We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying with a local” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Lani Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Aloha Lani Inn
Save Saved
You added Aloha Lani Inn to your Saves list
494 Wainee Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Studio City, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Staying with a local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

What a different yet charming experience I had on my recent trip to Maui more specially at Melinda's place in Lahaina. I had a very pleasant time there, almost two weeks, very well located and very well accommodated. Melinda will offer just about anything you need and she has a great knowledge of the Island and especially all of the good surfing spots. The room is not huge but you do get your own bathroom and the price is just right to make this a great alternative to staying at a pricy hotel. Please note: Melinda does have cats so if you are allergic then unfortunately this is not for you but asides that...Fun times were certainly had there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

On a positive note: the bedroom and bathroom were clean and shampoo, towels, and soap were provided. The AC in the bedroom functioned quietly. Upon our obvious initial disappointment, the housesitter talked to Melinda (in the mainland) and offered to find us another place with a full refund. Ater some difficulty finding suitable lodging, we decided to stay at Aloha Lani. Our contact with Melinda was very limited after she returned. As the "unusual stay" reveiwer noted, the bedroom is quite small - I crawled in and out of the bed. Giving Melinda the benefit of doubt, perhaps the housesitter and her roommate have lower standards for cleanliness. Only coffee was provided. A space in the refrigerator and shelves was provided for our provisions. Cats roamed in and out of the house through a hole in the screen door. I would not recommend this place

Room Tip: Only room is too small for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda_Mower, Owner at Aloha Lani Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Aloha Unusual Guest!

Just wanted to respond to this review since I was away on vacation most of the time of this guests stay; it is not accurate and by far the worst review ever. My property does not deserve this rating, please see all other reviews for reference. Evidently my house sitter definitely must have lower standard of cleanliness because Aloha Lani Inn is always clean and immaculate.

This Guest was simply shopping based on price, and was obviously not a traveler that's used to staying in guest homes or bed & breakfasts. We offer very reasonable rates for an average size room. If this guests wanted condo accommodations at a higher price we certainly could have provided that for them at other properties we work with.

Best Regard,
Melinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We loved our stay at Melinda's, she is a wonderful host. We planned our stay such that we stayed at the B&B for the 3 days we wanted to do Hana trip, trekking around the volcano and exploring Lahaina. We stayed for 3 days at Hyatt and these were our beach days so we took complete advantage of the resort facilities and the fact that Hyatt is right off beach.

Our stay at Melinda's B&B (Aloha Lani Inn) was very pleasant, Melinda is a very warm host, she provided us with directions and pointers in Maui. There are 3 adorable house cats and a rabbit (lives in his pan in the backyard). We enjoyed our morning coffee chatting with Melinda, planning our day as she fed the cats, the birds and the rabbit !

Plus
- Parking available
- Very close to the beach, walking distance to Lahaina downtown...some of the best eating places in Maui, great place to watch sunset, local art work...in short a very vibrant place
- Friendly host, she even shared mangoes from her backyard with us.
-Value for money
-Small additional amenities like a cooler and ice packs to carry sandwiches /drinks (when we went on the road to Hana) were quite useful.
-Towels for beach use
- Washer /dryer available in house for a small fee ($3)


Minus
-The room is a little small, bathroom is not attached but since the whole experience was good, we didn't mind it. It was similar to staying at a friend's place.
- Wireless internet was not working during our stay but she let us use her wired internet (with our laptop).

Overall a pleasant stay and would stay at her place again whenever we are in Maui again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Well located for anyone with a car as it is two blocks from the beach and three blocks from the Banyan Tree Square and has its own parking in a town where parking is difficult near the centre. Melinda has just the one room for rental in a suburban house. It is a small crowded room for two people but has an associated private bathroom and for those who like to do their own catering, there is shared use of the kitchen, dining and living room of the house and the tropical back garden. The room has air conditioning but not the rest of the house, which is however, breezy and well-ventilated. Melinda welcomes you to her house almost as family and is very helpful with information and bookings. There are four cats roaming freely – so those with allergies need to be careful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Melinda is a very friendly, helpful host...and her 3 cats are great! You can easily walk to the beach or into town from her home. Melinda made excellent suggestions for places to eat and a fantastic beach (airport beach) for snorkeling (with bathrooms and easy parking). The road noise can be loud at night, but all you have to do is turn on the air conditioner and sleep soundly. Melinda generously shared her kitchen and TV room. Peaceful garden with lots of birds. Can't imagine a better value in Lahaina.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Melinda is the reason the experience went so well....she is loving and welcoming....as are her family.....the cats, birds and plants....if you want a personal touch and to see how Mauians really live....stay at Aloha Lani Inn,

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my 7-night stay at Aloha Lani Inn. Melinda was a superb hostess, I felt like part of the family as soon as I arrived. She was always available if I had any questions or needed help, and offered a lot of tips on places to go, good eating spots and where to find Lahaina's best Mai Tai (sorry, won't divulge the location here)! I loved the private guest room and bathroom, but I equally appreciated the full use of Melinda's living room, kitchen and beautiful lanai. It was easy walking distance to the beach and harbor, the Banyan Tree, the Front Street strip, just about anywhere you wanted to go. It truly felt like home and when it was time to leave I felt I was leaving a dear and close friend. On my next trip to Maui my first choice for accommodations will be the Aloha Lani Inn.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloha Lani Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Lani Inn

Address: 494 Wainee Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offers one guest room in a beautiful home with a tropical garden setting. Located just 1 block from the beach and just a 3 block walk to the harbor and all the shops, restaurants, night life and art galleries. Guests share the home with their hostess and can make themselves at home utilizing the kitchen, living room and dining room. Enjoy sitting at the back lanai and enjoy the birds feeding and the lush tropical backyard. Within minutes you can enjoy a walk on the beach and a beautiful Maui sunset. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aloha Lani Inn Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloha Lani Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.