We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maui” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kaanapali Shores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Kaanapali Shores to your Saves list
Aston Kaanapali Shores
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Goodyear, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Maui”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

It's dated but clean, well maintained grounds, we only ate breakfest at the restraunt once & it was good. the pool is nothing special. sits right on the beach. We did have a problem with the A/C in our 1st room, the maint. man said nothing was wrong with it, but they did move us to another room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    700
    198
    99
    35
See reviews for
812
627
38
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
384 reviews 384 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Maui was our last stop in Hawaii. Having mostly stayed at hotels during our trip, I didn't know what to expect from a condo. As we were on a budget and the area we decided to cut back on was the hotels we opted for the cheapest room at this hotel. The staff upgraded us to a bigger room off their own back. As I only had a debit card I had to pay $10 per night for parking and $9 amenity fees upfront. We questionned what the 'amenity' fee was for. The staff said it was for internet, discount for the fitness center and the local paper. we said that we do not need these services and we were promptly told that this was mandatory. This seems to be the norm for some of the hotels in Hawaii, this is frustrating as why does the hotel just not include these fees on the room rate so there is no shock when you get there! As we walked towards our room, I had this sickening feeling because it felt like we were in an estate! but after opening the door to the room, that sickening feeling soon went. Yes I noticed damp on the carpet (you couldn't smell it inside the room!). The room was clean and massive. Obviously due to our budget our view was of the hotel car park! I found the hotel comfortable, it is right on the beach and the beach is stunning. The hotel staff are great. You need a car to get to Lahaina, however this wasn't an issue for us, as we found Lahaina extremely touristy. I couldn't get internet access in my room, and my partner informed them of this at check out. The staff refunded my amenity fees, with no questions asked! I did ask for a late check out, as we had an evening flight, however the hotel were busy, so as a great compromise, they offered us a complimentary room for an hour to freshen up. I thought this was such a lovely touch. I would defintely recommend this hotel to those on a budget, especially as it has all the facilities should you wish to cook your own meals.

Room Tip: If you have the cash, get an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here from 10/06/12 to 10/12/12 for our 30th anniversary. They put us in a room on the 7th floor that overlooked the gardens and had a beautiful view of the Pacific. No room service, but the only restaurant on the site served great food with the same kind of prices you'd find at other hotels. We only ate there for breakfast and lunch, but it was very good. The bedroom was overlooking the parking lot, which at times was noisy. Only qualm about bedroom is that you couldn't see anything; they only had two small table lamps. Had to move floor lamp from living room to bedroom and then you could see. Had to have drain in bathtub unclogged, clothes line hook replaced and lights in bathroom replaced over vanity. Kitchen was immaculate with a lot of utensils and plates and a 4 burner stove. We did not use the kitchen for cooking though it would have been fine. Large stain on living room rug and stains on couch. This particular unit was a time share and even though the hotel maintenance did what they could, they couldn't give us another floor lamp for the living room.

Don't know why we had to be out of the pools by 10:00 p.m., but there was a security guard there to remind you if you forgot. Pool by the ocean was deep and there was free scuba classes if you wanted to take advantage of that. No shade during certain parts of the day at either pool and no umbrellas, but they did have private cabanas for $40 a day if you wanted shade and a bed to lounge on. We did not take advantage of that. We also booked the gazebo and garden area for 2 hours through the on-site wedding coordinator, Maddie Gallafent. Thought the area would be roped off for us, but it wasn't, and people were milling about the area, putting their stuff on our chairs at the table to take pics. I would have thought that reserving the space at a cost of over $400 would have assured us of some privacy, but it didn't. Even the Reverend who performed our ceremony noticed and said something to the effect that at other places the area was roped off and reserved so people weren't in your pics.

The "resort fee" of $10 was a joke, as we usually get this stuff for free at other resorts. Safe was in closet on floor and used a key, not a combination. $9 a day parking fee we didn't have at other resorts either. The Times supermarket and a strip mall was across the street, which we used. Store open until 2:00 a.m., and there was a dry cleaners that we used and saved some money by taking our stuff ourselves instead of through the resort.

Small beach had rocks and coral so you had to be careful while swimming and water shoes were a must. Sand was brownish looking and not at all like on the East Coast of the U.S., but the sunsets more than made up for this.

On-site concierge was very helpful as was the next day breakfast orientation, which was free. Have stayed in other resorts and this one was nice, but probably would stay in Kihei the next time to be closer to places we didn't get to see this trip. This resort is also 45 minutes from the airport but close to Lahaina, which has a lot of things to do, which we did. Must see the Old Lahaina Luau, very authentic and great performers.

Room Tip: You can park across the street to avoid the $9 a day parking fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a one bedroom apt that was small but adequate. Supposedly it was an ocean view but really it was a garden view. The grounds were beautiful and the pools were fine. The best part was its location on a wonderful sandy beach. The property is halfway between Lahaina and Kapalua. I really enjoyed the open air restaurant, which was near the water. It was excellent for breakfast,lunch or dinner and reasonably priced at least by Maui standards. The rooms are individually owned and may vary in terms of furnishings. Ours needed a better equipped kitchen. Internet service was available but spotty. All in all, I would recommend it but don't expect the quality of high end resorts.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

If you don't want your vacation ruin, please book your package through Expedia, not Neat Group.
They misrepresent your package deal by booking the wrong package. When you call, a person from India probably, can't understand them and have to repeat several times. Very confusing and misleading. They won't help when they make the mistake. On the other hand. The Aston staff will work with you when you arrive. They can only go by the package they receive, which was the wrong one. They did give me the onebedroom condo that I paid through Neat Group, but had to upgrade $60 per night. Neat Group only booked a hotel room. Again, use Expedia or other good web sites.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here. Had a ground level "garden view" which ended up having half an ocean view and was about 70 yards from the beach. We would leave the lanai doors open 24/7 and just walk to and from the beach from sun up until bedtime. Service was good and friendly, grounds are clean and well kept. The beach is sand but the reef is immediately accessible once in the water - perfect for snorkeling. We explored the reefs everyday and found some amazing fish and even had a swim with a sea turtle one morning! Can't go wrong with The Shores, highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were booked into the Kaanapali Beach Resort nixt door but through a mistake on their part we ended up in the Kaanapali Shores. The first room was not great because the air conditioner was not cool enough for us. When asked to fix it the maintenance tech. remarked the we must be from Alaska because the room was plenty cool. Not his decision!!! After the first night we were moved to another room where the AC and everything else met our needs. The view was excellent and the room was very clean. Other than the one maintennce tech's remark, the staff were very friendly and the place was a pleasure to be on except there didn't seem to be a "kids" pool so it's not great for adults if you plan to spend time in and around the pool. It can go from very quiet to the volume of a car crash in seconds.

Room Tip: Anywhere in the 150's will give you a great view of the pool and the beach/ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We're very pleased to learn that these guests thoroughly enjoyed their visit. I am responding only to apologize for the comment of our maintenance person, who thought he was being humurous, but should not have made such a comment. We do apologize for that and will counsel him on this to avoid a similar, future occurrence. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, activity desk and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property also boasts a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kaanapali Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.