We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Lahaina House Has True Aloha” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Lahaina House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Old Lahaina House to your Saves list
Old Lahaina House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   407 Ilikahi St., PO Box 10355, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Oahu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Old Lahaina House Has True Aloha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Old Lahaina House three times in the past two years. Every time we have had a clean, cozy room and a warm welcome. We've always found everything comfortable with no complaints. The location is ideal if you want to be in town, especially without a car- two minute walk to some of the best beach in Lahaina and five minutes to the center of town. The pool area is a lovely, shady place to get a break from Lahaina sun and meet fellow travelers. Sherry is a great hostess, happy to share all her local info, and you can tell she genuinely wants you to have a great time. I think the value is excellent- a similar room on Cape Cod is around $250.

This is a little piece of old Hawaii. No, it's not exactly a hotel or a B&B; it's like staying at a New England or European style guesthouse, and it's a great alternative to the strip hotels and condos of Kihei or Kannapali. If you're looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay in Lahaina with charm and a real Hawaiian experience, don't hesitate to book here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    36
    7
    6
    11
See reviews for
12
46
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

Not sure who gave this place 'excellent' or 'very good'. 'Average' would be generous. It isn't a bed and breakfast and certainly isn't a hotel. If you are used to staying in hostels, then I guess it would be okay. But the pricing is insane. We paid $130 for one night - exactly the same as we got the 4 star Hyatt down the road on Priceline. It has a nice little pool - but a dog was swimming in it when we arrived. Location is okay, a short walk to town. But really...you can do MUCH better than this place for the $$$

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed in an upstairs room for two nights. We were required to take the shoes off when entering the house. There was an ordinary interior door to the room and no glass in two windows so you could easily hear what is going on in the stairway and outside. The interior of the room looked a bit shabby. A small lizard was living in the bathroom.
I am not sure about the type of accommodation. It is not a hotel; it is not a B&B (they do not serve any food). The room is cleaned only once a week if you stay longer.
I met a cat in front of our room which might cause problems to allergic people (like me).
The location is quite good. The beach is very close - across two streets. It is about a 15 minutes’ walk to the centre of Lahaina. We had no problems with parking our car at the house.
It was good for an overnight stay - not for longer. You would not pay such money in any other location; but in Lahaina (and Hawaii generally) there is not much choice (especially if you book the accommodation few days before your stay as we did).
However, all the people we met in the house were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We recently spent four miserable nights at the Old Lahaina House. We had the "deluxe"
room, upstairs, adjacent to the chain smoking landlady's lanai, without any windows to shut
the cigarette smoke out, (we used pillows against the louwers to block out some of the smoke). In the middle of the night we heard the rats, eating our two small bags of Famous
Amos chocolate chip cookies!!! We were also charged one extra night, at the rate of $180.34
that took us, with the help of our bank's security divisions help, almost a month to get re-credited to our account.
So our advise, find someplace else to stay. Aloha!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay this past Christmas.Good value, good location and wonderful host. Pool/garden has very nice feel.

Stana, Toronto

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

It was not my first time at the Old Lahaina House. I love this place! It is affordable, at a walking distance from downtown. And Sherry, who became a friend, is so sweet! This place is my home away from home on Maui.

Room Tip: My favorite room is the "mountain view" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavriago, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We spent four nights in this nice B&B. The house is located in a quiet place, just south of Lahaina (10mins by walk) and very close to the beach. Sherry is a very nice and helpful host. The rooms are essentials but comfortable with coffee machine and small refrigerator.
This definitely is a great value accommodation and we really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Lahaina House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Lahaina House

Address: 407 Ilikahi St., PO Box 10355, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Lahaina House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Old Lahaina House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Lahaina House Hotel Lahaina
Old Lahaina House Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Lahaina House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.