We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lanai views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kaanapali Shores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aston Kaanapali Shores to your Saves list
Aston Kaanapali Shores
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF FALL TRAVEL
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
Houston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great lanai views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had 4th ocean front 2 bedroom condo. Requested updated unit per other reviews. Unit was somewhat updated but not to the extent as ones shown on property website, but it was very acceptable. The best part was the large wrap-around lanai accessible from master bdrm, living rm and dining rm. We had outstanding views of the pool, the beach and the nearby islands. We had not planned on preparing any meals which worked out as the kitchen was sparsely furnished. The property staff were very courteous and helpful. The on-site restaurant is ok for lunch around the pool, but wouldn't recommend dining there for bulk of your meals. The beach was almost non-existent except at low tide. Be aware that the boardwalk doesn't extend to this area. There are a couple of places to grab a quick meal across the street along with a grocery store; however, the best shopping & restaurant areas must be reached by car. There is also a local shuttle in the area, but we didn't use it.

Room Tip: If you want direct ocean front and/or updated condo, you must specifically request it. We did not w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    646
    187
    96
    31
See reviews for
752
586
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lahaina, Hawaii
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed over a weekend as a couple's getaway. The grounds are mature and lovely. Staff is seasoned and friendly. We had a one bedroom condo which was beautifully furnished. The location is north of the dense Kaanapali beach area so not as crowded. There are two pools with hot tubs we found it best to get to them first thing in the morning. Lots of families stay here but rooms are quiet. No room service but onsite restaurant is very good for breakfast and lunch. One sour point, the water in the condo had a mildew taste which was shocking since I work in Lahaina and have no such problem with the water. There is a big supermarket across the street so we picked up bottled water. Kitchen was well equipped and king size bed was perfect.

Room Tip: there is a central play area which tends to be noisy if you like to sit on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I traveled with my girlfriend and another couple to the Aston Kaanapali Shores Resort for a quick 2 night stay from 1/14/13-1/16/13. We arrived at the hotel around 12:30, meanwhile check-in wasn't until 3pm and we were still able to get a room without waiting. The woman at the front desk area was very nice and had such an upbeat attitude upon our arrival. We arrived to our room which was a partial ocean-view suite and we loved every about it. There was plenty of space and the rooms were kept very neat and clean. The bedding was very comfortable and the A/C worked perfectly. We only had a couple appetizers and the poolside restaurant, but it was very delicious and the service was very good as well. While swimming in the water, yes the beach is on the small side and was a little rocky, but we made the best of it and even caught some whales jumping out of the water directly across from our beach! We stocked up our fridge at the Time Supermarket across the street, which is within walking distance. All in all, this hotel was very nice and for the price, we cannot complain what we received. Thanks to the great staff for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Went to Maui for 8 days for a wedding. Booked a privately-owned condo at Kaanapali Shores, 2 bedroom, 2 bath with ocean views from both bedrooms and living room. Fully stocked kitchen w/all utensils needed for cooking own meals. Bathrooms came w/tons of towels and beach towels. Nice sized balcony with table/chairs. TV's in all rooms. The only bad thing I can say is that the water in master bath shower was not very warm. Other shower was perfect! I had friends at same complex in suites that were not privately owned (they just booked thru front desk) and they were equally happy with their stay. There are two pools, spa, restaurants, shops, small store w/necessities, computer room, ample parking and the grounds are perfectly manicured. Will definitely stay there on our next trip to Maui!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My two college-age kids and I stayed here for the first time, and loved it. We booked with timeshare points from a different group, and were delighted. Right on the beach, full kitchen (not just a microwave), washer/dryer in the room, great recommendations from concierge, wonderful breakfasts at the hotel restaurant, and right next to the Maui Bus stop. We could see whales from our balcony. We will be back.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views, ask for room as close to the ocean as possible, and be sure to conf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel was spacious,our room was clean and had all the utensils and cookware we needed.We were a party of 6 so we used everything.Our view was very nice,we had a
2-bedroom but the sofa pulled out to make a nice bed.The staff was very helpful and we
made use of the Expedia staff for all of our reservations.We only used the restuarant 1 time
but service was very fast and the food was good.Beautiful beach but kind rocky for boogie
boarding.A short drive up to Flemming beach was the ticket if you wanted to play in the ocean.
This was our third trip to Maui and we found many new things thanks to the staff at the hotel.
The only downfall was we traveled during the Chrismas break and it got quite crowded right after Christmas,so i would try to pick around the holiday. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

So disappointed I literally cried when I saw the room! We booked the 1 bedroom standard suite and it looked NOTHING like the pictures on the website (granite counters, comfy couches). The carpet was filthy and the tile on the floor was so uneven we had to watch where we stepped. The living area was large but there was hardly any furniture. The couch was so small that only 2 people could comfortably sit on it. There were uncovered tv wires coming out of the wall. Luckily our kids are older and we didn't have to worry about them grabbing them. The room overlooked a side parking lot and we had a great view of the storage area where roll-away beds were kept on a covered patio. When I complained about the lack of quality of the room and wanted to change to another room, the front staff simple said they were booked the rest of the week. There is also a daily ammentity charge and parking which totaled $19 a day. The housecleaning staff was very nice and the kids enjoyed the pool/spa. It was nice to have a washer/dryer in the room. If you plan on staying here, don't book the standard 1 bedroom suite on the 3rd floor!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
It was very disappointing to read this response. We are sorry that this guest's expectations were not met. Expectation levels are subjective, and this particular unit has been occupied 90% of the time over the past 12 months without one single other complaint on record, It is one of the last units scheduled for carpet replacement and will have that done within 60 days. The tile is done in an interesting way, but this is the first time anyone has found it offensive. The unit has new cabinetry, new apliances, new TV, etc. In short, it's condition is far from that which should drive someone to tears, but again, we understand that it is all about the expectations of the individual. We're sorry this individual/party didn't appreciate the decor and do sincerely hope that they were able to otherwise enjoy the beauty and hospitality of Maui during their visit.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, activity desk and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property also boasts a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kaanapali Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.