We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well rounded experiences.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kaanapali Shores

Save Saved
You added Aston Kaanapali Shores to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A well rounded experiences.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My wife and I would defiantly stay at the Kaanapali Shores again.
Pros:
The property has a lot to offer the first timer and experienced to Maui. If you forget to pack something, as long as it’s not an Rx, they probably have it in one of the one site shops. The rooms are well appointed and like everything, you get what you pay for. The Studio Garden view is a bargain and the view will be proportionate. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. Two pools and two hot tubs are large and ample. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. Google” street view” has a nice set of images of the grounds around the pools and beach access. The dry portion of the beach is of course amazing. Read below about the wet portion. The photos on this site do a good job of representing the property.
Cons:
The water portion of the beach has a fair amount of coral in it. You will want water socks of some type of swim fins. I found it best to swim at high tide with a mask and snorkel to avoid the sharps. The check-in process, as with many large properties, is lengthy. The five person group ahead of me took 12 minutes to register. My two person group was seven minutes. Our room had a few minor issues but nothing that couldn’t wait until checkout to report. A Family member staying in another room had trouble with the sliding glass doors that are interlocked with the AC.. When the doors are open the AC turns off automatically. In her case, the interlock (Magnet) bracket was broken and was difficult to align. This made the room quite muggy.

Room Tip: If a sunset view from your room is important be sure to ask for that type of room. Most do not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,768 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    837
    626
    181
    94
    30
See reviews for
730
558
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed in the villas and the room was perfect. The kitchen allowed us to eat some meals and snacks in the room which saved us a ton of money and time. Our room opened up to the pool and was a 30 sec walk from the beach. Everything was perfect. Francis at the front desk took care of everything we needed. They offered rentals for all the fun beach toys that you could need. We did stand up paddleboarding which was pretty rad. I would hightly recommend this property to anyone and if I go back for vacation I know where I will be staying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We picked Maui out of all the islands since it's a smaller size and we only had 7-days vacation and wanted to see all of one island instead of island hopping. As Hawaii can be very expensive, we selected Aston Kaanapali shores in a flight/car/hotel package on TripCentral and found it reasonable. We liked that the suites all had a kitchenette, secure parking and was beachfront. The local was off the highway and fairly central to the areas we wanted to see.

We had many recommendations to go with a B&B or guests houses, however since it was our honeymoon, we wanted our privacy as well as the amenities close if we felt like making use of them. The hotel has a decent gift shop, an introductory breakfast welcome session (like all inclusive so for activities etc.) and free movie rentals. Each suite is decorated by the owner as they are time-shared/owned suites. Our particular suite was tastefully set up and very comfortable with an ocean view.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

2nd stay here, and it was just as good as when we stayed a year ago. Two places in walking distance to grab the little necessities - Times shopping mart across the street, and ABC just down the street 75 yards or so. Easy drive to Lahaina. Drove 5 minutes south to Kehekili? state park, nice little beach. We had booked a standard room through Orbitz, inquired about an upgrade, got upgraded to a 1 bedroom condo, no charge. Both times we have stayed here, we got an upgrade, incredibly good luck, or maybe they really try to put you in the nicest room available. The room has a full kitchen, microwave, coffee maker, full fridge, washer dryer, nice little living room, balcony, really just a perfect room, and so much better than a plain hotel room. The convenience of having a few places to walk to and get something to eat and shop make this our go to place. We went to a few of the other "higher end" resorts for dinner, and yes, they are amazing, but for the convenience, I will stay here. So, as far as I am concerned, this place is 2 for 2 in my book, and that will keep us coming back. Only negative - if you like super soft mattresses - this is not the place. Firm mattresses.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, it never hurts to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

My new husband and I are staying at the shores after I did tons of research on places to stay in maui that were affordable and nice.

The staff is amazing. I read those bad reviews. We met the guys replacing some of the carpet today. They are the sweetest guys - they've been away from their families for weeks - just to work hard to fix any issues. We aren't hard to please but didn't see any issues with anything in the room anyways so I've no idea what the other reviews were specifically talking about.

Our first night they brought us champagne. The room is fully stocked with cups, plates, etc. There's detergent for the washer and dishwasher. The room is nicer than our apartment at home. Plasma TVs on the walls and things work great.

The restaurant has great food. The bartender was so helpful and honest on things to do in maui and things about the resort. The drinks are great and the atmosphere is awesome. The prices are super reasonable.

I got my hair cut at the salon. It was fun and locals come to the lovely ladies there to get their hair done. The people that work here are so nice and talented that the locals come here. The prices are amazing for everything.

We didn't hang out here all day everyday but could have. It's definitely not the Hyatt resort or the four seasons (we visited those). But it was perfect for us. We had a sweet ocean view, parking was a breeze, and the staff was lovely and accommodating. I'm really not sure why anyone would travel to Hawaii to be in a water park $5 for a coke $500+ night anyways unless you've got the money and therefore wouldn't write a bad review bc you're staying there. If you do want that, and you're expecting that, stay at one of those places.

Our flight tomorrow isn't until midnight and they even have a room available until 6pm if we need to shower. That's unheard of unless I've been to the wrong affordable beautiful resorts.

Bottom line. If you're looking to be pampered, stay at a different place and get overcharged for the same gorgeous beach and sunrise/set. If you're ok with being laid back in Hawaii, this is the place for you. Ps they'll pamper you here if you need it anyways.

Thank you!!! Great stay we loved it!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claremont, california
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We spent a week in November at this resort and were very pleased. We had a one bedroom condo that had all the amenities one would need. We had a north facing balcony, which never got any sun. The south facing units would have been preferable, and had a better view. If you get a north facing unit try to get as high as possible, as there is a four story building in front that blocks any view. We found the condo exceptionally clean. Mid week the housekeeper cleaned and replaced the towels. There was a washer and dryer in the unit, which was very convenient. In the one bedroom condo the bedroom is in the back, with only a small window at the top of the wall, thus not allowing much air circulation. But each unit had individual climate controls, we sleeping was quiet and comfortable.
Across the street is a small strip mall with a grocery store and a few very nice little restaurants. The restaurant at the resort was excellent, as well. We had no complaints, and plan to return again.

Room Tip: Better view and sun in the south facing units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Wow what a beautiful place to start our 25th anniversary and my Birthday celebrations. The gardens are spectacular and well kept. The room was HUGE and we had a seperate kitchen (Large conventional oven and extra large microwawe) and seperate bedroom, large balcony and awesome views to Molokai and Lanai.
There is a supermarket opposite the hotel to buy food to prepare yourself as well as some coffee shops.
The hotel has a market in the lobby that produce local products for sale, also we were very lucky to watch their weekly polynesian show beside the pool, it was very entertaining!
The staff are very friendly and helpful, with special thanks to Kim Starkweather who made our arrangements for our unforgettable helicopter ride!!!
We ate at the Beach Club restaurant twice which is located beside the one of two pools midway down to beach. The food was of excellent quality and came with generous servings.
Due to the distance from the airport, the cost of transport is quite considerable, please use pre-purchased transfers (45 minute ride) as it is approx $65 one way per person.
Mahalo to the wonderful staff who treated us with kindness and made our stay a very memorable one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, activity desk and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property also boasts a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kaanapali Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.