We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kaanapali Shores

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Kaanapali Shores to your Saves list
Aston Kaanapali Shores
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off-Limited Time Only
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
california
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised because our experience with Aston facilities is that they are pretty mediocre. This condo resort is really nice even though we got off to a bad start. We booked a 2 bedroom Garden Room and the first night they put us in a room next to the electrical room whose transformers buzzed 24/7 and drove you mad. We asked for another room and they put us in a really nice Garden Room the next day. (see picture) The rooms are well appointed although it would have been nice to open the bathroom windows to get the nice Trade Winds cross breeze through the condo. It probably would have saved on the AC. The courtyard is one of the nicest of the resorts along the Kaanapali beach. The gardens and waterfalls are beautiful. The pools are nice, but very busy with families. The beach is very narrow, so you might end up on the lawns to sunbath. There are plenty of quiet places to sunbathe if you do not want to deal with crowds around the pool. The Aston staff is very friendly and accommodating. They have a nice open air restaurant with good food. There are very few restaurants right along Kaanapali beach. Most of the hotels are condo resorts which do not have restaurants. We found Dukes and Hulas to be the best. (we like to have dinner out) The resort is in a good location because you can walk to the farmers market as well as a general supermarket and some low budget restaurants across from the hotel. The only disappointing thing about this resort is that the boardwalk does not reach up to this resort. So you have to walk the narrow beach (do it low tide) to get to it. Also there was no music in the evening in the restaurant, which would have been nice. But we found that with most of the restaurants, including Dukes. Hulas does have music since it is in the Whalers Mall.

Room Tip: The north facing rooms get the least sun so they stay cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sasaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lander, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kaanapali Shores. The ground floor opens up into beautiful gardens, an awesome pool area, and the turquoise ocean. We had panoramic views of the ocean from the kitchen, living room, and bedrooms. With sliding glass doors going onto lanai's from both the living room and master bedroom the tropical breeze and sound of the ocean waves were a constant. My wife and I enjoyed walking the easily accessible path that parallels the ocean in front of the property. There is a luxurious feel to the accommodations, grounds, and restaurant. We would highly recommend the Aston Kaanapali Shores!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livelife J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was my favorite hotel! I was spoiled with this location because later in my vacation we stayed at the Aston Hotel in Honolulu and it was awful! I lived this one! The people were nice and the pools were GREAT! I got my ears peirced in the salon and the people were great there as well. The restraunt on site was amazing and the grocery store across the street was very convient it was no Wegmans but it was better than Wal-Mart! The grocery store was even more convient because in the rooms there is a full kitchen so you can save money by cooking in! I love this hotel/resort and would reccomend it to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Headzups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

When we arrived we found out that we got upgraded to a one bedroom suite. It was very nice with a full kitchen and laundry. We switched rooms because we were right next to the elevator and heard it all night long. The staff was very accomodating and switched us the next day. There is a cool restaurant right across the street called Java Jazz and the grocery store is also right across the street. If you want to save a little more money stop by Wal-Mart near the airport. The only downfall was the Internet access is very poor. If I came back to Ka'anapali I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamiedan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We just returned from here on a 7 night stay November 1-8....it was one of our best trips that we have taken! Everyone is so friendly and helpful, the rooms are very nice and clean! We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom with complete kitchen and washer & dryer overlooking the gardens!! Ate at the restaurant on property several times, priced well and food was great! The only complaint we had is the activity fee of $10 a day....to watch DVD movies~~ any mostly they were never instock the ones we wanted to watch. But who travels all this way to watch movies and stay in your room. Maui is awesome and I will return in the future!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glennjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We arrived on October 13. Had a wonderful stay until October 23. We could not have asked for a better place to stay. Java jazz across the street. Grocery store across the street. Good parking. Attentive service in every way. Security on premises. Shops on site. Vangie at the desk was a life saver and helped us from day one. K' something at the pool concierge was great too.

We were pleased with service and room. We can't wait to get back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JLDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The resort is family oriented and in a great location. However, the beach in front of resort is not too good for swimming, but its only a short car ride or walk to kaanapali beach where black rock is. This stretch of beach is much more suitable for swimming and lounging. The resort is also a close drive to napili beach, which is great for snorkeling.

If you're willing to drive a bit farther I recommend going to makena, and finding "big beach". It absolutely breathtaking, a huge stretch of beach that is not overrun with tourists. It's amazing for surfing or boogie boarding, and feels like you're worlds away from civilization. It's just past kihei and about an hour drive from the resort but definitely worth it.

Overall. This resort is nothing special, but good price and nice rooms as well as a convenient location to all of Maui. Would stay here again or recommend it to those traveling with children.
A pretty average clean resort and good value for price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennaberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.1 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#27 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#20 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Enjoy the beauty of expanse ocean views and direct access to the beach. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, onsite cultural programs, an activities desk for off-site arrangements, and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property boasts 2 swimming pools, a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. All of these great amenities and services combined with an exceptional guest service staff make for an unforgettable vacation and the experience of true Aloha Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing