawaiian experience. Friendly, helpful, clean, above all our expectations. We really enjoyed staying at this resort. Unfortunately our Travel Agent didn't put us in an Aston resort in Honolulu and the difference was very noticable. We would definately choose Aston for our next holiday, and if we ever return to Maui we will definitely stay at Aston Kaanapali Shores.

Room Tip: Above ground floor have better views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, activity desk and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property also boasts a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kaanapali Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.