We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free upgrade” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kaanapali Shores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Kaanapali Shores to your Saves list
Aston Kaanapali Shores
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Take 15% Off Your Stay
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Free upgrade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

They upgraded us to a 2 bedroom unit on arrival and it was a beautiful huge room which has everything you need including washing machine and dryer, dIshwasher, huge oven and fridge with ice/water dispenser. Very clean and its right on the beach with amazing view. Our room however had a giant palm tree blocking the view on the balcony. The pools were great and a nice restaurant. Beautiful gardens and the gym was well equipped and not too busy. We loved it here and would stay again. Wifi did not work in our room and they sent a technician out who left us a note saying there was no problem but it still didn't work. Had to go to foyer to use wifi there. Others who stayed had same issue in their rooms. Huge supermarket across the street. Town centre about 10 minutes drive away with loads of art galleries and nice restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    665
    189
    97
    31
See reviews for
766
604
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My Wife and I were very pleased by everything at this Hotel. First of all, it is beautiful and calming. The 2 bedroom suite was HUGE and very clean. We were there for a week and enjoyed the view on the Balcony with wine and cheese and caught more than one beautiful sunset. We even made a couple nice dinners and cooked our early morning breakfasts before our daily adventures. The pools were awesome... there are 2 - One by the grassy area which is more "Adult" without many children and then there is the Big Pool... closer to the water and the beach is right there so you can swim in the ocean, then lay out by the pool and even enjoy the jacuzzi. The Cabana we had was nice poolside and a bit of shade from time to time was a good thing. The staff was exceedingly helpful and professional. This is truly a 5. Stay here and enjoy yourselves as much as we did!

Room Tip: Get a 2 bedroom with a view. Top 2 Floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Maui is the garden isle, when you look across the West Maui Mountains you'll see why. When staying at the Kaanapali Shores try to get an ocean view if possible, especially from December to April when the whales are around. There's nothing like pulling back the shades in the a.m. to watch whales traveling up and down the coast some so close you can almost touch them. It's a nice place to stay, you can save alot of $$$ by cooking your own meals and doing laundry, but the rest of the time you should venture out or lounge around of of their two pools near the ocean. It's close enough to everything but far enough away from any congestion.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here with my family in August 2012. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant on several occasions, breakfast, lunch and appetizers in the bar. The view is great and the food was very good. We were upgraded to a unit that was very close to the ocean. The 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo was perfect for my family. Washer and drier in the unit is a nice touch.
The ocean right in front of the hotel is very rocky and hard to enjoy but just a few feet to the south the rocks dissipate and the ocean floor is sandy and smooth. We thought the property was attractive and well maintained and accurately represented in their promotional materials. They had everything we needed, from the restaurant/bar, to the shops, one of which sold anything we needed in the way of food or drinks for the room, to the coffee bar in the lobby. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and the only noise we heard was the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Spent 10 days in September - wonderful weather, awesome resort with beautiful grounds, two nice pools, two hot tubs and a restaurant with an ocean view. Wonderful one bedroom condo fully appointed with a nice ocean view. Everything you could possibly need is in the condo or a phone call away. The staff will bring you whatever you may require and do it with Aloha spirit. The prior reviewer complained that everything is 45 minutes away - nonsense other than the airport being 45 mins from any resort, Lahaina Town is a five minute drive, there is ziplining 5 minutes away, snorkel and kayaking trips less than 10 mins away at DT Fleming park start point, cruises and fishing trips are also less than ten minutes away. Lahaina also has the Magic Show, shopping and Luaus - the reviewer is obviously too busy complaining to do any proper research and his comments should be ignored. The entire hotel was spotless and fresh. The two major resort areas are Wailea and Kaanapali both are about 45 mins from the Airport, Costco and Walmart....perhaps those are his ideal travel sites? Everything else, including fine dining is a very short drive....I had to laugh at the ridiculousness of his review.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Cutting straight to the chase, DO NOT STAY HERE. Old dilapidated service, amenities and rooms. Everywhere you may want to go is a 45+ min drive unless you are looking to go across the street to the strip mall (sarcasm). Rooms smell like stale BO from the 1970's, hotel staff are unaccommodating and rude.

Hotel is so bad that even though they offer no refund I decided to go to a different hotel.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Just by the law of averages, we understand that no resort will be able to meet every guest's expectations, but this posting is so far out of character for our resort that we felt the need to comment. Our Aston managed units are well-maintained, contemporary (renovated often), rated by AAA annually and enjoyed by hundreds of thousands of guests, many of whom come back year after year. A resort does not build and maintain such a reputation by providing units like the one described in this posting. Some "individuals" offer units for rent at the resort. Some do a good job maintaining them, some do not (as in this case). And, if you're not staying with Aston, the resort staff will not be able to assist you with issues that arise within your unit. You'll have to call a separate rental agent or the owner of the unit directly for assistance. There is not a consistent quality standard using VRBO or other means of booking. Only Aston provides daily services to ensure and maintain a quality standard featuring clean, contemporary resort units and maintains an on-site staff to assist guests in making the very best of their vacation experience.

Bt the way, the resort is literally 5 minutes (not 45 minutes) from Whalers Village and Ka'anapali resort area. And, the staff here is known for the friendliness, attentiveness and willingness to go the "extra mile" to make guests happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Booked as a timeshare exchange. Our first time staying on the west side. Very close (5-10 minutes) to the West Maui airport (Kapalua). Agree with the positive comments of the two previous reviews. These units are owned and reserved by more than one entity and there are some mixed signals depending on who you book with. If you read all the paper you get before, and during check in, you may be confused about where to check in, what additonal fees there are, if you are supposed to have a dvd machine in your unit, and what is included without additional fees. None of it is a real problem. We got one mid week change of linen for our week's stay; which was fine. I would have appreciated access to a broom or sweeper as there was no other maid service during the week. The can opener was also worthless and I ended up using my Swiss Army knife. There was an extra fee if we used the fitness center ($10). I would stay here again. As usual bring your own light bulb if you want to read in the bedroom.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Kaanapali Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kaanapali Shores

Address: 3445 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Kaanapali Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront on Kaanapali Beach, this magnificent condominium resort combines spacious, well-appointed suites with hotel-caliber services. Amenities include complete kitchens, WiFi, activity desk and a year-round kids program, Camp Kaanapali. This self-contained property also boasts a beachfront restaurant and bar, fitness center and spa featuring an indoor/outdoor massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Kaanapali Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Maui
Aston Kaanapali Shores Condos
Maui Aston Kaanapali Shores Condominiums
Maui Resortquest Kaanapali Shores
Kaanapali Shores Hotel
Resortquest Kaanapali Shores Maui
Kaanapali Shores Resort
Aston Kaanapali Shores Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kaanapali Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.