We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawaii Honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kaanapali Shores

Save Saved
You added Aston Kaanapali Shores to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston Kaanapali Shores
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF FALL TRAVEL
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Hawaii Honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We picked Maui out of all the islands since it's a smaller size and we only had 7-days vacation and wanted to see all of one island instead of island hopping. As Hawaii can be very expensive, we selected Aston Kaanapali shores in a flight/car/hotel package on TripCentral and found it reasonable. We liked that the suites all had a kitchenette, secure parking and was beachfront. The local was off the highway and fairly central to the areas we wanted to see.

We had many recommendations to go with a B&B or guests houses, however since it was our honeymoon, we wanted our privacy as well as the amenities close if we felt like making use of them. The hotel has a decent gift shop, an introductory breakfast welcome session (like all inclusive so for activities etc.) and free movie rentals. Each suite is decorated by the owner as they are time-shared/owned suites. Our particular suite was tastefully set up and very comfortable with an ocean view.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    640
    184
    96
    31
See reviews for
746
571
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

2nd stay here, and it was just as good as when we stayed a year ago. Two places in walking distance to grab the little necessities - Times shopping mart across the street, and ABC just down the street 75 yards or so. Easy drive to Lahaina. Drove 5 minutes south to Kehekili? state park, nice little beach. We had booked a standard room through Orbitz, inquired about an upgrade, got upgraded to a 1 bedroom condo, no charge. Both times we have stayed here, we got an upgrade, incredibly good luck, or maybe they really try to put you in the nicest room available. The room has a full kitchen, microwave, coffee maker, full fridge, washer dryer, nice little living room, balcony, really just a perfect room, and so much better than a plain hotel room. The convenience of having a few places to walk to and get something to eat and shop make this our go to place. We went to a few of the other "higher end" resorts for dinner, and yes, they are amazing, but for the convenience, I will stay here. So, as far as I am concerned, this place is 2 for 2 in my book, and that will keep us coming back. Only negative - if you like super soft mattresses - this is not the place. Firm mattresses.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, it never hurts to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

My new husband and I are staying at the shores after I did tons of research on places to stay in maui that were affordable and nice.

The staff is amazing. I read those bad reviews. We met the guys replacing some of the carpet today. They are the sweetest guys - they've been away from their families for weeks - just to work hard to fix any issues. We aren't hard to please but didn't see any issues with anything in the room anyways so I've no idea what the other reviews were specifically talking about.

Our first night they brought us champagne. The room is fully stocked with cups, plates, etc. There's detergent for the washer and dishwasher. The room is nicer than our apartment at home. Plasma TVs on the walls and things work great.

The restaurant has great food. The bartender was so helpful and honest on things to do in maui and things about the resort. The drinks are great and the atmosphere is awesome. The prices are super reasonable.

I got my hair cut at the salon. It was fun and locals come to the lovely ladies there to get their hair done. The people that work here are so nice and talented that the locals come here. The prices are amazing for everything.

We didn't hang out here all day everyday but could have. It's definitely not the Hyatt resort or the four seasons (we visited those). But it was perfect for us. We had a sweet ocean view, parking was a breeze, and the staff was lovely and accommodating. I'm really not sure why anyone would travel to Hawaii to be in a water park $5 for a coke $500+ night anyways unless you've got the money and therefore wouldn't write a bad review bc you're staying there. If you do want that, and you're expecting that, stay at one of those places.

Our flight tomorrow isn't until midnight and they even have a room available until 6pm if we need to shower. That's unheard of unless I've been to the wrong affordable beautiful resorts.

Bottom line. If you're looking to be pampered, stay at a different place and get overcharged for the same gorgeous beach and sunrise/set. If you're ok with being laid back in Hawaii, this is the place for you. Ps they'll pamper you here if you need it anyways.

Thank you!!! Great stay we loved it!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claremont, california
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We spent a week in November at this resort and were very pleased. We had a one bedroom condo that had all the amenities one would need. We had a north facing balcony, which never got any sun. The south facing units would have been preferable, and had a better view. If you get a north facing unit try to get as high as possible, as there is a four story building in front that blocks any view. We found the condo exceptionally clean. Mid week the housekeeper cleaned and replaced the towels. There was a washer and dryer in the unit, which was very convenient. In the one bedroom condo the bedroom is in the back, with only a small window at the top of the wall, thus not allowing much air circulation. But each unit had individual climate controls, we sleeping was quiet and comfortable.
Across the street is a small strip mall with a grocery store and a few very nice little restaurants. The restaurant at the resort was excellent, as well. We had no complaints, and plan to return again.

Room Tip: Better view and sun in the south facing units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Wow what a beautiful place to start our 25th anniversary and my Birthday celebrations. The gardens are spectacular and well kept. The room was HUGE and we had a seperate kitchen (Large conventional oven and extra large microwawe) and seperate bedroom, large balcony and awesome views to Molokai and Lanai.
There is a supermarket opposite the hotel to buy food to prepare yourself as well as some coffee shops.
The hotel has a market in the lobby that produce local products for sale, also we were very lucky to watch their weekly polynesian show beside the pool, it was very entertaining!
The staff are very friendly and helpful, with special thanks to Kim Starkweather who made our arrangements for our unforgettable helicopter ride!!!
We ate at the Beach Club restaurant twice which is located beside the one of two pools midway down to beach. The food was of excellent quality and came with generous servings.
Due to the distance from the airport, the cost of transport is quite considerable, please use pre-purchased transfers (45 minute ride) as it is approx $65 one way per person.
Mahalo to the wonderful staff who treated us with kindness and made our stay a very memorable one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had an absolutely fantastic time at Aston Kaanapali Shores for our honeymoon. The beach was beautiful. We had the ocean view studio and it was perfect for two people. The room was pretty big and you cant beat the ocean view from the balcony off the room. The kitchen is must! It was nice to wake up and make coffee and breakfast before starting the day. The staff is really friendly too and prompt when asked for any reqeusts. I cant beileve how much you get at this hotel for how moderately proced it is. There are only two pools but this would be nice if you have kids because one of the pools has a fence around it. I highly recommend this place to anyone, and we will defintely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Kaanapali Shores during Thanksgiving week but made reservations for a one bedroom garden view suite back in April. I found out they have two floor plans "C" and "D". I liked the "C" layout better because the bedroom faces the same direction as the living room, which was away from the hallway. When I checked in, I found out they were going to put me in a "D" type room so I asked if I could have a "C" instead. They checked to see what was available, even going to the trouble of going to the room to make sure it was ready. The "C" that was available was an ocean view so not only did I get the floor plan I wanted, they gave me an upgrade.

The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. In fact all the staff members we dealt with were very nice and quick. When we asked for extra dish towels and bath towels, housekeeping delivered them within minutes. The suite was great; it was nice having a kitchen and washer/drier. The Beds were very comfortable but the pillows were too soft, we had to use two pillows each.

We ate dinner at the restaurant twice and found the food and service to be very good.

The beach is nice and sandy but not very good for swimming or snorkeling. We went to Blackrock and Honolua Bay instead. You can check reviews for both these sites on TripAdvisor. Getting parking at good snorkeling sites can be challenging so it would have been nice to be able to snorkel at the resort's beach. I also wish the Kaanapali boardwalk reached the resort. We had to walk in the sand about half a mile south to reach the boardwalk, which then runs from the southernmost part of The Hyatt to Blackrock, about one mile. If it had been available from Kaanapali Shores, we would have used it more than once.

The resort is totally non-smoking but we frequently encountered people smoking in the parking lot and once on the beach. On one night we had to close the windows and slider due to the smoke coming from the parking lot and we were on the fourth floor.

The resort pictures on their website are true to the resort. The lobby, room, and ground pictures on the website accurately reflect the resort.

I would definitely recommend the Kaanaplai Shores to friends and family.

Room Tip: We were in room 410 which had a decent view of the ocean and the inland part of Maui. We really lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, activity desk and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property also boasts a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kaanapali Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.